Lala81 Hypersonic June 24, 2015 Share June 24, 2015 I don't think the intention is to maximise light coming in but rather packing the maximum number of units onto the land. Old design like point block has windows on 3 sides and really bright and breezy, including the lift landing. It is all about maximising $$$ profits, heck if the buyers going to suffer. Or HDB sleeping, outsource the design, construction and ultimately outsource the responsibility and accountability. Maybe some MPs will come out and say just close your front door and you won't see the problem anymore. Packing the maximum units on the land is the responsibility of HDB mah. Land is a resource here. Ultimately they have to have some KPI to maintain so that land is efficiently utilised. A balance has to be met, which of course the DBSS goes the complete opposite. I don't really think so, cos if u've been to BTOs built in the late 90s to early 2000s, the number of units on each floor is more or less the same. I agree that HDB should be stricter on the DBSS developers, but all these are moot. Since the scheme ended. Wait until my BIL's EC is out, before i comment on EC. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged June 24, 2015 Share June 24, 2015 (edited) I don't think the intention is to maximise light coming in but rather packing the maximum number of units onto the land. Old design like point block has windows on 3 sides and really bright and breezy, including the lift landing. It is all about maximising $$$ profits, heck if the buyers going to suffer. Or HDB sleeping, outsource the design, construction and ultimately outsource the responsibility and accountability. Maybe some MPs will come out and say just close your front door and you won't see the problem anymore. Risk management my friend. Just sell the land and let the third parties bear the development risks Edited June 24, 2015 by Porker 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged June 24, 2015 Share June 24, 2015 (edited) The 1.2m walkway reminds me of those rented one room flats in old housing estates. What do you expect when the Pte develop bid high prices for the land parcel? They got to squeeze somewhere to maximize their profits So who win? SLA KPI - checked Developer KPI - checked Buyer - LLST Edited June 24, 2015 by Tigerwoods 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic June 24, 2015 Share June 24, 2015 location location location nothing else matters...definitely not high prices, poor layout and finishes or mrt noise Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged June 24, 2015 Share June 24, 2015 Wrong, the old 1-rm rental flats got wider walkway location location location nothing else matters...definitely not high prices, poor layout and finishes or mrt noise Errr this location....umm....near the sea? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken138 4th Gear June 24, 2015 Share June 24, 2015 The air con ledge is included in the build in area which you are paying for.. This one maybe rhat why so big. Profit maximsation ! Better avoid projects with these developers involved. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic June 24, 2015 Share June 24, 2015 Errr this location....umm....near the sea? ummm...near mrt station Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklim Supercharged June 24, 2015 Share June 24, 2015 The 1.2m walkway reminds me of those rented one room flats in old housing estates. Blks 31 and 33, Taman Ho Swee come to mind. http://remembersingapore.org/singapore-en-bloc-flats/ "One of the designs of public flats at Bukit Ho Swee in the late sixties and early seventies include a long narrow corridor with units facing each other, creating a gloomy and suffocating surrounding. This unpopular design was discontinued in the designs of public housing years later." Looks like the design has made a comeback!! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged June 24, 2015 Share June 24, 2015 Development Boi Sai Sia Developers Build Singaporeans Suffer 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged June 24, 2015 Share June 24, 2015 Got space for dryer or not? Hang on the wall inside kitchen lor..... like what most people do. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged June 24, 2015 Share June 24, 2015 New fanciful names. Same old shit. HDB, bringing low quality to the next level. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged June 24, 2015 Share June 24, 2015 The only way to resolve the sudden iron gate swing out and hit you in the face is to retrofit all iron gates to swing insai your DeeBeeAssAss flat. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic June 24, 2015 Share June 24, 2015 just take note of these developers lor next time wanna buy house, take into consideration lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic June 24, 2015 Share June 24, 2015 Thats why nowadays go showflat must ask whats the size of corridor? Also must ask size of lift lobby. My development here lift lobby very small Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic June 24, 2015 Share June 24, 2015 just take note of these developers lor next time wanna buy house, take into consideration lor Easy for us to say since we are not affected.... Affected ones must make noise what. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic June 24, 2015 Share June 24, 2015 Easy for us to say since we are not affected.... Affected ones must make noise what. i can only secretly be grateful about my situation 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktglfc Hypersonic June 24, 2015 Share June 24, 2015 Got space for dryer or not? Got ! Use hair dryer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic June 24, 2015 Author Share June 24, 2015 Heng i bought resale ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...