Android Phones

zipping

On 7/21/2023 at 3:13 PM, Dafansu said:

6gb ram for A14 right, shouldn't be that bad. 

4gb only. a23 i tink got 6gb option but that makes it very close to a base a34 in price. basically no point lah.
Either get A14 or A34. 

On 7/21/2023 at 3:30 PM, 13177 said:

So how many ram then really lag ar?

i actually typed a long post replying u this morning. Then i accidentally pressed back page. Can't be bothered to retype.

the processor in a14 clocks an antutu score of around 160-170k. My SD888+ previous generation flagship from 2 years ago is around 700k. A current SD8 gen 2/3 will clock in around 900k to 1 million.
It doesnt scale like that. But if u run stuff in the background like downloading apps, then it will lag a bit lor. everything is just bit laggy. 

Whereas for a near flagship phone, basically downloading/installing stuff etc, u feel close to negligble difference in your UI performance unless u are doing something intensive. 

Ok lah. it's not a big deal. Most things still run ok. But everything swipes or moves/loads slower. 

My S9+ had 8gb of ram. Me and the missus phone has 12gb now. I think for android. Minimum 8 and preferably 12gb is a good number to have and relatively future proof. My phone is already about 1 year old liao. Think can keep for quite a while.

Apple has a much more efficient OS, so they can tahan lower ram.

these days, I'll say no 6GB RAM no talk. 

On 7/21/2023 at 4:18 PM, Lala81 said:

4gb only. a23 i tink got 6gb option but that makes it very close to a base a34 in price. basically no point lah.
Either get A14 or A34. 

4GB even faster than my 3GB ram phone that i am using now. 😅

Either get A14 or A34. 

But the price difference between A14 and A34 is double right.

Either get A14 or A34. 

Local a14 are using the mediatek CPU?  I think the exynos a14 would be slightly faster..

On 7/21/2023 at 4:38 PM, 13177 said:

But the price difference between A14 and A34 is double right.

yup. It's a big jump. In between, u have to go for a xiaomi note 12 export set which sorta straddles the price range.
But that has some features which u pay for that are irrelevant to my mother lah. Like a higher refresh screen. 

Basically shop around the 150-200 dollar range. Or Go up to the 300+ range already. 

If u are a more heavy user of your phone. I think an A54 will cover most of your needs for 3-4 years. But that's at the high 400/500 category.

On 7/21/2023 at 4:43 PM, Tkseah said:

Local a14 are using the mediatek CPU?  I think the exynos a14 would be slightly faster..

haha yes the exynos is supposedly faster. 

Lol i totally forgot about this. I have to check but i didn't bother cos ultimately it will end up with my mum. I will check tomorrow and update here. 

The budget phone category. The advertisements locally just don't give a crap about the actual specs other than storage or ram. Cos they need the ram size to justify the price. I've not seen any local seller or even samsung singapore list what processor the local a14s are using. As they know 99.9% of the buyers of these phones, dont care.

android phone must get 6gb and above, if not confirm can feel the lag. 

On 7/21/2023 at 4:45 PM, Lala81 said:

yup. It's a big jump. In between, u have to go for a xiaomi note 12 export set which sorta straddles the price range.
But that has some features which u pay for that are irrelevant to my mother lah. Like a higher refresh screen. 

Basically shop around the 150-200 dollar range. Or Go up to the 300+ range already. 

If u are a more heavy user of your phone. I think an A54 will cover most of your needs for 3-4 years. But that's at the high 400/500 category.

Why you didn’t consider vivo brand? Think vivo also have below $200 phone.

On 7/21/2023 at 6:08 PM, 13177 said:

Why you didn’t consider vivo brand? Think vivo also have below $200 phone.

They tend to have only 3gb/64gb ROM at the equivalent price range. Need to go up to around 200 dollars to get slightly better specs.

The a14 has 4gb ram/128gb rom and very crucially, USB-C.

On 7/21/2023 at 6:42 PM, Lala81 said:

They tend to have only 3gb/64gb ROM at the equivalent price range. Need to go up to around 200 dollars to get slightly better specs.

The a14 has 4gb ram/128gb rom and very crucially, USB-C.

I now only buy things with usb c charging port, more convenient, But concern with ss is the green lines,

On 7/21/2023 at 7:01 PM, Kb27 said:

I now only buy things with usb c charging port, more convenient, But concern with ss is the green lines,

The green lines affect all samsung phones? Even the lower spec model?

warning for Huawei Mate20pro users (if there are still any?)

monday 17jul i received an OTA noitification to update my phone ... which i did.

on wednesday 19 jul, when i tried totop up my shopeepay balance, i found out that i could nolonger access my OCBC online banking account !

when i logged in, i was promted with a message that the app was trying to re-establish the onetoken that was "previously" set up on my phone.

however, it could not. then when i tried to generate a token from the app, it responded that there was a "security risk detected" !!

i felt cold immediately and quickly rush downstairs to the atm to check my account ... luckily everything is still there.

i left a message with OCBC and they called me back and we came to a conclusion that my phone was nolonger compatible with their app.

they proposed to revert my access back to the sms verification system - but the catch was, no settings function will be available.

so i just told them i would just re-install the app and the onetoken on my backup poco phone instead and it is working again.

so now my huawei become my backup phone.

On 7/21/2023 at 8:07 PM, 13177 said:

my sister waited until her note20 got 7 green lines then change to the S23 ultra (when it came out) !

• Shocked 2

On 7/21/2023 at 8:07 PM, 13177 said:

not sure. my wife ss note 9 got green lines and i read can use 3rd party app to control brightness. i did that, the green lines disappear. how could this be software problem ? it seems like hardware issue.

not long after it died.

On 7/21/2023 at 9:10 PM, Ysc3 said:

my sister waited until her note20 got 7 green lines then change to the S23 ultra (when it came out) !

7 green lines!!! Did she dropped her phone? Maybe only affect Note.

Edited by 13177