Reckless Cyclist

Brock

9 minutes ago, Atonchia said:

Then we need to ask why there isn't such rules for cars?

If it's not enforceable.....

Then why set an unenforceable rule for cyclist? 

Meaning AMAP rules are just all ”指上谈兵”

yeah, But that is not up to me to answer. 

as a small citizen , i only need to know what law and rules are out there and make sure i dun break them.

But personally if u ask me why cars and bike different? my best guess is road is main priority for vehicles first , the limited number of bike per group is to protect cyclist so that there is gap between each group for vehicles to over take easier etc etc.

But does it make sense? i cannot judge, i only need to know what rules are out there and make sure i follow them. 

Knowing we have roads, land and space constraints,  we have no choice but to share lane with cyclists . But  cyclists have to ride in a responsible manner, if they go on PCN, they should not be speeding, look out for  and take care of pedestrains. Since pedestrains are always back facing the overtaking cyclists, cyclists have to find ways to avoid running into pedestrains, not just ringing their bells and expect pedestrains to give way to them.

On the road, cyclists have to ride close to road shoulder. As much as possible, they should not ride in the middle of the lane, this is one thing that a lot of cyclists have failed to do so. When coming to exit points and junctions, as much as cars have to look out for them, they bave to look out for traffic as well, it cannot be a case that cars must always give way to them.  

Edited by Ct3833

3 minutes ago, Ct3833 said:

On the road, cyclists have to ride close to road shoulder. As much as possible, they should not ride in the middle of the lane, this is one thing that a lot of cyclists have failed to do so. When coming to exit points and junctions, as much as cars have to look out for them, they bave to look out for traffic as well, it cannot be a case that cars must always give way to them.  

I agree with this  - without fail, all the cyclist take it that the lane is theirs and cars have to follow from behind....cyclist expect drivers to be cautious about them when drivers see them in the middle of the road, they should also be aware that they are not suppose to cycle in the middle of the lane!

with the law written in such a way that cars to give cyclist 1.5m space...hence cyclist now think they can cycle in the middle of the lane and drivers need to give way!! 

that really how it is not..... 

9 minutes ago, Ct3833 said:

Knowing we have roads, land and space constraints,  we have no choice but to share lane with cyclists . But  cyclists have to ride in a responsible manner, if they go on PCN, they should not be speeding, look out for  and take care of pedestrains. Since pedestraints are always back facing the overtaking cyclists, cyclists have to find ways to avoid running into pedestraints, not just ringing their bells and expect pedestraints to give way to them.

I changed my wheels with one of a loud hub. When free wheeling. Everyone can hear I am closing in.🤣

No need bell and it's more accepted than bell. Because when free wheeling,  speed will reduce. 

Put pedestrian and other cyclist at ease and most will know (excluding non hearing impaired or headphones)  where is the sound is coming from.

2 minutes ago, Atonchia said:

I changed my wheels with one of a loud hub. When free wheeling. Everyone can hear I am closing in.🤣

No need bell and it's more accepted than bell. Because when free wheeling,  speed will reduce. 

Put pedestrian and other cyclist at ease and most will know (excluding non hearing impaired or headphones)  where is the sound is coming from.

I also don't use the bell...my screechy brake discs enuf to make head turn...😁

4 minutes ago, Atonchia said:

Bro,  nice of you. But the problem is when a pedestrian is walking back facing an overtaking bike, he wont know which side the bike would be coming towards him even if he knows a bike is approaching , unless he turns his head back, but there are so many bikes these days, it is unreasonable to expect a pedestrain to keep stopping and turning his head back to know where a bike is approaching. In this aspect, i always have the view that bikes must take care of pedestrains, not the otherway round. 

38 minutes ago, Ct3833 said:

Bro,  nice of you. But the problem is when a pedestrian is walking back facing an overtaking bike, he wont know which side the bike would be coming towards him even if he knows a bike is approaching , unless he turns his head back, but there are so many bikes these days, it is unreasonable to expect a pedestrain to keep stopping and turning his head back to know where a bike is approaching. In this aspect, i always have the view that bikes must take care of pedestrains, not the otherway round. 

Most bikers don't even take care of their own safety, how would we expect them to take care of pedestrians'?

The authorities need to hammer down hard on the errant ones to deter the rest, like dealing with drug abusers/trafficking.  If not then the problems won't go away.  Most in Sg are like cattle, can't be educated into considerate behaviours.  They only respond to the cattle probe.

