GTO-1 5th Gear September 29, 2019 Share September 29, 2019 I've become more and more fed up at cyclists recently. Especially the Saturday morning amateur cyclists. While I understand the importance of sharing the road and giving cyclists space, I'm finding these amateur cyclists are self-righteous and contradictory. They expect you to give them full right of way on the road, but when it comes to red lights and zebra crossings, they have absolutely no care for pedestrians. I was in East Coast Park with my toddler on his bike and wanted to cross on the zebra crossing inside the park. As we crossed got told off by cyclists, because we "got in their way", despite signs clearly stating that the cyclists must give way to pedestrians at the zebra crossing. All I can say is it goes both ways. ↡ Advertisement 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philipkee Twincharged September 29, 2019 Share September 29, 2019 2 hours ago, Ysc3 said: i very scared when i see bicycles approaching crossings like this ... the bikes are actually pretty fast and when approaching, you won't know if the fella is going to stop of make a run for it also. and yes, when the cyclist assume, they end up being seen and heard by the vehicle also. 😆 Yes. Some cyclists seem to take pride in cycling fast on the pavement as if to beat the traffic light and jamming brake and stopping just at the edge of the road. I always think what if they miscue even by a bit...... 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutrino Supercharged September 29, 2019 Share September 29, 2019 2 hours ago, Yeshe said: Driver view probably blocked by A pillar. He has checked clear prior when cyclist was still not in his sight, moving the car forward just to realise cyclist appear out of nowhere. I would feel the driver kena sabo by cyclist in this case. Can we stop making excuses using this A pillar rubbish. We all know the A pillar is there and we have to ensure it is not blocking our view. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic October 6, 2019 Share October 6, 2019 过马路遭脚车撞跌 中年汉命危洋骑士被捕 https://www.zaobao.com.sg/realtime/singapore/story20191006-994844 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic October 6, 2019 Share October 6, 2019 (edited) 14 minutes ago, Blueray said: 过马路遭脚车撞跌 中年汉命危洋骑士被捕 https://www.zaobao.com.sg/realtime/singapore/story20191006-994844 Cyclist will claim he recieved hate letter and is having depression. Wising the victim all the best and a miracle speedy recovery. Edited October 6, 2019 by Ct3833 4 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic October 6, 2019 Share October 6, 2019 17 minutes ago, Ct3833 said: Cyclist will claim he recieved hate letter and is having depression. Wising the victim all the best and a miracle speedy recovery. Ang moh leotard from good family/company, high potential maybe can even claim damages to his bike.... 3 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic October 6, 2019 Share October 6, 2019 2 hours ago, Blueray said: 过马路遭脚车撞跌 中年汉命危洋骑士被捕 https://www.zaobao.com.sg/realtime/singapore/story20191006-994844 If he so jialat, cyclist would be no better than him. A 2 wheeler hit anything hard, the rider confirmed fly like suparman 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic October 7, 2019 Share October 7, 2019 7 hours ago, Davidtch said: If he so jialat, cyclist would be no better than him. A 2 wheeler hit anything hard, the rider confirmed fly like suparman The impact could have caused the victim to hit the ground in an awkward manner, so resulting in more severe injuries. 2 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic October 7, 2019 Share October 7, 2019 I heard is sim avenue there donno is it jay walk or bicycle guy Cheong Ang hey 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic October 7, 2019 Share October 7, 2019 7 hours ago, Mustank said: I heard is sim avenue there donno is it jay walk or bicycle guy Cheong Ang hey We don't even know whether the cyclist was riding along Sims Way or Lorong 33 Geylang. Anyway, traffic along Sims Way very bz in the evening. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic October 7, 2019 Share October 7, 2019 9 minutes ago, Davidtch said: We don't even know whether the cyclist was riding along Sims Way or Lorong 33 Geylang. Anyway, traffic along Sims Way very bz in the evening. I suspect that fellow jaywalk and siao angmo ride very fast 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic October 7, 2019 Share October 7, 2019 1 minute ago, Mustank said: I suspect that fellow jaywalk and siao angmo ride very fast If siao AMDK ride more faster than 25km/h, confirm 1 of his limp will be broken from hitting a person. No report of that. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic October 8, 2019 Share October 8, 2019 https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/pedestrian-hit-bicycle-dies-head-chew-fook-yew-geylang-11979572?cid=fbcna&fbclid=IwAR0qCJkfDKUa-Fi1ntg1wMMeBdNdhwQ1wYWkjPfJ9_hKxr1EbQTxcO79y-A cyclist kill pedestrain, as if the threat from PMD not enough. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic October 8, 2019 Share October 8, 2019 Geylang area ... cowboy town. Heavy traffic, numerous bicycles by FT (Talent & Trash included), double parking vehicles .... cross at one's peril 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic October 8, 2019 Share October 8, 2019 (edited) 16 hours ago, Davidtch said: If siao AMDK ride more faster than 25km/h, confirm 1 of his limp will be broken from hitting a person. No report of that. After giving it a second thought when the emotion is more settled , I think it is too early to conclude who was wrong, it could be the victim himself was jay walking or the cyclist could be wrong in some ways. This is not likely to be the same case as a PMD speeding dowb on a foot path to knock down a innocent pedestrain. SGP being so crowded, all have to exercise caution when using the road, and be very considerate. In this case, a pedestrain is more vulnerable for a few reasons, 1. because he was walking, he might be less alert than a person who is cycling. 2. He may not be as agile as a cyclist is, especially a slightly older age person vs an active cyclist. 3. He had no protective gears with him, if one had fallen on his head, the outcome of the impact will be very challenging. On a contrary, if a cyclist is wearing a helmet and sports gear , his head is more protected and he is more agile in avoiding injuries with his sports gear like his shoes and gloves etc. What I have mentioned are all in comparative terms, it does not mean a cyclist is fool proof to injuries.l, just that a pedestrain would be more vulnerable. At anyone time, our family members or ourselves might be walking , riding or driving, so walk, ride and drive safely and be considerate. Accidents would still happen but it takes all of us to be careful , play our part and be responsible in our own respective roles . RIP Mr. Chew. Edited October 8, 2019 by Ct3833 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic October 8, 2019 Share October 8, 2019 On 10/6/2019 at 10:11 PM, Blueray said: 过马路遭脚车撞跌 中年汉命危洋骑士被捕 https://www.zaobao.com.sg/realtime/singapore/story20191006-994844 Pedestrian dies from injuries 5 days after getting hit by bicycle Read more at https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/pedestrian-hit-bicycle-dies-chew-fook-yew-geylang-11979572 3 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic October 10, 2019 Share October 10, 2019 (edited) Cyclist taken to hospital after accident involving bus at Sembawang. https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/road-accident-cyclist-smrt-bus-sembawang-11982142 Not implicating it was the cyclist's fault, just thinking driving in SGP is getting more and more stressful. Edited October 10, 2019 by Ct3833 3 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic October 10, 2019 Share October 10, 2019 36 minutes ago, Ct3833 said: Cyclist taken to hospital after accident involving bus at Sembawang. https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/road-accident-cyclist-smrt-bus-sembawang-11982142 Not implicating it was the cyclist's fault, just thinking driving in SGP is getting more and more stressful. A bus has many blind spots and cyclist thinks the bus has eyes and is able to see where he is. Takes two or more to create an accident. ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...