Reckless Cyclist

Brock

Well said !! hahahha

I had a joker who insisted that I am cruel cos I suggested that all bicycles needs to be registered to be on public roads ...

These jokers only wants things that is towards their advantage but when others wants to level the field , they will come out with all kinds of extreme examples to show why it should not be done ....

This is the joker who still insist that you are cruel. 

Am sorry , if he cannot afford to pay to get his bicycle registered , then he will have to spend more time taking the bus . Isn't it the same for people who cannot afford paying for COE to buy cars / motorcycles ?? Does it means that our government will have to give out free COE to the lower income groups so that they can buy cars to shorten their travelling time ?

I have never mentioned or think that drivers or motorists obeys rules better than cyclists . There will always be the law abiding drivers / motorists and drivers / motorists who dun obeys traffic rules . But all vehicles on public roads are registered and ID , so why should bicycles / e bikes be any different ?

Mind you, LTA has said that "Having exempted bicycles from registration requirements in Singapore since 1982, its re-introduction will not only be viewed as regressive but will also unnecessarily subject bicycle owners to onerous requirements."

http://cyclinginsingapore.blogspot.in/2010/04/rejects-call-to-register-bikes-straits.html

City for People.

Actually, we should have air condition travellator around the island.

I spotted a cyclist at KPE (near PIE exit, towards TPE) yesterday evening. Are cyclists allowed to ride there?

If on the expressway itself, then definitely not allowed there. 

They are just lazy to implement.

Today ST forum page Kenna shoot by 2 writers.

They are trying to promote cycling. The last thing they want to do is implement something that will discourage people from taking up cycling. I don't think LTA will want to regress and start registering cyclists/bicycles anytime in the near future.

They are just lazy to implement.

Today ST forum page Kenna shoot by 2 writers.

We can't start implementing cycling licence just like motorcycle and car license.

Lta already explained it, and I would like to add on. The main thing is its really not feasible. 2ND is the cost. Don't you all keep complaint price of things keep going up? Believe me or not with implementing cycling licence, cost of cycling will goes up tremendously. Many people cycle for just for recreational, with cost of cycling rise tremendously, it may put off those recreational cyclist. Cost of bicycles will goes up, rental of bicycles will goes up.

The current situation now is that, we cannot because of small % of rotten apples to determine the fate of cost of riding a bicycle. Imagine living in Singapore already so stress, give and take la. Give and take is the best solution now. Anyway, we can't stop stupidity people to do stupid things that put them in danger as no matter what we do, these stupid people will somehow still find a way to do stupid things that lead to their fate.

Edited by Yewheng

We can't start implementing cycling licence just like motorcycle and car license.

Lta already explained it, and I would like to add on. The main thing is its really not feasible. 2ND is the cost. Don't you all keep complaint price of things keep going up? Believe me or not with implementing cycling licence, cost of cycling will goes up tremendously. Many people cycle for just for recreational, with cost of cycling rise tremendously, it may put off those recreational cyclist. Cost of bicycles will goes up, rental of bicycles will goes up.

The current situation now is that, we cannot because of small % of rotten apples to determine the fate of cost of riding a bicycle. Imagine living in Singapore already so stress, give and take la. Give and take is the best solution now. Anyway, we can't stop stupidity people to do stupid things that put them in danger as no matter what we do, these stupid people will somehow still find a way to do stupid things that lead to their fate.

And why is it not feasible and what is the cost ?

The government always encourage SME to increase productivity.   I am sure LTA would be able to be productive for this matter and thus be cost effective.

P.S.   No point stating cost when the cost is unknown.

There are bicycles being chained to the public bicycle posts in HDB areas which are left to rust with tyre deflated i.e unused.  Perhaps if owners are made to pay,  these bicycles will be properly discarded. 

P.S. Small % of rotten apples - Go to "red" bridge linking between Lor Halus Wetland and Punggol Promenade.   There is a sign which says something like dismount and push.   A large % don't do that. 

Edited by Kklee

And why is it not feasible and what is the cost ?

The government always encourage SME to increase productivity. I am sure LTA would be able to be productive for this matter and thus be cost effective.

P.S. No point stating cost when the cost is unknown.

There are bicycles being chained to the public bicycle posts in HDB areas which are left to rust with tyre deflated i.e unused. Perhaps if owners are made to pay, these bicycles will be properly discarded.

Not feasible is because, you see are, cyclist are those who start from as young as age of 5 or 6 till 70plus yrs old. There are simply too many people to start giving out license in the 1St place. Plus, even if implementation of license, there will still be a lot of people who will die die not take license and still continue to cycle. Who the hell will want to pay a few hundreds to take cyclist lesson, theory and then test especially for some cyclist are quite poor. There are a lot of blanglar workers who cycle for commuting to work. What about kids that is below 12 yrs old? Force them to take license? Even if they pass license does not mean they will not do stupid things. A lot of things are common sense. No need to take theory people also know. It is the stupidly that kills, you can't stop people from be or act stupid while cycling. Also what are the government going to do with those bicycle that is out in Singapore now? All no license plate. To install license plate need $ who going to pay for that? What about foreigners? Cannot be they come to singapore for a short stay and they want to cycle in Singapore for maybe half a day or for a short period of time also need license?

