Shiq 1st Gear February 19, 2021 Share February 19, 2021 Hi guys! I'm looking to buy my first foldie. Torn between Crius Velocity D & Sava Z1. Any advice which one is worth getting in terms of ride performance, ease of folding and compactness after fold? Thanks! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged February 19, 2021 Share February 19, 2021 6 hours ago, Shiq said: Hi guys! I'm looking to buy my first foldie. Torn between Crius Velocity D & Sava Z1. Any advice which one is worth getting in terms of ride performance, ease of folding and compactness after fold? Thanks! U want compact go for brompton, 3sixty or pike. Crius or sava folding not as compact 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged February 19, 2021 Share February 19, 2021 15 minutes ago, Yeshe said: U want compact go for brompton, 3sixty or pike. Crius or sava folding not as compact Yes that is definitely true. How much you willing to spend is definitely an important factor. Most will want to work within the budget set out, but some might think it worthwhile increasing it to get a Brompton after considering all the other factors. To me the next question is how you will be using the foldie. Do you just want to bring it to a favourite park to cycle or you cycling to work whereby need to have small format factor of foldie when folded. For example I got a foldie for my wife to put in her car boot to bring to East Coast Park to cycle, so no need to buy the most compact foldie. In fact most car boot should be able big enough to accommodate 2 such foldies like Crius Master D/Sava Z1. Another factor would be ride quality as it will determine how far you can go with the bike without feeling tired. I have not owned a Brompton before so cannot comment on ride quality between it and any Crius, but my experience with Master D is very favourable that is almost comparable to a racer. Maybe some with both bikes can comment on the ride quality difference to allow for better assessment on whether worth to spend more on a Bromptom base on ride quality if folded form factor is not an issue. But if you are the LV type of person who like bling bling, then go for Brompton for maximum effect lah. You will most likely to get it eventually anyway as you will always be worrying people looking down on you because of your foldie. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shiq 1st Gear February 20, 2021 Share February 20, 2021 Thanks guys for the feedback! Brompton is way out of my budget & I don’t want to spend that much on something that I will use once a week or once every fortnight. Hence why I’m looking for something about $1000 or lesser. I will also be storing the bike in my car boot most of the time cos don’t want my place to look cluttered with too many things. I will also be cycling at parks / PCN only. Thank you every one for your input! I think I might settle with the Crius. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Smurfie24 Neutral Newbie March 1, 2021 Share March 1, 2021 I’m new to foldable bike. Previously on my giant mtb. I have been reading a lot of reviews but couldn’t decide on Crius Velocity, Crius Master D, FS-S and Fnhon. Budget around $900. Any recommendations? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic May 18, 2021 Share May 18, 2021 (edited) This is interesting , not a foldable but a "foilable". The hydrofoils help reduce the water resistance significantly, making cycling in the water a lot easier. Edited May 18, 2021 by Ct3833 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic May 18, 2021 Share May 18, 2021 4 hours ago, Ct3833 said: This is interesting , not a foldable but a "foilable". The hydrofoils help reduce the water resistance significantly, making cycling in the water a lot easier. This seems to be like a lake with calm waters......... wonder how it works in the seas with waves going over the bike and make you prone to sinking?? Just my tots 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knighthunter 4th Gear May 20, 2021 Share May 20, 2021 On 5/18/2021 at 1:56 PM, BanCoe said: This seems to be like a lake with calm waters......... wonder how it works in the seas with waves going over the bike and make you prone to sinking?? Just my tots Could be ued in our reservoirs like kayak. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freeder Hypersonic May 21, 2021 Share May 21, 2021 1 hour ago, Knighthunter said: Could be ued in our reservoirs like kayak. Which reservoir? Dun wanna risk kanna pull down... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic May 21, 2021 Share May 21, 2021 Most would not be able to pedal up to speed. So perfect to add a battery and motor. And the SGNs can terrorise others on the reservoirs instead of on the pavements. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged May 21, 2021 Share May 21, 2021 On 18 May, 2021 at 9:32 AM, Ct3833 said: This is interesting , not a foldable but a "foilable". The hydrofoils help reduce the water resistance significantly, making cycling in the water a lot easier. If we can use this Hydrofoil to visit neighbouring countries would be fun and most accessible, arrive in style and check-in custom Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic May 21, 2021 Share May 21, 2021 Just now, Meanmachine said: If we can use this Hydrofoil to visit neighbouring countries would be fun and most accessible, arrive in style and check-in custom From Singapore to Batam is 45km. