Didu Turbocharged March 30, 2021 Share March 30, 2021 2 hours ago, Albeniz said: Just thinking only. Good to have; hoping that a strong one will suck all the dust out of my room. I have an ultra-sensitive nose. Have you tried something like this? No need to cut hole. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged March 30, 2021 Share March 30, 2021 4 hours ago, Spring said: This KDK fan of my in laws, still working👍I think at least 50yrs old. These days, they don’t make things like they used to! ya sell you 1 time and you never need to buy again.. they also no business.. lol 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic March 30, 2021 Share March 30, 2021 3 hours ago, Albeniz said: In Feng Shui, the direction of rotation is very important. When the Singapore Flyer was rotating in the anti-clockwise direction, it threw money from CBD and Shenton Way into the Sea -> That was what happened in the year 2008 Financial Crisis. So they decided to change the rotational direction to clockwise instead. This time, it ended up scooping the water from the sea and flooded the CBD and Orchard Road - that was the famous "One in 50 years ponding". I am not sure if the rotational direction of the ceiling fan has the same effect. Which grand master masterminded the masterplan huh? 😁 If I'm the chosen one...I'd have made the flyer scoop the water spit out from the merlion mouth into the direction of the lion mouth at the stadium. Fat water better dont flow to other people's field mah 🤣 Actually it is done that way...😜 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic March 30, 2021 Share March 30, 2021 3 hours ago, Albeniz said: Just thinking only. Good to have; hoping that a strong one will suck all the dust out of my room. I have an ultra-sensitive nose. Would an air purifier help ? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic March 30, 2021 Share March 30, 2021 1 hour ago, Lala81 said: Wanted to modify my toilet windows to include one. But not allowed for hdb. Not sure your flat design. My toilet has those slant glass panel. I took out all the glass, remove the aluminum plate and reposition it in front to mount the fan. Basically, I didn't destroy much of anything. If I want I can still revert to original glass panels, if I can find those panels again. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 30, 2021 Share March 30, 2021 (edited) 9 hours ago, Kb27 said: Not sure your flat design. My toilet has those slant glass panel. I took out all the glass, remove the aluminum plate and reposition it in front to mount the fan. Basically, I didn't destroy much of anything. If I want I can still revert to original glass panels, if I can find those panels again. Yours should be allowed cos inward mount. Having a window panel with the ventilation fan embedded inside (which is the more common version seen in commercial or condo toilets) is not allowed by hdb rules. Need to rectify before selling lor. But on the other hand, nowadays don't think hdb inspects your flat prior to sale anymore. Edited March 30, 2021 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic March 31, 2021 Share March 31, 2021 2 hours ago, mikk123 said: thing made last time.... Newly made one won't last that long. Cutting cost and more profit is more important than reliability Cost cutting is one thing .... the worst part is getting the service....... Elmark fans - the company damn one of a kind ...... I had many of their fans in my house (warranty over)....called to ask for service due to malfunction.... they want you to make the payment upfront by Paylah before they send their man over 3-4 days later I remember the old USHA and Crompton fans in old days in my regular barber shop ......... they never changed them for almost 25 years until the fella retired or closed shop !! Almost grew up with the ceiling fans 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic March 31, 2021 Share March 31, 2021 16 hours ago, Spring said: This KDK fan of my in laws, still working👍I think at least 50yrs old. These days, they don’t make things like they used to! this one power lah... my old old house had one, and i think was still working, but that time moved house, think my parents decided against bringing it to new house... that was like 35 yr ago liao... my late grandma also bought a panasonic box fan, when she stayed with us for a period, about 25 yr ago. Then one time my nephew careless made it fall off from table and broke the rotating louver. We just continued to use it without the rotation. When we next moved house 9 yr ago, i took it to my office to use - at times when aircon off liao but still in office. It is still working well. These companies must have discovered their folly (for making things that can last so long) soon after... or else they would prob not be around anymore now 😂 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic