VES 2018

Fuelsaver

Electric cars are not cheap. BMW i3 is 3 Series price but less than 1 Series size.

There's why a lot of countries give huge rebates specifically for electric cars.

Yes, i3 is quite pricey, > $200k.

Can get a 1yo+  5 series for that money. 

if we buy a EV, 1st question is how are we gonna charge the EV? Majority of us stays in HDB, there will be difficult given the MSCP are not equipped with the charging station. 

If house owners wanna buy a EV...

1) Fix the charging station themselves - pay for it and probably what....need to apply for license to do up the charging station from HDB??

I don't know the procedure. In the end is about $$ again just to have a charging station.

2) HDB do up the charging station - again you think it will be free? If they do up the charging station, then the question is they do it for the whole sheltered MSCP? But not everyone buys a EV....so the cost how to allocate? Then there is the user - you charge you pay kinda of policy or it is directly billed to the household monthly electricity bill?

This infra need to be properly defined allocated fairly to consumers. this will take sometime - hence if you purchase a EV now, the above questions will bug you and you have no idea what will hit your wallet after paying over 100k for the EV...

Just my 2 cents of contribution...

Sadly for now HDB and majority of Condo dwellers will be struggle with this kind of facility. However the charging stations keep on increasing in the near future as seen map below. Red dot is for private condos.

1. Not necessary need to install a EV charger for house dweller. The car manufacture normally supply a normal type G charger just like your smart phone charger plug and charge. For HDB will be HDB policy of using public plug in their MSCP.

2. It's not free of charge. Electricity cost money as well. Previously they charge per hour and now they will implement into how many kwh you have draw. They all public chargers which need to sign up with a company call ChargeNow/Greenlots. Payment via credit card.

Check out your nearest charging station. http://chargenow.greenlots.com/ Have fun doing research!

post-108537-0-17100500-1499246106_thumb.png

Edited by Leafable

The problem with EV cars is that it takes some time to charge. There are people who says it is ok if you charge it over night but there will be problems too when you happen to be caught in between. At the same time, EV cars mostly do not cover more that 300 to 400 km I suppose.

Anyone knows of an EV car that can cover 500km per charge?.....my ride is 600km per tank mostly till the red light comes on.

Ask yourself whats your daily trip involve. If you just travel from Tempines to Tuas only need to cover 50km and back with 50km. Hardly using over 100km a day. Why do you need 400km range? It's the same logic as ICE car you wouldn't wait till the last drop of fuel then try to find a petrol station is it? All you need is to re-adjust your mentality if you commit to switch to full EV. Even the Grab EV taxi can survive with a 300km range car daily business.

If you travel more than 300km per trip then EV is not for you at the moment. The only cars that can cover more than 500km per charge are the new Tesla Model S 100 and Chevy Bolt for now.

Ask yourself whats your daily trip involve. If you just travel from Tempines to Tuas only need to cover 50km and back with 50km. Hardly using over 100km a day. Why do you need 400km range? It's the same logic as ICE car you wouldn't wait till the last drop of fuel then try to find a petrol station is it? All you need is to re-adjust your mentality if you commit to switch to full EV. Even the Grab EV taxi can survive with a 300km range car daily business.

If you travel more than 300km per trip then EV is not for you at the moment. The only cars that can cover more than 500km per charge are the new Tesla Model S 100 and Chevy Bolt for now.

True Bro, that was what I wanted to say for some of the bros out there. Maybe my England no good.... haha.

Nice to see you quote the two new models there.

Yep

The Chevy isn't a car .. its a battery on wheels :)

Currently, BMW i3 is sold with range extender.  There is no issue with flat battery.

Do you charge your mobile device everyday?

The use of EV will be like mobile device.

A cheaper alternative is the Nissan Note E-Power which is almost similar to the i3. EV performance (250Nm of torque [thumbsup] ) and averages out almost 30km/l in real world conditions. Number 1 selling car in Japan now.

HEVshop brought it in locally hope Tan Chong can do the same as well. Price around 100k last I checked.

Edited by kelaihoyin

EV will not be charged by owner lah. Owner just drive to battery station and swap with fully charged battery.

You all missed this part

http://www.sgcarmart.com/news/article.php?AID=16523

Many 2001 onwards COE car will tio.... no mention of what happens when they fail though. Not like it's something that can even be fixed (even after spending big $$$ too). 

GG liao for those cars. 

The Straits Times understands that existing vehicles will be able to meet the heightened inspection standards as long as they are well maintained with proper and regularly servicing.

Currently, BMW i3 is sold with range extender.  There is no issue with flat battery.

Do you charge your mobile device everyday?

The use of EV will be like mobile device.

Yes I do charge my mobile device everyday. Cos iPhone battery life is sibeh jialat...

Yeah, Agree.......hope the i3 will be able to come cheap enough. I have EV cars here in China when I took PHV. They tell me each charge is around 1.5 to 2 hours........so some people still willing to take petrol or hybrid.

So it's about choice. I do charge my mobile phone daily but it is convenient enough for me to choose one with long talk time an at the same time, I station my chargers in office as well as carry my charging pack in my bag in case I have entertainment at night or dinner with colleagues in case I run out.

True. To charge a mobile phone is very easy. You just need a USB port connected to a power source. This can be computer, car or power socket, which are literally everywhere.

