Count_duku 4th Gear March 28, 2021 Share March 28, 2021 27 minutes ago, Mkl22 said: More for when you have the Aircon on and want to circulate the cold air but without the direct draft of the cold air blow down from the fan. Ahh OK ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic March 29, 2021 Share March 29, 2021 9 hours ago, Mkl22 said: More for when you have the Aircon on and want to circulate the cold air but without the direct draft of the cold air blow down from the fan. Thought it’s more for winter to push the hot air down too , right ?? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic March 29, 2021 Share March 29, 2021 10 hours ago, Lala81 said: why would u change unless it spoils? Minimal benefit. It's not like u switching on every fan for 16 hrs a day. Yours quite long lived. I haven't even heard of people buying AC fans for the last 10 years. Unless it's like for commerical purposes. The problem is they will not spoiled so easily, though I hardly use them , some produce humming noise when switched on. 😀 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic March 29, 2021 Share March 29, 2021 I dont know if my ceiling fans are AC or DC but works well, low noise and overall i will definitely recommended. Brand is Haiku Paid around $1200 for matte black one and $1400 for one with bamboo blades. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic March 29, 2021 Share March 29, 2021 (edited) Here's what I know, (maybe with some errors): AC fan - runs direct on AC using coil and capacitors. There are 2 types of capacitors: starting and running. Starting cap causes a phase shift with the coil to produce torque which turns the motor. Running cap uses phase shift to continue providing running torque to turn the motor. In some design, only one cap is used as both starting +running, like small table fan. To add the capability of switching fan speed, either more capacitors are used or more separate coil windings. Capacitors have a limited life span. After a number of years it tends to lose its capacitance, then you will find the fan sluggish to start, difficult to move. You may push the fan blade and find the fan moving normally after that. It's the capacitors that need to be replaced. Capacitors can also be added to change the phase shift in the opposite direction to reverse the fan. A thermal fuse is added to the coil windings, in case the motor or blades get stuck, the fuse breaks to prevent overload and fire. When you add remote control, it added another complexity and another point of failure. So, AC fan is pretty simple to diagnose and repair, it's either the capacitors, fuse or remote control circuit. It can last a very long time, if you keep up with the simple repairs. DC fan - typically has 3 sets of electromagnets and fixed permanent magnets placed at different angles. When the em coils are energised, it's attracted (move) towards the next set of magnets, by magnetic force, causing the motor to spin. The em is pulsed by drivers, which is part of the pcb control. So there's no capacitors here, only the pcb with semicon drivers, that can fail. The pcb is more complex as it has to produce the correct pulse timing to energised the electromagnets, either providing a forward or reverse motion. Any remote control function can be added to the same pcb. In case of failure, probably the whole pcb needs to be replaced. DC fan design is called brushless motor, as compared to a brushed motor, which used carbon brushes, that can wear out. Edited March 29, 2021 by Kb27 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 29, 2021 Share March 29, 2021 1 hour ago, Throttle2 said: I dont know if my ceiling fans are AC or DC but works well, low noise and overall i will definitely recommended. Brand is Haiku Paid around $1200 for matte black one and $1400 for one with bamboo blades. Haiku is premium dc fans. A favorite due to their design and noise vs airflow Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic March 29, 2021 Share March 29, 2021 2 hours ago, Lala81 said: Haiku is premium dc fans. A favorite due to their design and noise vs airflow Thats why i bought. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic March 29, 2021 Share March 29, 2021 9 minutes ago, mikk123 said: was visiting a few fan shops and they all recommend Crestar....But i read the review and some feedback the quality is bad and break down after 2 to 3 years. Any one use crestar before? Is KDK ceiling fan equally good? Don’t think one can go wrong with KDK fans. It’s lasting from my experience. But last time can go JB buy which was way way cheaper. