Reckless Cyclist

Brock

7 minutes ago, Leo72 said:

Finally someone is looking at bicycles without handbrake, it''s long overdue.

i thought it banned long ago,

no wonder so many amdk rush red light, or buang ppl backside.

原來 they cannot brake...

1 hour ago, Hamburger said:

advisory simi board dont even know how a fixie works. Faint!!!!

https://www.lta.gov.sg/content/dam/ltagov/getting_around/active_mobility/rules_public_education/rules_code_of_conduct/pdf/AMAP Report 2020_Final(29 Dec).pdf

3.4 Fixed-gear bicycles are bicycles that do not allow cyclists to coast using momentum, when the pedals are stationary. The pedals are directly coupled with the wheel, which allows cyclists to slow or stop the bicycle by resisting the motion of the pedals with their legs. Hence, some cyclists choose to ride these bicycles without handbrakes. These bicycles are mainly used for recreational cycling or in the velodrome for track cycling1 . Inexperienced cyclists may find it challenging to stop fixed-gear bicycles effectively. In January 2020, there was an unfortunate fatal accident involving a cyclist on a fixed-gear bicycle without handbrakes. While cycling down the ramp in a multi-storey carpark, a cyclist fell over the railing to her death because she was unable to stop her fixed-gear bicycle.

3.5 BMX bicycles refer to off-road sport bicycles used for racing and stunt riding. Each sport has slightly different equipment requirements and regulations for competitions. For instance, bicycles used in BMX racing are only required to have a rear handbrake – a front handbrake is typically not installed as it may endanger the rider if the brake is engaged accidentally during racing.

3.6 To better understand the usage of such bicycles, the Panel engaged the Singapore Cycling Federation, representatives from the cycling community, technical experts and retailers. For fixed-gear bicycles, the Panel learnt that it is difficult, particularly for novice cyclists, to stop a fixed-gear bicycle effectively without handbrakes. Although these bicycles could have handbrakes installed, owners tended not to do so as it would be perceived as cooler, and had lower maintenance costs. For BMX bicycles, the Panel found that BMX sports were typically conducted in controlled environments such as skate/cycling parks, and were generally not used for commutes because of their single gear and small wheels. Brake regulations would affect BMX user groups differently and the future take-up of cycling sports.

3.7 The Panel also reviewed overseas regulations on brakes for pedal bicycles. Countries such as Australia, Sweden, Denmark, the UK and Japan require bicycles to have at least one functioning brake, to allow cyclists to stop effectively during emergencies. Fixed-gear bicycles

4. Panel’s Recommendations

A. BRAKES ON PEDAL BICYCLES

4.2 The Panel recommends introducing a new regulation that all bicycles must have brakes installed when used on public paths and roads. This sets a minimum requirement for bicycle brakes, when there is currently none, improving safety for both riders and path users, and enables even inexperienced cyclists to brake more effectively. This requirement should apply to all bicycles uniformly, for clarity and ease of enforcement. 4.3 This means that all fixed-gear bicycles, which partially triggered the review, must install at least one handbrake, when used on paths and roads. As for bicycles used for cycling sports, these can continue to be used without brakes, in controlled environments such as pump tracks and skate parks. However, as with all other bicycles, they will need to have at least one handbrake installed when used on paths and roads.

Kudos to this cyclist and definitely one of the rare ones cf what we seen these days. 

On 12/31/2020 at 10:11 AM, inlinesix said:

Pro Cyclists generate average 400w over 200km.

Sprinter generates 600w & up over 100m to the finished line.

Sexercising nao!!!! :grin:

On 12/31/2020 at 1:08 PM, Hamburger said:

advisory simi board dont even know how a fixie works. Faint!!!!

there’s a reason why people in the office tells you they just come and treat the office like a ATM gold mountain.. 

On 12/31/2020 at 10:11 AM, inlinesix said:

Pro Cyclists generate average 400w over 200km.

Sprinter generates 600w & up over 100m to the finished line.

Can you provide link to that 'fact'?

3 hours ago, RadX said:

Kudos to this cyclist and definitely one of the rare ones cf what we seen these days. 

Can't see it anymore. Is this the same video?

Knn bloody Spandex cyclist! Why stop and put down bike in the middle of the road? Why never signal to car behind? All cyclists should pay road tax, shouldn't be allowed on the road! 😁 

Well done, AMDK! You are turning right and could have ignored the fallen small tree, but you didn't for the sake of the vehicles behind you, kudos to that. Couldn't say the same for your brethren who smashed his face into a parked Vios last week...

1 hour ago, Lethalstrike said:

Can't see it anymore. Is this the same video?

Knn bloody Spandex cyclist! Why stop and put down bike in the middle of the road? Why never signal to car behind? All cyclists should pay road tax, shouldn't be allowed on the road! 😁 

Well done, AMDK! You are turning right and could have ignored the fallen small tree, but you didn't for the sake of the vehicles behind you, kudos to that. Couldn't say the same for your brethren who smashed his face into a parked Vios last week...

Nice one bro hahahah

On 12/31/2020 at 9:22 AM, Beregond said:

Let's  push to get rid of all these  dangerous  bike on our road. Causing danger to everyone

Why dun they ban those on the road without license plate first. 

34 minutes ago, Phluvcat said:

This would be most ideal, of course.😊

42 minutes ago, Phluvcat said:

Why dun ban all bicycle in Singapore?

A bicycle without a license plate is a bigger threat on pedestrian walking on a pedestrian pathway.

1 hour ago, inlinesix said:

Why dun ban all bicycle in Singapore?

A bicycle without a license plate is a bigger threat on pedestrian walking on a pedestrian pathway.

Yes, bicycles, skateboards, inline skates, unicycle, pogo sticks, etc all must have license plate numbers! 😬

7 hours ago, inlinesix said:

Nope still can't see the average 400w over 200km which I don't believe is close to correct.

Nearest I could find is 'Pushing out 450-500 watts for 20 minutes is not insignificant.' during a time trial.

I don't think Ganna managed that in any of his time trial wins during 2020.

9 minutes ago, Neutrino said:

Nope still can't see the average 400w over 200km which I don't believe is close to correct.

Nearest I could find is 'Pushing out 450-500 watts for 20 minutes is not insignificant.' during a time trial.

I don't think Ganna managed that in any of his time trial wins during 2020.

It’s up to you to find it.

Got civic minded AMDK leh....... 

But hard to say lah...

maybe still ride on expressway 😅😅😅😅

Edited by Atonchia