Ceiling fan

Bluepica

23 minutes ago, Fat_slayer said:

We want to buy 1 each for the living and dinning area.  Both to be same brand and design for consistency look / effects.  Our TV console is also about same colour.  Still seeing other brands though with similar designs and colours..

My living room is about 6m x 3.5m with height about 3m. So I think it should be able to accommodate the 60" fan.

6x3.5m is decent size for a 60", maybe go vist some condo showrooms and pay attention to their fan size.   The problem is when you visit those fan showrooms, their  display area is big, you may not be able to get the actual feel of the fan size. But if you are comfortable with the size, go with your feeling.  Enjoy your shopping! 

17 hours ago, Ct3833 said:

Haha speed doesn't work that way, but good assumption that you have 9 speeds. The good thing about reverse rotation is that  you dont feel the wind coming down but the  whole room feels airy.

my wife like ceiling fan. but i dislike wind being blown directly on me. This reverse direction maybe a good idea... I didn't know got such a thing haha [:p]

20 hours ago, Ct3833 said:

you  have long gotten your ROI,  time to replace your fan, SGP economy needs some help anyway.😃😃

True and you may be consuming more electricity because there may be restriction causing the motor to work harder 5o turn the blades. Help the economy,  go get a new one

On 10/21/2019 at 2:53 PM, Atrecord said:

talking of ceiling fan, i think my KDK again something wrong liao... the remote's motherboard must be conk off again... sian...

quality so bad? I have 6 ceiling fans at home (5 kdk and 1 dunno what brand which i regret). So far using for 4 years without issue. All bought in malaysia for 1/3 the price here.

On 10/20/2019 at 10:42 PM, Ct3833 said:

you  have long gotten your ROI,  time to replace your fan, SGP economy needs some help anyway.😃😃

Buy from malaysia la! 1/3 the price.

17 minutes ago, Ct3833 said:

Elmark recalls 17 models of their fans, those who are affected can trade in affected fans for $170.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/17-elmark-ceiling-fan-models-recalled-over-safety-issues

the link says $150 not 170 leh. POFMA you then you know.

More than 500 units of ceiling fans from 17 models by Elmark Marketing are being recalled after checks showed they could pose safety problems.

These fans could potentially fall, electrocute someone or cause a fire, product safety agency Enterprise Singapore said yesterday.

Fan blades could also come loose when in use and cause cuts.

SMLJ. So many issues with their fans? Give you $150 voucher you dare to buy?

14 hours ago, Kusje said:

quality so bad? I have 6 ceiling fans at home (5 kdk and 1 dunno what brand which i regret). So far using for 4 years without issue. All bought in malaysia for 1/3 the price here.

Actually i also dun know for sure (whether quality is indeed v bad)...

But 3-4 yr ago, when we got the repairman to come in to repair the KDK in my girl's room, he said modern (fan) manufacturer now v smart, no longer builds things that last. After a certain time, sure either needs to repair or replace. The motherboard is only warranty for i think he said 6 or 12 mth...

Then as he walked out after replacing the motherboard for the KDK in my girl's room, walked past my room, asked if wanna check. i said ok, and he checked, showed me the timer not working, so also need to replace motherboard. Later walked through my living room, again asked if wanna check, and again showed me speed 4 and 5 are the same, so also needed to replace motherboard!!!

So one shot, all 3 KDKs at home all replaced motherboards!

oh, if use those last time we saw in schools (the KDKs with the switches on the wall, no remote types), then he said those should last... it's the motherboard for the models with remotes, that will conk off now and then...

17 hours ago, Soya said:

Had a Elmark fan many many moons ago

Sibei CMI. Can't feel the air 

bo bian. Elmark was one of the home grown pioneer fan/heater company. Last time can fight cos cheaper than KDK and their fans had lights (which KDK lack)

but over the years, maybe not so innovative and many models still old fashioned

7 hours ago, Atrecord said:

oh, if use those last time we saw in schools (the KDKs with the switches on the wall, no remote types), then he said those should last... it's the motherboard for the models with remotes, that will conk off now and then...

indeed .... the non remote ones seem to lasts .... I have a remote Panasonic (owns KDK) Stand fan. Motherboard konked 9 months later. Sent in for warranty repair. 8 months later dieded again 😑

Reviving the old thread........ Got this Fanco brand  DC ceiling fan to replace my old trusty Liberty ( i think made in USA back then - served me well for 25 years ) but the blades cracked

What I find strange is the fan first like rotates slightly counter clockwise for about 1-2 seconds like a jerk and then jerks again (like go ahead gostan) and will finally spin normal as expected

Is this the way this fans work ??  

35 minutes ago, BanCoe said:

Reviving the old thread........ Got this Fanco brand  DC ceiling fan to replace my old trusty Liberty ( i think made in USA back then - served me well for 25 years ) but the blades cracked

What I find strange is the fan first like rotates slightly counter clockwise for about 1-2 seconds like a jerk and then jerks again (like go ahead gostan) and will finally spin normal as expected

Is this the way this fans work ??  

I have a couple of DC ceiling fans at home. Although not Fanco, but neither of them do like what you said. I suggest if you pass by any appliance store that sells Fanco, have the sales turn it on for you to see if they do the same thing.

On 12/24/2019 at 10:54 AM, Ct3833 said:

Elmark recalls 17 models of their fans, those who are affected can trade in affected fans for $170.

I offer $200.

I need a fan for my MIL's room.

:grin: