GrabHitch/RYDE-car pooling services

Carpools

Two things. No offence but his name...second....why should drivers be treated like taxi drivers? Hitch is hitch. We are just trying to contribute to helping the environment, else why would i want someone else to sit in my car which i pay hundreds of thousands for? Makes me feel like giving up on hitching liao if hitchers started to think like that. No wonder lately I also find most hitchers sitting at the back. Edited by Andyngps

I get as low as 5km/litre in town and traffic so I only do if pick up within few hundred metres of detour and ultra short distance. If not for the minimum fare of $5, I think will be subsidising pax along with grab.

I would say need to do about 5-6k per mth minimum to earn a decent wage if full timer.

ST senior correspondent sometimes also live in ivory tower.

The distance don't make sense.

So most PHV only drive part time.

I suspect a lot of the outdoor sales staff drive during work hours.

If hitch to office and office back home still acceptable.

If in-between customer visit then it's not right, must give warning letter and sack if recurring.

No problem if after office hours.

Edited by Atonchia

I have one pleasant hitch last week to share with u guys

Picking up 2 rider with diff destination but pickup same place. One guy one girl. Picked up guy first then he sit front. Then the girl sit at back.

Then halfway drop the guy first, surprisingly the girl also goes down and change to front seat. She also initiate the conversation and polite along the way.

Very lucky lar bro

Wow, after hearing all these stories, it seems like I have been extremely lucky in the past to have had so many pleasant conversations and no really unpleasant passengers, even after hundreds of hitches. Or maybe there's a wider pool of hitch riders now, and it is getting more well-known, so you tend to get those who don't want to pay more but expect the same standards as Grab or taxis.

I haven't been hitching for a while, as there has been a huge change in my workload and I hardly even get to drive my car. Now, any driving I do with my own car is purely recreational and late at night as a form of pleasure and stress-relief, and I prefer to drive alone so I can drive the way I like and enjoy. Never expected that the standards of hitch riders would go downhill in just a matter of months. I might think twice about hitching in future even if my workload lightens and I have to use my car to travel around, unless it is extremely convenient with hardly any detour.

I certainly wouldn't use the new "on-the-go" function which apparently gives people a choice of using GrabHitch when no GrabCar or taxi takes their booking, and pairs them up with the nearest GrabHitch driver. 

Wow, after hearing all these stories, it seems like I have been extremely lucky in the past to have had so many pleasant conversations and no really unpleasant passengers, even after hundreds of hitches. Or maybe there's a wider pool of hitch riders now, and it is getting more well-known, so you tend to get those who don't want to pay more but expect the same standards as Grab or taxis.

I haven't been hitching for a while, as there has been a huge change in my workload and I hardly even get to drive my car. Now, any driving I do with my own car is purely recreational and late at night as a form of pleasure and stress-relief, and I prefer to drive alone so I can drive the way I like and enjoy. Never expected that the standards of hitch riders would go downhill in just a matter of months. I might think twice about hitching in future even if my workload lightens and I have to use my car to travel around, unless it is extremely convenient with hardly any detour.

I certainly wouldn't use the new "on-the-go" function which apparently gives people a choice of using GrabHitch when no GrabCar or taxi takes their booking, and pairs them up with the nearest GrabHitch driver. 

Word spreads like wildfire when things are affordable. And the cheap start skating in. hehehe.

I find it is not easy to find a hitch during the morning going into cbd area as a rider, this could be many driver might not drive to work if they work in cbd. Other locations sometimes still able to find a hitch driver.

Two things. No offence but his name...second....why should drivers be treated like taxi drivers? Hitch is hitch. We are just trying to contribute to helping the environment, else why would i want someone else to sit in my car which i pay hundreds of thousands for? Makes me feel like giving up on hitching liao if hitchers started to think like that. No wonder lately I also find most hitchers sitting at the back.

What's wrong with his name? We voted similar name guy to parly  [sly]

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chee_Hong_Tat

Chee hong :XD:

I find it is not easy to find a hitch during the morning going into cbd area as a rider, this could be many driver might not drive to work if they work in cbd. Other locations sometimes still able to find a hitch driver.

I suspect: people who can afford $500 Parking not interested in hitching Edited by Mustank

Chee hong :XD:

I suspect: people who can afford $500 Parking not interested in hitching

Precisely and then those cheapos want to sit behind in their Audi A6, Merc E class, etc. Who want to be treated as a driver? Fark that!

Put chiobu photo chance higher  :XD:

I suspect: people who can afford $500 Parking not interested in hitching

True also, if the person who can afford to drive to work while working in cbd would not be interested in hitching at all, all should be high earners and drive nice and expensive cars which they dont want strangers to sit in their car.

Two days in a row I hitched an OL I hitched some time ago.

She sat in front and responds to chatting.

Scent smells nice too. Really brings up the spirit in the morning.

One issue.. Still have the princess syndrome that needs to be informed beforehand I've arrived.

Edited by Solar

And abt $8-10 daily erp , :S

$10 erp + $20 Parking + $5 petrol

Haven't even add all the ownership costs

Take some joker pay $5

Hard lah hard lah :XD:

Hey. I got the same comments before. But of course the hitcher asked politely. I have to tell the hitcher...does someone drives a car that burns a litre of petrol per 7km drives for a living? Best part is in shirt and cuffs?

IMO some hitch drivers or Grab PHV cum hitch has spoilt the soup.

They stack to the max and have poor planning, with sole intention is to maximize the earnings.

I also get this question before.

They won't know the FC thing but I just told them I was bored alone loh..

If they have a fixated thinking, how u explain will not be able to convince them

Two days in a row I hitched an OL I hitched some time ago.

She sat in front and responds to chatting.

Scent smells nice too. Really brings up the spirit in the morning.

One issue.. Still have the princess syndrome that needs to be informed beforehand I've arrived.

What princess syndrome she has ah?

Need to inform her I've arrived so that she can come down.. Usually I've to wait a further 5 to 10 min.

So I know her pattern after about 6 times .. So I texted her I've arrived already. To date she has not been there before me.

Need to inform her I've arrived so that she can come down.. Usually I've to wait a further 5 to 10 min.

So I know her pattern after about 6 times .. So I texted her I've arrived already. To date she has not been there before me.

she can see you from the phone apps?  then confirm by looking out from the window that you have arrived  [laugh]