March 31, 2021 Share March 31, 2021 2 minutes ago, BanCoe said: Cost cutting is one thing .... the worst part is getting the service....... Elmark fans - the company damn one of a kind ...... I had many of their fans in my house (warranty over)....called to ask for service due to malfunction.... they want you to make the payment upfront by Paylah before they send their man over 3-4 days later I remember the old USHA and Crompton fans in old days in my regular barber shop ......... they never changed them for almost 25 years until the fella retired or closed shop !! Almost grew up with the ceiling fans I feel you man... cos i got the same experience... and worse. My Amasco fans. This brand closed shop already - but it's not because their products could last long time no spoil hor... When i tried looking up the old contact for repair (called them years ago, as shared earlier), the one who answered say they are not amasco, but a company that amasco outsourced repair job to. The address is in the same building as years ago, but different unit. Then forever couldn't give me an appointment date, and later didn't even reply my whatsapp, and didn't pick up my calls. Asked my electrician contacts, they all said nowadays nobody repairs ceiling fans... in the end, found a few who advertised in carousell they repair fans. Checked with him, he said can do. Came to my place, was dong trial and error for almost 45 min, and even went to take out the cover of the working one for reference, before he finally managed to get it back working again... And the ladder he brought with him, had a certain ceiling fan brand's name on it. And this young chap is a freelancer, so draw your own conclusion... 😅 On pre-payment, i experienced it for aircon repair. Totally incredible, but the company said they had cases where owners didn't pay up after job done... maybe it's indeed some black sheeps spoilt market, but it was really shocking. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic March 31, 2021 Share March 31, 2021 12 minutes ago, Atrecord said: this one power lah... my old old house had one, and i think was still working, but that time moved house, think my parents decided against bringing it to new house... that was like 35 yr ago liao... my late grandma also bought a panasonic box fan, when she stayed with us for a period, about 25 yr ago. Then one time my nephew careless made it fall off from table and broke the rotating louver. We just continued to use it without the rotation. When we next moved house 9 yr ago, i took it to my office to use - at times when aircon off liao but still in office. It is still working well. These companies must have discovered their folly (for making things that can last so long) soon after... or else they would prob not be around anymore now 😂 well the new champion of cost cutting for appliances is Samsung. Heard many examples of their TV and washing machines all miraculously spoils just after the warranty. for me, i refuse to buy anything samsung. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged March 31, 2021 Share March 31, 2021 8 minutes ago, Mkl22 said: well the new champion of cost cutting for appliances is Samsung. Heard many examples of their TV and washing machines all miraculously spoils just after the warranty. for me, i refuse to buy anything samsung. ok what.. my sammy S3 still working 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic March 31, 2021 Share March 31, 2021 (edited) 21 hours ago, 13177 said: Fengshui no good if put a ceiling fan above the bed? Saw this article below. Feng Shui: Fanning good energy in bedrooms FANS are a must-have in tropical countries, although they may not be available in every home. A fan helps circulate air and reduce the heat in a room. But can a rotating fan’s circular motion and blades “kill” positive energy and harm home occupants with its downward spiraling energy? No, say Feng Shui experts, or otherwise there aren’t any fans in the making anymore. They say an unobtrusive ceiling fan can actually keep healthy qi circulating in the room, thus creating good Feng Shui. Two things to consider when it comes to placing a ceiling fan in your bedroom. 