2ND cost will goes up tremendously is because, when there is license for cyclist. Sale of bicycles will go down, cycling will not longer be recreational activities for poor people. Bicycle will also need to earn money, they will sure up the price as now is all the rich cyclist who don't mind paying. Actually now also the same rich cyclist dont mind paying for expensive bikes, but with extra license, bike shop need to fit in license plate and and also other documentation cost that drive up the cost of selling bicycles. Rental for bicycle will goes up because poorer people who never take license will not be allowed to cycle, so now left those rich people. And then those rich cyclist will of coz have their own bicycle. So what happen is that a lot bicycle rental shop will close down and left with a few who will charge high price for rental which some rich people still don't mind paying at the last minute.

3Rd, implementing cycling license only drives up government expenses and waste government resources. Imagine need to set up cycling schools, infrastructure, hiring people and etc which as of currently we are actually quite fine without cycling license now in the 1St place. It will indirectly affect us even with those who do not cycle as government will find ways to earn back they on what they spent.

It's really not a good idea to implement cycling license in the 1St place. Give and take will be the best solution now.

There is one saying, when we ask more of government to do something that need government to increase in budget spending. Government will find ways to tax us back as they need to collect more revenue in order to be sustainable.

So well, if we all wish to have cycling licence to be implemented, then don't complaint that, eh, cycling cost goes up the roof, what? For a family of 5 need to pay 1k plus for the stupid license just for cycling? What!! increase in tax again !! and etc.

Edited by Yewheng

OUR GOV POLICY , no money to make mostly not  feasible.

got tax and income, any plan also  feasible

You are correct in some sense. It is not feasible to run into budget deficit, plus increase in government spending will led to they will tax us back in some other ways. Who will like it? No one want to be taxed, plus many people are not earning a lot, the last thing they wish to hear is, government going to increase GST, government going to increase taxes and etc.

Not feasible is because, you see are, cyclist are those who start from as young as age of 5 or 6 till 70plus yrs old. There are simply too many people to start giving out license in the 1St place. Plus, even if implementation of license, there will still be a lot of people who will die die not take license and still continue to cycle. Who the hell will want to pay a few hundreds to take cyclist lesson, theory and then test especially for some cyclist are quite poor. There are a lot of blanglar workers who cycle for commuting to work. What about kids that is below 12 yrs old? Force them to take license? Even if they pass license does not mean they will not do stupid things. A lot of things are common sense. No need to take theory people also know. It is the stupidly that kills, you can't stop people from be or act stupid while cycling. Also what are the government going to do with those bicycle that is out in Singapore now? All no license plate. To install license plate need $ who going to pay for that? What about foreigners? Cannot be they come to singapore for a short stay and they want to cycle in Singapore for maybe half a day or for a short period of time also need license?

2ND cost will goes up tremendously is because, when there is license for cyclist. Sale of bicycles will go down, cycling will not longer be recreational activities for poor people. Bicycle will also need to earn money, they will sure up the price as now is all the rich cyclist who don't mind paying. Actually now also the same rich cyclist dont mind paying for expensive bikes, but with extra license, bike shop need to fit in license plate and and also other documentation cost that drive up the cost of selling bicycles. Rental for bicycle will goes up because poorer people who never take license will not be allowed to cycle, so now left those rich people. And then those rich cyclist will of coz have their own bicycle. So what happen is that a lot bicycle rental shop will close down and left with a few who will charge high price for rental which some rich people still don't mind paying at the last minute.

3Rd, implementing cycling license only drives up government expenses and waste government resources. Imagine need to set up cycling schools, infrastructure, hiring people and etc which as of currently we are actually quite fine without cycling license now in the 1St place. It will indirectly affect us even with those who do not cycle as government will find ways to earn back they on what they spent.

It's really not a good idea to implement cycling license in the 1St place. Give and take will be the best solution now.

There is one saying, when we ask more of government to do something that need government to increase in budget spending. Government will find ways to tax us back as they need to collect more revenue in order to be sustainable.

So well, if we all wish to have cycling licence to be implemented, then don't complaint that, eh, cycling cost goes up the roof, what? For a family of 5 need to pay 1k plus for the stupid license just for cycling? What!! increase in tax again !! and etc.

Your assumptions are at the extreme end. 

How much does the driving license cost now ?

How much is the vehicle registration ?

Both add up for 5 pax, less than 1k ?

Anyway, we can't stop stupidity people to do stupid things that put them in danger as no matter what we do, these stupid people will somehow still find a way to do stupid things that lead to their fate.

Who cares about stupid people doing themselves in ? I certainly don't. Most people are concerned about this issue because they feel that unregulated cyclists pose a danger to other road users.

The problem is we cannot just implement something just because of a small minority of rotten apples that pose a danger to road users. Yes every life is important, but if everything little things goes regulated, it will only drive up cost and hinder progress. Sometimes it is best to leave it as it is if it. If go kay kiang and go regulate there will be no ending one.

post-14834-0-08225700-1455376046_thumb.png

Picture tells a thousands words. Excessive regulations is good? No man.

Edited by Yewheng

You are right. We can't stop stupid people from stupid things. But when it affect others around them then it matters.

Talk is free. When something happened to someone close to you and it's caused by a reckless cyclist, surely you want some accountability? And not just that person riding away with absolutely no responsibility.

天下无难事,只怕有心人。

Edited by Fcw75