Reckless Cyclist

Brock

12 minutes ago, Fcw75 said:

I don’t mind having a decent conversation with people but when the person die die must win then no point la. Then bring in some irrelevant point. 

And when people proved him wrong, he just pretend never see. Just say My Bad or paiseh and people won’t mind. 

I don't mind you prove me wrong.  You had done it a couple of times.

On other hand, what you see in the photo is 1 big group of cyclist.

Is it the true picture?

11 minutes ago, Fcw75 said:

I don’t mind having a decent conversation with people but when the person die die must win then no point la. Then bring in some irrelevant point. 

And when people proved him wrong, he just pretend never see. Just say My Bad or paiseh and people won’t mind. 

Like mindset of black sheep cyclists. "Busy traffic behind me? Nevermind", "Cyclist abreast on single road with a queue of traffic behind? Nevermind", "Speeding out of a junction with oncoming traffic approaching? Nevermind", "Traffic red lights? Nevermind", "Public says I am wrong? Nevermind". 🤣🤣🤣

40 minutes ago, Atonchia said:

I urge all to refrain from being personal and name calling. 

Should not happen in this forum...

We can joke on behaviour, laugh at topics/discussions/event or even have sarcastic comments on posted photo and videos. 

But to criticise individuals here because the opinion and values are different also show how close mind one is. 

Please respect one another. 

How can we share our space when we cannot even share our thoughts? 

It's like I already have a mindset when in my car, ie: hate hoggers, hate trucks, light goods on 2nd lane, hate motorcyclist that split lane... and with such mindset.... the driving style and reaction may also be acted out... 

Ban all cyclists sua lah, end of discussion 😂

Spare the government the headache, stop the hate and differences of opinions online and on the roads, disband the active mobility panel. 

I think the outcome in reality will be,

Cyclist: Now I'm licensed, plated and insured, I've every right to use the road. 

Driver: Big fark about licensed, plated and insured? You are still not paying COE and Road Tax! 

Edited by Lethalstrike

2 minutes ago, Lethalstrike said:

Spare the government the headache, stop the hate and differences of opinions online and on the roads, disband the active mobility panel. 

Cyclist: Now I'm licensed, plated and insured, I've every right to use the road. 

Driver: Big fark about licensed, plated and insured? You are still not paying COE and Road Tax! 

I like your point.

13 minutes ago, Heartbreakid said:

Like mindset of black sheep cyclists. "Busy traffic behind me? Nevermind", "Cyclist abreast on single road with a queue of traffic behind? Nevermind", "Speeding out of a junction with oncoming traffic approaching? Nevermind", "Traffic red lights? Nevermind", "Public says I am wrong? Nevermind". 🤣🤣🤣

All proven true about black sheep cyclists 😁

Likewise, I'm also sibeh dulan with road hoggers on expressway Lane 1, drivers who insist on the right of way at junctions with discretionary right turns, drivers who chionged red lights and f**kers who drunk drove, raced illegally and did speed trials at Tanjong Pagar. Pay road tax, COE already still need to deal with these moronic motorists, and NOW cyclists! How dare these lycra clad nincompoops! 

28 minutes ago, Fcw75 said:

Rules for cycling 

Road safety is a shared responsibility. Keep a firm grip on these on-road cycling rules if you use a bicycle or power-assisted bicycle (PAB) on roads. 

Obey all traffic signals and travel in the same direction as the flow of traffic. 

Wear a helmet when cycling on roads.

Cycle in a single file on single-lane roads and during bus lane operational hours2.

Switch on front white and rear red light3 in the dark.

Do not use a mobile communication device while riding. 

Those under 16 years of age may not ride PABs on roads. 

Those under 16 years of age may not be carried as a passenger on PABs on roads. 

Do not cycle on expressways and in road tunnels. 

2Otherwise, cycling two abreast is allowed.
3Rear red reflectors can be used on bicycles and power-assisted bicycles (PABs). 

Guidelines for cycling

Cyclists and PAB riders are encouraged to adopt the following practices to safeguard themselves and share the roads safely with motorists.

Always ride as close as practicable to the left-hand edge of roads, and allow traffic to overtake you safely. Keep a straight course, do not weave through traffic and avoid sudden swerves. 

Always use bicycle lanes when available. 

Keep a safe distance behind moving vehicles. Do not hold on to the back or side of motor vehicles and maintain awareness of traffic when riding.

Do not squeeze between the kerb and a bus that has stopped at a bus stop, or a turning vehicle and a kerb.

Slow down and look out for other road users when approaching bends, junctions, bus stops and pedestrian crossings or when passing a parked car.

If the hill is too steep, get off and walk with the bicycle. Keep your cycling speed under control when riding on downhill roads.

