VES 2018

Fuelsaver

I no need to read LTA's long winded notice oso I know it says pay more $$$$.

Under VES elec plug in car oso considered not green. Piangzzz

I feel the government has not much interest in putting more electric vehicles on the roads because they are never gonna upset the Oil & Gas industry which Singapore heavily depend on. Probably just a scheme to portray they are a first world country with consideration for the environment thats all.

There is also suppose to be a electric car-sharing scheme out coming August but scaled down significantly. 

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/electric-car-sharing-scheme-set-for-aug-start

It will start with 10 to 20 cars in five to 10 locations, somewhat fewer than the 125 cars and 50 locations envisaged last June when the Government announced it had awarded the 10-year car-sharing contract to France's Bollore Group, the parent company of Blue Solutions.

Mr Vitte is, however, confident of having 1,000 cars across 500 locations in four years' time

We are always pay double tax lo ... like rental income we already pay property tax equal to 10% property value and the balance is taxable in our personal income tax !

Soon we will all kena pollution tax for farting too

Some countries take NOx intro consideration.

initially VES up COE down abit

left pocket to right pocket

when sinkies numb already

eventually VES up COE also up

both pockets also full

huat until siao ah!!!

initially VES up COE down abit

left pocket to right pocket

when sinkies numb already

eventually VES up COE also up

both pockets also full

huat until siao ah!!!

Between COE up or VES up, better for the former. At least paper value higher. VES no details yet but might be like CEVS, value vanish into thin air

Would you buy an Renault Zoe for 120k? Really I feel thats a lot to ask for even after the 20k rebate.

http://www.torque.com.sg/19161/lta-revises-electric-car-carbon-tax/

Electric cars are not cheap. BMW i3 is 3 Series price but less than 1 Series size.

There's why a lot of countries give huge rebates specifically for electric cars.

Edited by Benarsenal

Unless you really need an electric car, it's not going to sell.

You might as well import a Merc B 250e. Tesla engine pack.

if we buy a EV, 1st question is how are we gonna charge the EV? Majority of us stays in HDB, there will be difficult given the MSCP are not equipped with the charging station. 

If house owners wanna buy a EV...

1) Fix the charging station themselves - pay for it and probably what....need to apply for license to do up the charging station from HDB??

I don't know the procedure. In the end is about $$ again just to have a charging station.

2) HDB do up the charging station - again you think it will be free? If they do up the charging station, then the question is they do it for the whole sheltered MSCP? But not everyone buys a EV....so the cost how to allocate? Then there is the user - you charge you pay kinda of policy or it is directly billed to the household monthly electricity bill?

This infra need to be properly defined allocated fairly to consumers. this will take sometime - hence if you purchase a EV now, the above questions will bug you and you have no idea what will hit your wallet after paying over 100k for the EV...

Just my 2 cents of contribution...

EV car is the new status symbol lah. Means owner stay in landed, not condo or hdb. Haha.....

Would you buy an Renault Zoe for 120k? Really I feel thats a lot to ask for even after the 20k rebate.

http://www.torque.com.sg/19161/lta-revises-electric-car-carbon-tax/

You will only buy this because you support R&D. no economic and partical sense to talk. there are some charging stations in private shopping malls. i dont think normal average Joes will opt for this. i know of corporations that buy them to support.

EV car is the new status symbol lah. Means owner stay in landed, not condo or hdb. Haha.....

can lah.....but will see loooonnnnngggg cable dangling from the HDB units to the ground floor.....and see all cars park at the auxiliary way of the HDB estates.....hahhaha 

The problem with EV cars is that it takes some time to charge. There are people who says it is ok if you charge it over night but there will be problems too when you happen to be caught in between. At the same time, EV cars mostly do not cover more that 300 to 400 km I suppose.

Anyone knows of an EV car that can cover 500km per charge?.....my ride is 600km per tank mostly till the red light comes on.

The problem with EV cars is that it takes some time to charge. There are people who says it is ok if you charge it over night but there will be problems too when you happen to be caught in between. At the same time, EV cars mostly do not cover more that 300 to 400 km I suppose.

Anyone knows of an EV car that can cover 500km per charge?.....my ride is 600km per tank mostly till the red light comes on.

Currently, BMW i3 is sold with range extender.  There is no issue with flat battery.

Do you charge your mobile device everyday?

The use of EV will be like mobile device.

Not really... my condo is going to have charging station soon.

The management is looking into it liao.

LTA just can't accept that some vehicles are exempted from their tax scheme.

By doing this, LTA is double charging. You have already paid for your electricity, now you have to pay another tax on top of it just because you use it to charge a car.

I don't think it is double charging, just that need to pay a lot of different form of taxes

1st is tax on the for fuel / electricity 

2nd is tax on the emission/pollution 

The car can be a low fuel drinker but high emission due to poor combustion engine

Only thing is because Electric cars do not produce obvious emissions, they have to estimate the emissions from the source , which is the power plant and link it to the car horsepowerto charge this tax to be fair to its fuel counterpart..

But this will slow down the adoption of  EV & PHEV since there is not much cost benefit to switch due to the multitude of taxes where they are not exempted either

Currently, BMW i3 is sold with range extender.  There is no issue with flat battery.

Do you charge your mobile device everyday?

The use of EV will be like mobile device.

Yeah, Agree.......hope the i3 will be able to come cheap enough. I have EV cars here in China when I took PHV. They tell me each charge is around 1.5 to 2 hours........so some people still willing to take petrol or hybrid.

So it's about choice. I do charge my mobile phone daily but it is convenient enough for me to choose one with long talk time an at the same time, I station my chargers in office as well as carry my charging pack in my bag in case I have entertainment at night or dinner with colleagues in case I run out.