1. Is the ceiling fan too low? From a Feng Shui perspective, the ceiling fan should not be hung too low in the bedroom or directly above the bed. This is because it would create uneasy feeling and unnecessary pressure to those walking underneath it or lying on the bed. For instance, they may feel like their head will be hit by the fan blades. When you are asleep, you may also become restless as your subconscious mind starts thinking about the fan twirling above you from the ceiling. The fan should be mounted high in the ceiling. If the room is big enough, try to avoid hanging it directly above the bed. Just move it towards the edge of the bed. 2. Does the ceiling fan have a built-in light? Some ceiling fans have built-in lights. Some people like them because they provide additional lighting to the room. However, this type of lighting should be avoided. While there is nothing really wrong in having a ceiling fan with built-in lights above the bed, try to avoid turning the light on. An overhead light from the fan is usually of poor quality. It can either be too dim for reading or writing, or too bright for your personal comfort. Overhead lights can also create an uncomfortable feeling as they shine brightly down our heads. The glare can irritate the eyes. The room may also feel warmer. So, for your comfort, avoid this type of fans. Unless you live in SS mansion, it is difficult to avoid ceiling fan directly over head. Even if you install it in the middle of the living room, the span will almost cover the entire room in a typical HDB and Condom. LOL Edited March 31, 2021 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic March 31, 2021 Share March 31, 2021 1 hour ago, Atrecord said: I feel you man... cos i got the same experience... and worse. My Amasco fans. This brand closed shop already - but it's not because their products could last long time no spoil hor... When i tried looking up the old contact for repair (called them years ago, as shared earlier), the one who answered say they are not amasco, but a company that amasco outsourced repair job to. The address is in the same building as years ago, but different unit. Then forever couldn't give me an appointment date, and later didn't even reply my whatsapp, and didn't pick up my calls. Asked my electrician contacts, they all said nowadays nobody repairs ceiling fans... in the end, found a few who advertised in carousell they repair fans. Checked with him, he said can do. Came to my place, was dong trial and error for almost 45 min, and even went to take out the cover of the working one for reference, before he finally managed to get it back working again... And the ladder he brought with him, had a certain ceiling fan brand's name on it. And this young chap is a freelancer, so draw your own conclusion... 😅 On pre-payment, i experienced it for aircon repair. Totally incredible, but the company said they had cases where owners didn't pay up after job done... maybe it's indeed some black sheeps spoilt market, but it was really shocking. I thought Amasco was somewhere in Playfair Road vicinity?? I think I went to their showroom about 4-5 years back to get a replacement for my existing Amasco ceiling fan, I also had a Liberty fan (made in USA) lasted 25 years until the fan blade broke off (solid heavy too was the motor unit too) that the electrician whom came to replace a new one started wobbling on his ladder too and asked me to hold the ladder ; it was one of those decorative type with like wrought iron but then again it must have suffered fatigue and cracked at the joint Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic March 31, 2021 Share March 31, 2021 On 3/30/2021 at 9:19 AM, Atrecord said: I wanted to save on usage of aircon, so had 7 ceiling fans installed in the house. 2 KDKs in rooms 1 bigger KDK in living room 2 Amasco in balcony 2 'forgotten brand' in rooms Of these... only one of the ones in balcony still in good working condition after 8 yr+, cos it's hardly used... The first to go was the other one in balcony, got the capacitor changed after i think 2 yr. After that used less of it, and it spoilt after another 5 yr. Had to change again last year. Next was the forgotten brand. Also replaced capacitor after ~2.5 yr, and just had the pull chain broken from inside the motor, so can't control speed anymore (no remote). The other one now fan speed 1 is real slow, but is just nice, as my father can't take strong wind at night when sleeping. Finally, the KDKs. After ~3 yr, one room's KDK became super noisy. Called KDK and they sent technician, who was outsourced... He looked, said PCB spoilt, need replace. Transport was i think $30, PCB i think $80. I asked him how come KDK so unreliable now, and cited the KDK ceiling fans in classrooms when i was a student, looked like they can last for decades. He laughed and said the PCBs warranty only 6 mth (i think), and said that if want long-lasting, get those with control on the wall type, don't have PCB so won't spoil easily. He also asked me if i heard of a brand (whose name i cannot remember now), to which i said yes, got some impression. He said that brand made the best rice cooker, that won't spoil... and had gone bankrupt years ago... cos customers didn't need to buy again after first purchase 🤣 I didn't know to laugh or cry on hearing it. Then on his way out, walked past another room with KDK, he asked if wanna check, since he was already here - so i said ok lor. That one no noise, but on checking, he showed me the timer control not working, and