Electric cars are different. They need specialised charging places, which are not common place yet.

I think one possible way is to have a charging point at every petrol station. That will instantly boost the EV infrastructure exponentially.

I think part of the problem is also charging time. For a normal car even if you run out of fuel, pumping petrol takes 5-10 mins at the station at most. But recharging an electric car takes a couple of hours at least. Not everybody has the time to wait.

Basically to drive an EV requires quite a fair bit of planning.

I don't think it is double charging, just that need to pay a lot of different form of taxes

1st is tax on the for fuel / electricity

2nd is tax on the emission/pollution

The car can be a low fuel drinker but high emission due to poor combustion engine

Only thing is because Electric cars do not produce obvious emissions, they have to estimate the emissions from the source , which is the power plant and link it to the car horsepowerto charge this tax to be fair to its fuel counterpart..

But this will slow down the adoption of EV & PHEV since there is not much cost benefit to switch due to the multitude of taxes where they are not exempted either

"to be fair"...

Actually, how is this fair? Not to rehash the poor Tesla guys argument, but how is the car buyer responsible for the gahmen's poor choice of power generation method?

What happens if he goes full solar and off the grid? This tax becomes a nonsense, right?

What if the gahmen discovers they previously underestimated their emissions from power generation? They levy more tax on the car owner for their shortcomings?

Not really... my condo is going to have charging station soon.

The management is looking into it liao.

hope they dont just listen to saleman talk but find out more. there are various type of charging pins and your system is not part of the NEA network, so alzo need to look into how to charge users. it will end up for 1 user. that person proposing it. hahaha 

True. To charge a mobile phone is very easy. You just need a USB port connected to a power source. This can be computer, car or power socket, which are literally everywhere.

Electric cars are different. They need specialised charging places, which are not common place yet.

I think one possible way is to have a charging point at every petrol station. That will instantly boost the EV infrastructure exponentially.

I think part of the problem is also charging time. For a normal car even if you run out of fuel, pumping petrol takes 5-10 mins at the station at most. But recharging an electric car takes a couple of hours at least. Not everybody has the time to wait.

You are suggestion a solution and then quoting the obvious problem of that solution. [bounce1]

There is no way charging ports are feasible in petrol stations if charging takes a few hours. You expect the car owners to park their rides and come back after a few hours or the next day to collect the car? And the petrol stations would be losing valuable retail space just to cater for a few charging ports as the monetary returns are very low compare to petrol, with few transactions possible per charging port per day.

So I don't expect that to happen lah.

Yes I do charge my mobile device everyday. Cos iPhone battery life is sibeh jialat...

Basically to drive an EV requires quite a fair bit of planning.

"specialised charging places"? Looks like the general public are still lack knowledge of how EV charging work. To make it very simple term is all you need is this in your car park.

72220.jpg

It doesn't matter what or where the car park is, as long as you have this normal power point your are good to charge your electric car without the need and "specialist place or equipments" to charge your EV.

Malaysia did tried install charging point in the forecourt. No very successful idea.

17438766_729581680548386_861554372104945

Do you keep your engine running when you park at the HDB/Condo/Office while you having your lunch/dinner/dump/work? Same logic apply to EV when you park up plug it in the socket. And you off to do your business. 2-8 hours later all fully charged when you return to your car. Unless you are taxi/delivery driver thats a different scenario. Even this Grab survive with full EV.

HDT-GrabCar.jpg

Point is you don't need an EV that can charge in 5 minutes for day to day life. Unless you are doing long distance travel everyday like drive all the way to KL. Even long distance do have a solution with current EV. Take Renault Zoe new 400km range EV capable of non stop travel to KL and find a 22kw or faster DC 43kw charger to charge the car in less than an hour while you having lunch or dinner.

EV come from a long way since 2010 Nissan Leaf. They already have batteries that capable of produce 500km range as well as charge up in less than 5 minutes. It's use matter of the mainstream manufacture will buy the technology or still hanging on to oil company tits.

You are suggestion a solution and then quoting the obvious problem of that solution. [bounce1]

There is no way charging ports are feasible in petrol stations if charging takes a few hours. You expect the car owners to park their rides and come back after a few hours or the next day to collect the car? And the petrol stations would be losing valuable retail space just to cater for a few charging ports as the monetary returns are very low compare to petrol, with few transactions possible per charging port per day.

So I don't expect that to happen lah.

Tesla supercharger is able to charge from almost zero to full in 75 mins.

It is 85% full within 1 hr.

Well, these charging can be located any car park.  Once finish meal, car also full full hor.

Read up more on charging of electric car.

Tesla supercharger is able to charge from almost zero to full in 75 mins.

It is 85% full within 1 hr.

Well, these charging can be located any car park.  Once finish meal, car also full full hor.

Read up more on charging of electric car.

The context here is having charging ports in petrol station, not any car park.

If charging can be very fast with no special equipment but just a general ac socket as put forth by Leafable, then really no need to put the charging ports in petrol stations.

The context here is having charging ports in petrol station, not any car park.

If charging can be very fast with no special equipment but just a general ac socket as put forth by Leafable, then really no need to put the charging ports in petrol stations.

Why not?

There are some petrol station next to hawker centre.

high traffic places with limited parking space are only suitable to do battery swaps.