Gitanic 6th Gear March 30, 2015 Share March 30, 2015 who dare make mistake on the surname of our founding father offsprings!! i believe there is some reasons for it.. maybe don't want the grand children to attract too much attention? still, it puzzle us when it comes to chinese culture.. do realize the given name of 2 words are joined together. that is hanyu pingying. i had that name in my early school. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged March 30, 2015 Share March 30, 2015 Thks bro for bringing the main intention bsck thanks bro, for scaring us into bringing the main intention back. ok ok now i behave!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hydrocarbon Turbocharged March 30, 2015 Share March 30, 2015 In a very big way, it is inspired by the political leadership of Singapore spearheaded by Mr Lee. He had been using a Toyota Cressida since he stepped down as PM, and absolutely nobody thought any lesser of him. Singaporeans enjoy reward for work and work for reward, but I don't think many people aim for self-actualisation yet. I really feel that Singaporeans grew up this week. The best tribute that Singapore can pay him is a nation that does well even without him around, for that would show that he put in place a robust system that doesn't depend on any particular individual. Hopefully more will step forward and contribute to the future of our country. Nobody (with a normal functioning brain) would think less of him even if he was using a van or Chery QQ. He is more than the car he rides in (hopefully, more Singaporeans will think this way too, that material possessions are not what defines us. Just to note: I have nothing against those who gets a car they love because they love it, but I feel that those who get a car for the status, is just a sad way to boost self-esteem.) I am going to say something serious and heartfelt. I believe the best way to honour someone is to hold steadfast to the principles they espoused in life even after they're gone. One of those principles that LKY kept propounding was racial tolerance. He knew that our situation was uniquely sensitive. He had the wisdom to see that there are some things that simply shouldn't be said or written. I have always been a big believer in freedom of thought and expression. But my views on this have become somewhat tempered over the years after seeing the effect of unbridled and irresponsible freedom of expression by some parties. Which is why I support the strict prohibitions against racial/religious incendiary speech which is a very important part of LKY's legacy to us. I found one quote in his biopic to be very moving. Having seen first-hand the discrimination he faced (as a minority) in Malaysia, he vowed that Singapore would never go down that path. Never should a minority feel similarly discriminated against in Singapore. I found myself in awe at this extremely mature sentiment. Generally, the first instinct of a man that's been struck is to strike back. It takes someone truly great to be able to resist this impulse, and to go even further - to preach actively against the injustice that had been done to him in the first place. So, I beseech you, my fellow citizens, to abstain from hurtful comments against those of another race. Living true to LKY's beliefs is more important than simply waxing eloquent about his life in abstract terms. So let's not just pay lip service to his ideals, let's strive to live according to them. And if you see hate speech (e.g. on STOMP or other websites), then point it out and shame the commenter. Let's not let bad speech stand by default. Let's show them that we will always be committed to peaceful, united multiculturalism. I agree with you, but not fully. 1. We can honour someone with our own principles too, without espousing their principles. It is more than what we say or feel, it's how we think and act, and not just for our sake, but for the sake of those around us. I'm not saying that I disagree with LKY's principles, just that, I might not need to agree with all of them, but can still honour him in different ways. 2. I support prohibitions against racist speeches / writings, but not against religions. While prohibitions against speeches / writings against religions may have been needed at the founding period of Singapore, I don't think they are needed now. Religion is a choice, albeit a very personal one, same with how we choose to spend our time and money (cars, watches, etc). However, religion is something that influences others, whether for good or bad. And as such, I think prohibitions about speeches and writings against religion / religious choices should be lifted. Hate speech is never nice, nor needed, but criticisms should be allowed. Just my 2 cents on this. Unfortunately, I really do not think those currently below 25 yrs of age will genuinely be able to appreciate LKY's efforts and all of sudden attain enlightenment. Yes many of them could be seen queing up to pay their respects but this was being emotional for that brief period getting carried away thanks to social media that they so heavily depend on, treating it as an outing, etc. If anything the overall attiutude of these youngsters are a big source of worry of what the future holds for Singapore. The old will always worry that the young do not have the same spirit they had, that the young do not understand. But I'll say, that we were all young once (well, some of us still are), but age is not the only determining factor of a person's personality, character, and force of will. There are some, way younger than the majority at MCF, who have helped humanity in ways that others older than them have not. (http://www.girleffect.org/what-girls-need/articles/2013/02/girl-power-nigerian-teens-invent-urine-powered-generator/) Besides, the youth of today faces a different challenge than the youth of yesterday (who have become old and criticising of the youth of today. Not all of them of course). ***** Anyway, during the last week, I learnt more of LKY, as well as Singapore's history. I'm sorry to say that it has taken the death of LKY to do so, but I believe that other youths or young adults, who might have previously been ignorant of such facts have benefited from the massive sharing. Well, I think we've known, intellectually that when we woke up, the roofs over our head was made possible by HDB (who knew where I'd wake up if it was still under SIT), and that our water supply was secured because of LKY and his cabinet, that I had slept soundly during the night because of SAF and SPF, but it was during this week that I felt it, emotionally. And yesterday, being outside the Parliament House, I'm glad that it rained. Not just because it stopped people from pulling out their phones and taking pictures like it was a concert, but also because it hid the tears. I have no words to say any further thanks, but I hope my tears conveyed them all the same. He will be missed, sorely. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator March 30, 2015 Author Share March 30, 2015 thanks bro, for scaring us into bringing the main intention back. ok ok now i behave!! Dun liddat la There is a place n time for everything. Some ppl just cannot see tt Bo issue w ur post nia 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondacub777 6th Gear March 30, 2015 Share March 30, 2015 on the other hand, we are able to resist his hard line approaches now is also due to the education that he had set in place for us initially. I am willing to give that as a one off given his age and how he had brought us to where we are with his approaches previously... he is after all human... and humans do make mistakes... but with regards to strikes like the little india riots and sbs strikes... I would love to see his hard line approaches... think the govt was too soft handling those 2 issues Totally agree. But as of now,dun see anyone in pap or oppo has any iron fist. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic March 30, 2015 Share March 30, 2015 Could it be Hanyu pinyin? Just guessing. It is hanyu pinyin but I do not know why they adopt that. I have both my hanyu pinyin name and dialect name on my IC. Now I hardly use the hanyu pinyin one. Carrying the father's surname is a Chinese tradition. Both my children have hanyu pinyin names but they retain my dialect surname. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged March 30, 2015 Share March 30, 2015 Totally agree. But as of now,dun see anyone in pap or oppo has any iron fist. @porker? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator March 30, 2015 Share March 30, 2015 It is hanyu pinyin but I do not know why they adopt that. I have both my hanyu pinyin name and dialect name on my IC. Now I hardly use the hanyu pinyin one. Carrying the father's surname is a Chinese tradition. Both my children have hanyu pinyin names but they retain my dialect surname. OK thanks for the clarification. I didn't even put Hanyu Pinyin surname for my daughter so as not to complicate matters which is just my idea/opinion. Agree with your point on father's dialect surname and yes it is unusual for the Lee's esp with their strict upbringing. 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged March 30, 2015 Share March 30, 2015 @porker? basket!! i nearly spit out my coffee sia. iron fist ... for sure~! lol. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged March 30, 2015 Share March 30, 2015 (edited) Also kope from edmw See you guys! Bye bye! This pic is jin satki !! (In EDMW speak) Its like saying he braved the rain during campaigning to bring us to where we are today, and we braved the rain yesterday to send him off as a final good-bye. Edited March 30, 2015 by Lethalstrike 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karu 6th Gear March 30, 2015 Share March 30, 2015 It is hanyu pinyin but I do not know why they adopt that. I have both my hanyu pinyin name and dialect name on my IC. Now I hardly use the hanyu pinyin one. Carrying the father's surname is a Chinese tradition. Both my children have hanyu pinyin names but they retain my dialect surname. That's the norm these days... Retaining 'dialect' surnames with hypy first names. Suspect LKY doesn't want the grandkids to be too easily associated with him & LHL. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic March 30, 2015 Share March 30, 2015 This pic is jin satki !! (In EDMW speak) Its like saying he braved the rain during campaigning to bring us to where we are today, and we braved the rain yesterday to send him off as a final good-bye. the picture really shows the warm, the sincerity, the devotion to people & duty despite the difficult odds Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged March 30, 2015 Share March 30, 2015 @porker? Friend you fist kilanz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic March 30, 2015 Share March 30, 2015 the farewell was one true national day parade no fanfare, no army, no fireworks, no big arty guns but the people came it was all heart 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RH1667 Hypersonic March 30, 2015 Share March 30, 2015 Singaporeans united, but foreigner pui us leh, how? http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/eat-drink-man-woman-16/%5Bgvgt%5D-hongkong-lady-angry-singapore-state-funeral-blocking-her-black-vios-no-black-mercedes-5010144.html Regardless FT or local, she just sham herself with such behaviour. She should go " face the wall and do some soul searching ". 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged March 30, 2015 Share March 30, 2015 the farewell was one true national day parade no fanfare, no army, no fireworks, no big arty guns but the people came it was all heart can see singaporeans actions is totally different from daily commute like mrt, bus or great Singapore sales... there was kindness, graciousness and tolerance, all this while helping one other hope we can maintain the same standards in our daily lives 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kezg1 5th Gear March 30, 2015 Share March 30, 2015 i dun want to link it to his blog but i was really shocked at this (it was shared here: http://forums.asianbookie.com/viewmessages.cfm?Forum=30&Topic=2693254) why will any 17 year old have so much hatred that he did this? this farker must be punished jialat jialat... no mercy .. I can only guessed is that, this kid is seriously mentally unsound...just like others who are bi-polar or schizophrenic. He probably doesn't know what he is doing. Hear say he is not a drop out but have 7 credits to his O level....and he is always wearing T shirt and pajamas pant and slippers....if he is out of his hse. I believe he must be medically treated... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondacub777 6th Gear March 30, 2015 Share March 30, 2015 @porker? Lol how can I forget him If Porker rule with his iron fist,the blood won't shed,it splatters. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...