said also should change PCB... i was hesitant, but he said if next time ask him come again, need charge transport again... so i got it changed too. Then when walked past living room with the bigger KDK, he again asked if wan check, and i thought might as well... And again, he showed me the fan speed 4 and 5 on remote are the same, again said PCB spoilt need change, and it's a bigger one so is $90 (i think)... So, one time come, all 3 KDK PCBs replaced... you say reliable or not lah... Really is PCB 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic March 31, 2021 Share March 31, 2021 3 hours ago, Mkl22 said: well the new champion of cost cutting for appliances is Samsung. Heard many examples of their TV and washing machines all miraculously spoils just after the warranty. for me, i refuse to buy anything samsung. samsung is prob not the only/first one. many years ago, my company laptop, an Acer, had some overheat issue just 2 weeks after the 1 year on-site warranty expired, and my IT colleague asked me to bring to Jurong (near Creative HQ) to get it fixed. The Acer person who took it in, was not the least surprised when i described the issue... (as though it's expected 😂 ) a friend said Acer employed great engineers, who can accurately make some parts fail after warranty - helps company make more $$... 1 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic March 31, 2021 Share March 31, 2021 2 hours ago, BanCoe said: I thought Amasco was somewhere in Playfair Road vicinity?? I think I went to their showroom about 4-5 years back to get a replacement for my existing Amasco ceiling fan, I also had a Liberty fan (made in USA) lasted 25 years until the fan blade broke off (solid heavy too was the motor unit too) that the electrician whom came to replace a new one started wobbling on his ladder too and asked me to hold the ladder ; it was one of those decorative type with like wrought iron but then again it must have suffered fatigue and cracked at the joint Yes at Joo Seng Rd, my old invoice showed a unit no. that is different from the address they gave now. And if you google Amasco... you find... nothing much 😅 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic March 31, 2021 Share March 31, 2021 On 3/30/2021 at 11:48 AM, Kb27 said: I have a few wall mounted fans. Bcuz I have a toddler running around. No stand fan for me. Wall mounted fans are out of the way, don't take up floor space. It's easy to diy mount, movable if need to. I think it's the best of both worlds between stand and ceiling fan. Stand fan, can use bladeless ones like Dyson Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic March 31, 2021 Share March 31, 2021 On 3/30/2021 at 2:22 PM, 13177 said: Fengshui no good if put a ceiling fan above the bed? Saw this article below. Feng Shui: Fanning good energy in bedrooms FANS are a must-have in tropical countries, although they may not be available in every home. A fan helps circulate air and reduce the heat in a room. But can a rotating fan’s circular motion and blades “kill” positive energy and harm home occupants with its downward spiraling energy? No, say Feng Shui experts, or otherwise there aren’t any fans in the making anymore. They say an unobtrusive ceiling fan can actually keep healthy qi circulating in the room, thus creating good Feng Shui. Two things to consider when it comes to placing a ceiling fan in your bedroom. 1. Is the ceiling fan too low? From a Feng Shui perspective, the ceiling fan should not be hung too low in the bedroom or directly above the bed. This is because it would create uneasy feeling and unnecessary pressure to those walking underneath it or lying on the bed. For instance, they may feel like their head will be hit by the fan blades. When you are asleep, you may also become restless as your subconscious mind starts thinking about the fan twirling above you from the ceiling. The fan should be mounted high in the ceiling. If the room is big enough, try to avoid hanging it directly above the bed. Just move it towards the edge of the bed. 2. Does the ceiling fan have a built-in light? Some ceiling fans have built-in lights. Some people like them because they provide additional lighting to the room. However, this type of lighting should be avoided. While there is nothing really wrong in having a ceiling fan with built-in lights above the bed, try to avoid turning the light on. An overhead light from the fan is usually of poor quality. It can either be too dim for reading or writing, or too bright for your personal comfort. Overhead lights can also create an uncomfortable feeling as they shine brightly down our heads. The glare can irritate the eyes. The room may also feel warmer. So, for your comfort, avoid this type of fans. kns lah, this isnt fengshui, this is common sense. muayhahaha ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...