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic May 21, 2021 Share May 21, 2021 On 1/11/2021 at 8:29 AM, Adrianli said: I also cycle a Crius Velocity. Posted a few photos here. @Yeshe and @Adrianli Wheel size. Can you share your journey from 20" foldie to a 16" Brompton, the plus and minus, etc? I like the design and compactness of the Brompton (when folded) but I just can't quite get over the 16" wheel and the way it handles. The 20" are definitely faster and more stable in terms of ride quality. I can understand the Brompton is a city bike suitable for short commute that complements a wider public transport system but many of you are using it like a touring / racing bike? Am I missing something? Do I need to buy one to appreciate the ride quality over a longer period? I tried the 20" Tern and Dahon recently, i thought the ride were much better but the test rides were rather short. Just trying to understand if people are buying Brompton for the brand. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic May 21, 2021 Share May 21, 2021 1 hour ago, Voodooman said: @Yeshe and @Adrianli Wheel size. Can you share your journey from 20" foldie to a 16" Brompton, the plus and minus, etc? I like the design and compactness of the Brompton (when folded) but I just can't quite get over the 16" wheel and the way it handles. The 20" are definitely faster and more stable in terms of ride quality. I can understand the Brompton is a city bike suitable for short commute that complements a wider public transport system but many of you are using it like a touring / racing bike? Am I missing something? Do I need to buy one to appreciate the ride quality over a longer period? I tried the 20" Tern and Dahon recently, i thought the ride were much better but the test rides were rather short. Just trying to understand if people are buying Brompton for the brand. 20" Definitely faster than 16" and lesser effort to maintain cruising speed. I chose to get a Brompton for its compact size and it will be a keeper so must consider longevity of spare parts supply too. I am still riding both of my foldies. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged May 21, 2021 Share May 21, 2021 1 hour ago, Voodooman said: @Yeshe and @Adrianli Wheel size. Can you share your journey from 20" foldie to a 16" Brompton, the plus and minus, etc? I like the design and compactness of the Brompton (when folded) but I just can't quite get over the 16" wheel and the way it handles. The 20" are definitely faster and more stable in terms of ride quality. I can understand the Brompton is a city bike suitable for short commute that complements a wider public transport system but many of you are using it like a touring / racing bike? Am I missing something? Do I need to buy one to appreciate the ride quality over a longer period? I tried the 20" Tern and Dahon recently, i thought the ride were much better but the test rides were rather short. Just trying to understand if people are buying Brompton for the brand. I got the brompton first originally for my wife before the crius. Unfortunately she feels it uncomfortable, so I end up with both bikes. I rotate my bikes and if I am my riding with a grp of roadies on mix road route, I will bring crius anytime. If I m riding alone or purely pcn, either brompton or crius is good. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic May 21, 2021 Share May 21, 2021 2 hours ago, Meanmachine said: If we can use this Hydrofoil to visit neighbouring countries would be fun and most accessible, arrive in style and check-in custom Across to johar might be ok but I am not sure about going to bantam though 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged May 21, 2021 Share May 21, 2021 Beside speed another consideration would be if you want to integrate riding with public transport or lim kopi in coffee joints or Macdonald. Brompton bikes can easily be collapsed and pushed unassumingly while typical 20" foldie will look unwieldy. Like if you want to push a Bromptom into NTUC or Giant to do grocery shopping which is 10min drive from home, it is very do-able. No need to lock it outside and worry gotten stolen. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knighthunter 4th Gear May 21, 2021 Share May 21, 2021 (edited) 13 hours ago, Voodooman said: @Yeshe and @Adrianli Wheel size. Can you share your journey from 20" foldie to a 16" Brompton, the plus and minus, etc? I like the design and compactness of the Brompton (when folded) but I just can't quite get over the 16" wheel and the way it handles. The 20" are definitely faster and more stable in terms of ride quality. I can understand the Brompton is a city bike suitable for short commute that complements a wider public transport system but many of you are using it like a touring / racing bike? Am I missing something? Do I need to buy one to appreciate the ride quality over a longer period? I tried the 20" Tern and Dahon recently, i thought the ride were much better but the test rides were rather short. Just trying to understand if people are buying Brompton for the brand. I have Tern, Tyrell and Bromptons. You need to test ride Brompton to understand ride quality and it’s nimbleness. It’s very good leisure bike and on PCN. If talking on smooth surface and road riding 20” foldies is much better, can’t beat the physics with bigger wheels in term of speed. Distance wise no effect depend on your legs, leisure ride with Brompton will take longer than Chiong with 20” foldie. Anyway there are Brompton riders that so strong that could maintain average 30 kmh, or modding it to super lights that spend few thousand more on original Brompton price. One ridea titanium crank for Brompton will cost about 1k it could get one decent 20” foldie. Edited May 21, 2021 by Knighthunter My spelling is crap ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...