What is ya dian?

Philipkee

23 minutes ago, Ct3833 said:

Duck eggs have a unique taste, not as pleasant as that of chicken eggs, it is why most of the duck eggs end up become salted eggs. But i remember during my childhood, duck eggs were used in fried kueh diao, quite nice. 

Century eggs also duck eggs is it?

1 hour ago, Philipkee said:

Please don't ask me to Google translate.  I tried that and i got duck shop.

Actually there is a simpler way I learned from my friend when she asked me to tabao for her. 

I believe chicken rice and duck rice stalls only has 2 organs from the birds, the liver and the gizzard. The liver is the soft one whereas the gizzard is the hard one. So next time just point to the bowl and say you want that hard one. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

18 minutes ago, Beregond said:

Yup.

i alway order kian.

Dun know if there is any 'dian'  . i think heard wrongly.

This one if 卤nicely, it goes very well with vinegar chillies,  one of my favorite during my younger days, i stop eating because i was told it has high cholesterol but apparently i am told wrongly. Tomorrow i will start eating again. 

"Gizzards contain important vitamins such as B12, which aids in brain health. high in zinc, iron and phosphorous, these minerals are essential for our bodies. They are low in fats and cholesterol"

Edited by Ct3833

38 minutes ago, Ct3833 said:

Duck eggs have a unique taste, not as pleasant as that of chicken eggs, it is why most of the duck eggs end up become salted eggs. But i remember during my childhood, duck eggs were used in fried kueh diao, quite nice. 

Penang CKT best is with duck egg 😁😁

2 hours ago, Philipkee said:

Recently i had to buy duck rice.  I had to include this part inside.  The ya dian.  I asked the person what it was and the person say it's in the duck's stomach 

Then i went to order duck rice with stomach and everyone laughed.  So the hawker told me it's ya dian and it's in the stomach but she also dunno the English name.

Anyone can help this banana here?

I think you’re referring to “gian”.

The g sound is mixed with the k sound.

so it’s neither gian or kian, but gkian kgian.

and you pronounce it using 第三声. 

try it. Gian gkian kian 

• Haha! 10

12 minutes ago, Atonchia said:

Century eggs also duck eggs is it?

No, not all century eggs are duck eggs but i believe mostly are, there are chicken and quail eggs as well, i have eaten century quail eggs before.  If you are thinking of the taste and smell, no they are not related to duck eggs, they are due to the ingredients used during the making  process. 

2 minutes ago, Tohto said:

Penang CKT best is with duck egg 😁😁

The penang ckt in boleh malaysia food center have or not ?  If have i will go pay them a visit . 😄😄😄

Edited by Ct3833

3 minutes ago, Ct3833 said:

The penang ckt in boleh malaysia food center have or not ?  If have i will go pay them a visit . 😄😄😄

I refering to those in Penang one lah... the bestest wil be charcoal duck egg CKT.

Local I don't think can find duck egg ckt lah.

24 minutes ago, Ct3833 said:

Why there is no fresh duck eggs in SGP ? As far as i understand,  there is no approved duck eggs importers by FDA. Maybe due to the lower demand, no importer bothers to apply for it anyway.

Duck egg has a stronger, unique or rather fishy taste  that making it less suitable for hard boil consumption,  but for fried kuay diao, i think it makes the taset of fried kuey diao better. 

Think same reason we can't get goose meat here.

2 hours ago, Tohto said:

I refering to those in Penang one lah... the bestest wil be charcoal duck egg CKT.

Local I don't think can find duck egg ckt lah.

The one at KL Lot10 basement foodcourt has.

Duck eggs are rarer compared to chicken eggs.

There was an old Taiwanese saying about duck egg.

風吹鴨蛋殼, 財去人安樂。

Edited by Albeniz

11 hours ago, Tianmo said:

KNN, you mixed 3 languages and asked for help to an item without a picture, consider yourself lucky @Ct3833  can read your mind. 

Ya dian, is can be duck shop, can be Athens. 

Duck gizzard,  ya zhen, or ah kian, pls don't go tell ppl you want ya kian, no such thing hor. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

All I know is Ah kian or kuay kian.