Wear bright-coloured clothing to increase your visibility to other vehicles and pedestrians.

Plan ahead and pick the safest route, and keep out of heavy traffic as much as possible. 

Do not carry anything in your arms that may interfere with the proper control of your bicycle.

Check the height of your handlebars and seat on the bicycle to ensure that you have full control of the device.

Keep both hands on the handlebars. When signalling your intention to change course or make a turn, do so ahead of time and return your hand to the handlebars before you turn.

Very detailed and comprehensive! 

You wrote all these or copy paste? 😅

Impressed. 

6 minutes ago, Atonchia said:

Very detailed and comprehensive! 

You wrote all these or copy paste? 😅

Impressed. 

Copy and paste la...hahaha. I wish I am that good.

5 hours ago, AR159 said:

I wonder when the cyclist rides on the road whether they have the " duty of care towards other road user" or comply to road and traffic act like stopping at traffic light, let pedestrian cross the zebra crossing rather than squeeze their way thru in between pedestrians and many other example as capture and "discussed" in social media. just trying to think about their mindset once they set cycling on the road.....

They should, no reason why they shouldn't. There is Code of Conduct and advisory for cyclists, if I'm not mistaken. But that has proven to be futile and what all responsible road users, including responsible cyclists, are advocating for stricter regulations and penalties now. 

Mindset though, is a very difficult thing to change. It's going to take generations. I wonder if the primary schools still organise excursions to the Shell Road Safety Park at ECP to learn about road safety from young. In the meantime, within our society, the stick approach works better. That means fines and penalties on top of accountability. 

53 minutes ago, Atonchia said:

I urge all to refrain from being personal and name calling. 

Should not happen in this forum...

We can joke on behaviour, laugh at topics/discussions/event or even have sarcastic comments on posted photo and videos. 

But to criticise individuals here because the opinion and values are different also show how close mind one is. 

Please respect one another. 

How can we share our space when we cannot even share our thoughts? 

It's like I already have a mindset when in my car, ie: hate hoggers, hate trucks, light goods on 2nd lane, hate motorcyclist that split lane... and with such mindset.... the driving style and reaction may also be acted out... 

There are differences in opinions and views in almost all "conversational" threads in MCF but you don't see people calling each other names in those threads. There are even differences in views in the watch thread. Just a while ago we have different discussions in the retirement thread where people have strong views over their strategy/belief. However, you don't see participants throwing shiat or calling names at each other. We all read and move on, no issue whatsoever.

Look closely and you can see why it appears here and in some threads where people get triggered. It is not rocket science and we don't need to engage a human behavior guru to see where the issue was. 

Sure, we can turn the other cheek once, twice or a few times but when it happens it happens. It is all about mutual respect as your post described.

1 minute ago, Weez911 said:

There are differences in opinions and views in almost all "conversational" threads in MCF but you don't see people calling each other names in those threads. There are even differences in views in the watch thread. Just a while ago we have different discussions in the retirement thread where people have strong views over their strategy/belief. However, you don't see participants throwing shiat or calling names at each other. We all read and move on, no issue whatsoever.

Look closely and you can see why it appears here and in some threads where people get triggered. It is not rocket science and we don't need to engage a human behavior guru to see where the issue was. 

Sure, we can turn the other cheek once, twice or a few times but when it happens it happens. It is all about mutual respect as your post described.

19 minutes ago, Lethalstrike said:

Wow... I think if ban cyclist

The backlash will be larger than banning PMD and E-cigarettes combine... 

Probably larger then banning chewing gum...... Bcos in the past all LLST when policies were implemented for common good of public..... 

I think chewing gum should be re-introduced during all the period when MRT break downs were quite regular .... at least it could be a more valid reason....comparing to cable ties 🤣🤣 

One is commuters caused... the other was neglect. 

6 minutes ago, Weez911 said:

Chill chill...🥶

If feel the reply a bit heat.. then probably just ignore. 

Chill.. 😅

@Lethalstrike 

I think take bus better 😂. We get to be chauffeured around in air suspension comfort with good insulation from the UV light and exterior noise without stress though it's abit slow and have to stand during peak hour crowd.

Just now, Atonchia said:

Chill chill...🥶

If feel the reply a bit heat.. then probably just ignore. 

Chill.. 😅

Yeah, the rain is coming, probably will help to cool some heads here. 😆

1 minute ago, Heartbreakid said:

@Lethalstrike 

I think take bus better 😂. We get to be chauffeured around in air suspension comfort with good insulation from the UV light and exterior noise without stress though it's abit slow and have to stand during peak hour crowd.

Can see XMM and nicely dressed OL too😅