12 hours ago, Loki said:

Now all pedestrians should open gate, stick out an umbrella in front of them before stepping out of the gate.  Cyclist go too fast and kena clotheslined by the umbrella, it‘s their own fault

Good idea. In fact I've seen near misses when people get off buses.

Not too long ago, me and wife was walking to a nearby coffee shop. We were approaching a bus stop and see passengers alighting.

Think there were 2 food delivery cyclists approaching the alighting passengers one after the other. 1 cyclist nearly came into contact with an alighting passenger, the other was smarter to cycle behind the bus stop.

It's happening to every bus stop, overhead bridges, condo exists, lift exits, etc. It's only a matter of time before someone is seriously injured or even die from all these bicycle accidents.

Some cyclists are using pedestrian foot paths as their PIE/ECP/MCE/KJE/BKE even when near child care facilities. I've seen near misses with kids too within the estate.

Getting out of hand :omg:

cyclist-gif.gif

2 minutes ago, Windwaver said:

Good idea. In fact I've seen near misses when people get off buses.

Not too long ago, me and wife was walking to a nearby coffee shop. We were approaching a bus stop and see passengers alighting.

Think there were 2 food delivery cyclists approaching the alighting passengers one after the other. 1 cyclist nearly came into contact with an alighting passenger, the other was smarter to cycle behind the bus stop.

It's happening to every bus stop, overhead bridges, condo exists, lift exits, etc. It's only a matter of time before someone is seriously injured or even die from all these bicycle accidents.

Some cyclists are using pedestrian foot paths as their PIE/ECP/MCE/KJE/BKE even when near child care facilities. I've seen near misses with kids too within the estate.

Getting out of hand :omg:

I think for food delivery there is a solution to deter such law-breaking behaviours by making it easy to identify the riders.

Just replace the words to Grapfood or Footpanda.  And if the rider number doesn't match the one on the order system, the outlets will not released the food to him.  I am very sure 90% of them will improve their riding behaviours.

51780af44a0bcc58e9148e9b94db5e4d.jpeg.2e81ce3b56b55dbcab01c7a384c57eda.jpeg

1 hour ago, mersaylee said:

I also don't use the bell...my screechy brake discs enuf to make head turn...😁

Just play some nice soothing music :grin:

b627391ed72a80e98fe10e80deef4e28.gif

13 hours ago, Atrecord said:

yes, thanks to our very efficient govt, with totally no foresight to anticipate any problem at all, before they happen...

https://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/in-short-how-can-we-get-more-people-to-cycle-to-work

How can we get more people to cycle to work?

Chua Mui Hoong

Associate Editor

When I met Mr Kelvin Phang, the founder of the RIDEnjoy app, it was apt that we both cycled to the appointment at the McDonald’s in Bishan Park.

Me, because I was doing the ground work for an article on how to nudge leisure cyclists to cycle to work, and thought  I should practise what I was going to preach, and cycle to the interview.

dw-cycle-work-220410.jpg?VersionId=bKrQ5

Anywhere on the ground level is not conducive...dig it in and build mouse tunnel networks only for leg powered 2 wheelers lah 😁

...then cum the erp gantries...😅

16 minutes ago, Windwaver said:

https://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/in-short-how-can-we-get-more-people-to-cycle-to-work

How can we get more people to cycle to work?

Chua Mui Hoong

Associate Editor

When I met Mr Kelvin Phang, the founder of the RIDEnjoy app, it was apt that we both cycled to the appointment at the McDonald’s in Bishan Park.

Me, because I was doing the ground work for an article on how to nudge leisure cyclists to cycle to work, and thought  I should practise what I was going to preach, and cycle to the interview.

dw-cycle-work-220410.jpg?VersionId=bKrQ5

I am looking forward to the day her wish comes true.... 

beijing-chang-an-street-bikes-1.jpg.2d57794cd1c183790e2a4d392ee8e956.jpg

Edited by Volvobrick

3 hours ago, Ct3833 said:

Cyclist Must give sufficient space when passing pedestrian at PCN.

Harder to find space on pavement.

24 minutes ago, Atonchia said:

Have to pace the  pedestrains to find soace before overtaking , this is what i did , inconvenient but necessary. 

39 minutes ago, Atonchia said:

That’s right 

car give 1.5m to bicycle

bicucle must give 1.5m to pedestrians 

But pap won’t one :XD:

18 hours ago, Volvobrick said:

Install at many places. Like across the popular roads (for cyclists) at regular intervals leaving 30cm gap on extreme left. 

like those you get at farms or Night safari. those animal gratings to prevent animal access. must treat them like animals to herd... 😁