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged March 29, 2021 Share March 29, 2021 Had 4 kdk ceiling fans installed 2012.2 of them used at least hours per day. One slowed down until almost no wind within 5 years. Probably a capacitator issue mentioned above but decided to change it as the plastic cover is making noise when operating. The other frequently used kdk still works OK except for the same noise problem. It is a design issue. Won't change back to kdk when they spoil. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic March 30, 2021 Share March 30, 2021 15 hours ago, Fcw75 said: Don’t think one can go wrong with KDK fans. It’s lasting from my experience. But last time can go JB buy which was way way cheaper. I wanted to save on usage of aircon, so had 7 ceiling fans installed in the house. 2 KDKs in rooms 1 bigger KDK in living room 2 Amasco in balcony 2 'forgotten brand' in rooms Of these... only one of the ones in balcony still in good working condition after 8 yr+, cos it's hardly used... The first to go was the other one in balcony, got the capacitor changed after i think 2 yr. After that used less of it, and it spoilt after another 5 yr. Had to change again last year. Next was the forgotten brand. Also replaced capacitor after ~2.5 yr, and just had the pull chain broken from inside the motor, so can't control speed anymore (no remote). The other one now fan speed 1 is real slow, but is just nice, as my father can't take strong wind at night when sleeping. Finally, the KDKs. After ~3 yr, one room's KDK became super noisy. Called KDK and they sent technician, who was outsourced... He looked, said PCB spoilt, need replace. Transport was i think $30, PCB i think $80. I asked him how come KDK so unreliable now, and cited the KDK ceiling fans in classrooms when i was a student, looked like they can last for decades. He laughed and said the PCBs warranty only 6 mth (i think), and said that if want long-lasting, get those with control on the wall type, don't have PCB so won't spoil easily. He also asked me if i heard of a brand (whose name i cannot remember now), to which i said yes, got some impression. He said that brand made the best rice cooker, that won't spoil... and had gone bankrupt years ago... cos customers didn't need to buy again after first purchase 🤣 I didn't know to laugh or cry on hearing it. Then on his way out, walked past another room with KDK, he asked if wanna check, since he was already here - so i said ok lor. That one no noise, but on checking, he showed me the timer control not working, and said also should change PCB... i was hesitant, but he said if next time ask him come again, need charge transport again... so i got it changed too. Then when walked past living room with the bigger KDK, he again asked if wan check, and i thought might as well... And again, he showed me the fan speed 4 and 5 on remote are the same, again said PCB spoilt need change, and it's a bigger one so is $90 (i think)... So, one time come, all 3 KDK PCBs replaced... you say reliable or not lah... 1 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklim Supercharged March 30, 2021 Share March 30, 2021 Have had my AC ceiling fan for 20 years. Dunno the brand. Bought in Lavendar Rd. DIY-changed capacitor once. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic March 30, 2021 Share March 30, 2021 1 hour ago, Atrecord said: I wanted to save on usage of aircon, so had 7 ceiling fans installed in the house. 2 KDKs in rooms 1 bigger KDK in living room 2 Amasco in balcony 2 'forgotten brand' in rooms Of these... only one of the ones in balcony still in good working condition after 8 yr+, cos it's hardly used... The first to go was the other one in balcony, got the capacitor changed after i think 2 yr. After that used less of it, and it spoilt after another 5 yr. Had to change again last year. Next was the forgotten brand. Also replaced capacitor after ~2.5 yr, and just had the pull chain broken from inside the motor, so can't control speed anymore (no remote). The other one now fan speed 1 is real slow, but is just nice, as my father can't take strong wind at night when sleeping. Finally, the KDKs. After ~3 yr, one room's KDK became super noisy. Called KDK and they sent technician, who was outsourced... He looked, said PCB spoilt, need replace. Transport was i think $30, PCB i think $80. I asked him how come KDK so unreliable now, and cited the KDK ceiling fans in classrooms when i was a student, looked like they can last for decades. He laughed and said the PCBs warranty only 6 mth (i think), and said that if want long-lasting, get those with control on the wall type, don't have PCB so won't spoil easily. He also asked me if i heard of