Android Phones

zipping

On 7/14/2023 at 8:08 PM, Lala81 said:

One thing that's bit annoying is that they haven't switched to usb c for entry level xiaomi and oppo. 

A17k and a17 are the cheapest oppo phones locally. 

I gave my toddler A17k to play with. He's very rough with the phone, but he knows how to charge it by pushing the connector in. Big problem is the USB micro port, he will push in USB-C cable, regardless.

But the phone is still surviving. He dumped it in water once, now it has warped in the centre, dunno what he does, but still working. 

I feel that Oppo really has good quality ( toddler-proof ? 😁 ), although they tend to be more expensive.

Edited by Kb27

On 7/14/2023 at 10:47 PM, Kb27 said:

Now, I switched to Oppo and OnePlus.

Except, I had problem with the Emergency call. Their apps, under Locked screen allows you to call 999 with 2 press of a button. My toddler called 3x already 999. Of cuz, I had to Lock the screen, but that created another stupid problem, I can't get rid of. It may be due to Google Android 12 or 13, I'm not sure.

Like that means oppo phone good or no good? 😅

Thank you all for the suggestions. 

Went with Samsung A14 5g. Vs oppo a17. 

They are all relatively Similarly powered with a mediatek mt 6765 roughly thereabouts processor. 

Pros - usb c just easy to insert cable for Lao hua (I can't imagine not having usb c in this age). Super battery life. Cheaper with 4gb/128gb. 

Cons - comes without wall charger and cheap silicon case (supplied cable is usb c to usb c). Doesn't have FM radio (the oppo has), but never seen my mum use it on the go anyway. 

I bought a cheap safety mark 20 watt UK plug wall charger (usb a and usb c outputs) and a cheapo silicon case from china. Total outlay is 181. 

On 7/15/2023 at 8:54 AM, Lala81 said:

Thank you all for the suggestions. 

Went with Samsung A14 5g. Vs oppo a17. 

They are all relatively Similarly powered with a mediatek mt 6765 roughly thereabouts processor. 

Pros - usb c just easy to insert cable for Lao hua (I can't imagine not having usb c in this age). Super battery life. Cheaper with 4gb/128gb. 

Cons - comes without wall charger and cheap silicon case (supplied cable is usb c to usb c). Doesn't have FM radio (the oppo has), but never seen my mum use it on the go anyway. 

I bought a cheap safety mark 20 watt UK plug wall charger (usb a and usb c outputs) and a cheapo silicon case from china. Total outlay is 181. 

You can install an internet radio. There are dialects broadcasting station available. As for charging can consider wireless charging.

On 7/15/2023 at 11:55 AM, Kopites said:

You can install an internet radio. There are dialects broadcasting station available. As for charging can consider wireless charging.

So cheap phone got wireless charging? 

OK lah. My mums requirement was just the cheapest phone lol. Just tt my sister asked me so I went to do some research. 

I just had an S20+ LCD replaced over the weekend as a green vertical line appeared this week. According to the repair shop staff, this model tends to have more such cases. I guess it's that batch of LCD produced. I was told to avoid dropping the phone. 🤷‍♂️

On 7/19/2023 at 10:11 AM, Didu said:

I was told to avoid dropping the phone. 🤷‍♂️

Duh!

Pity them if that's their best advise.

On 7/20/2023 at 8:15 PM, Lala81 said:

Got the phone and tested the charger. 

Lol using a budget phone vs a flagship quite different. 

IMG20230720173810_4FCXpnTq52.jpeg

What is the different le? From the box, this phone looks like not that bad la.

On 7/20/2023 at 9:42 PM, 13177 said:

budget phone is slower, so you have to talk slower

On 7/20/2023 at 10:44 PM, Kb27 said:

budget phone is slower, so you have to talk slower

Nowadays many people use phone to whatapps and use apps, seldom talk on phone liao.

On 7/20/2023 at 9:42 PM, 13177 said:

Lag lor.

I was just doing some of the pre install stuff like remove unwanted apps functions etc. 

Its pretty decent for 168 dollars. But the smoothness and lag time cannot compare la. 

On 7/21/2023 at 8:38 AM, Lala81 said:

Lag lor.

I was just doing some of the pre install stuff like remove unwanted apps functions etc. 

Its pretty decent for 168 dollars. But the smoothness and lag time cannot compare la. 

Is this the cheapest decent android phone that you can find for $168?

Anyway, think for just using whatapp and taking photo should not be too lag right.

My trusty op7t suddenly unable to boot. So much for being trusty. It was still running smooth before the boot loop.

Got another op Nord ce3 lite at around $300. No complaint as my usage is quite light.

On 7/21/2023 at 8:38 AM, Lala81 said:

Lag lor.

6gb ram for A14 right, shouldn't be that bad.