a brand (whose name i cannot remember now), to which i said yes, got some impression. He said that brand made the best rice cooker, that won't spoil... and had gone bankrupt years ago... cos customers didn't need to buy again after first purchase 🤣 I didn't know to laugh or cry on hearing it. Then on his way out, walked past another room with KDK, he asked if wanna check, since he was already here - so i said ok lor. That one no noise, but on checking, he showed me the timer control not working, and said also should change PCB... i was hesitant, but he said if next time ask him come again, need charge transport again... so i got it changed too. Then when walked past living room with the bigger KDK, he again asked if wan check, and i thought might as well... And again, he showed me the fan speed 4 and 5 on remote are the same, again said PCB spoilt need change, and it's a bigger one so is $90 (i think)... So, one time come, all 3 KDK PCBs replaced... you say reliable or not lah... If it was me, I won’t change the other room or the living room one. They are still working. Will just leave it if it’s working with no noise. The KDK in my living room still working well after dunno how many years. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic March 30, 2021 Share March 30, 2021 4 minutes ago, Fcw75 said: If it was me, I won’t change the other room or the living room one. They are still working. Will just leave it if it’s working with no noise. The KDK in my living room still working well after dunno how many years. same for me. remote control KDK fan installed march 2010. on for at least 8hrs a day since then. 90% working well. slight squeak at times. 32k hrs of use. bought in malaysia. half price of singapore ones. who cares if it spoils now. i rather buy 2 than singapore warranty. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic March 30, 2021 Share March 30, 2021 5 minutes ago, Fcw75 said: If it was me, I won’t change the other room or the living room one. They are still working. Will just leave it if it’s working with no noise. The KDK in my living room still working well after dunno how many years. i guess i was just paranoid at how easily things can get worse, and was worried that before long, i might have to get the technician back again when more things spoil for the other 2... it simply gave me the shivers that the PCBs are just not made to last... so rather than keep incurring transport costs, plus all the after-math cleaning, etc... sigh... might as well just change lor... and hor, i forgot to add, the noisy one, now start to have noise again, although not yet as loud as last time 😩 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic March 30, 2021 Share March 30, 2021 1 hour ago, mikk123 said: thank you for the detailed sharing...after reading your post, i will go with standing fan - No need to arrange for technician, fan spoil, throw away and buy new one. 😁 I have a few wall mounted fans. Bcuz I have a toddler running around. No stand fan for me. Wall mounted fans are out of the way, don't take up floor space. It's easy to diy mount, movable if need to. I think it's the best of both worlds between stand and ceiling fan. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic March 30, 2021 Share March 30, 2021 (edited) 1 hour ago, Kb27 said: I have a few wall mounted fans. Bcuz I have a toddler running around. No stand fan for me. Wall mounted fans are out of the way, don't take up floor space. It's easy to diy mount, movable if need to. I think it's the best of both worlds between stand and ceiling fan. True. I only have wall mounted fans in the rooms and they are KDK btw. Perhaps not so sightly but it’s functional. Can turn it to blow where you want it. Up down left right. Someone told me not good to put a ceiling fan above the bed due to fengshui. Edited March 30, 2021 by Fcw75 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged March 30, 2021 Share March 30, 2021 11 minutes ago, Fcw75 said: True. I only have wall mounted fans in the rooms and they are KDK btw. Perhaps not so sightly but it’s functional. Can turn it to blow where you want it. Up down left right. Someone told me not good to put a ceiling fan above the bed due to fengshui. no la.. i used to have the fan turning right above my bed. I think he scared the fan fall and decapitate him only. lol 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic March 30, 2021 Share March 30, 2021 30 minutes ago, Nolicense said: no la.. i used to have the fan turning right above my bed. I think he scared the fan fall and decapitate him only. lol Hahaha, possible. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...