Reckless Cyclist

Brock

image.png.adc077e79d7a9b6435e6b84e1fd76a5e.png

can be done easily & nicely. 

how i wish old man still around to make this go through, we need some 1 who dun give a fark to amdk

Edited by Beregond

16 hours ago, inlinesix said:

I have an 8" inch tyre folding bike which i cycle on the road.

What you suggested is good till how it is to be implemented.  Just look at PMD.

Ah Kong definitely can hire a lot of enforcement officer since a lot of ppl are unemployed.

We can debate this problem till cow come home  but there will be no outcome. The authority must start from somewhere by creating public awanrness, good riding mannerism, safety awareness, and this cannot be just to the cyclists community but also all the road users especially the drivers. Only if all these are done but still ineffective, then they should think about enforcement. 

1 hour ago, Ct3833 said:

We can debate this problem till cow come home  but there will be no outcome. The authority must start from somewhere by creating public awanrness, good riding mannerism, safety awareness, and this cannot be just to the cyclists community but also all the road users especially the drivers. Only if all these are done but still ineffective, then they should think about enforcement. 

I thought all these have been tried before? 

Just last evening, 2 leotard cyclists cycling side by side with very dim back lights and wearing black, in heavy traffic along upp Bk Timah. Why? Cos no blood to their brains?

13 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

I thought all these have been tried before? 

Just last evening, 2 leotard cyclists cycling side by side with very dim back lights and wearing black, in heavy traffic along upp Bk Timah. Why? Cos no blood to their brains?

alot of them dun drive, they dun know road condition from driver pov,

thats why they need go through a basic course and test for them at least to have basic knowledge of the traffic rules and law, and to better enable vehicle to share the road with them

36 minutes ago, Beregond said:

thats why they need go through a basic course and test for them at least to have basic knowledge of the traffic rules and law, and to better enable vehicle to share the road with them

Similarly, a lot of drivers don't cycle on the road.

Should they be cycling on the road to understand cyclist POV?

1 minute ago, Hamburger said:

I used to cycle as a hobby.

Stopped cos I am a chicken, unless I cycle off the tiger mouth road. 

Wake up early and cycle lo

or 

Cycle midnight.

There are a few of us here who cycle really early like 4am, 5am or 6am.

2 minutes ago, Hamburger said:

I used to cycle as a hobby.

Stopped cos I am a chicken, unless I cycle off the tiger mouth road. 

i still cycle but not on the road. 

now cycle at park and connector.

i also become chicken. day time cycle on road is extremely hard, only time is night time, but i need sleep at night , not like old time....

2 hours ago, Beregond said:

image.png.adc077e79d7a9b6435e6b84e1fd76a5e.png

can be done easily & nicely. 

how i wish old man still around to make this go through, we need some 1 who dun give a fark to amdk

My first bike had it back in the 70's ; Had to bring it to ROV (back then in Queen Street) image.png.d1bb4224b2c1cfca198ceaa8baf014cb.pngand was some nominal charges and they stamp on the frame (to prevent theft) too ; I guess its not possible with today's carbon bikes of course , but aluminium and steel (not sure about titanium) 

Edited by BanCoe

18 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

Wake up early and cycle lo

or 

Cycle midnight.

There are a few of us here who cycle really early like 4am, 5am or 6am.

i usually do at 5am and its a breeze...... but lately some lower back issues so I dont ride road bike any more much, just a regular MTB (better road handling and grip though speed compromised) 

22 hours ago, yishunite said:

Road tax obvs dont have to be car level, but enough to acknowledge they are contributing to road usage and therefore shld contribute to upkeep of traffic lights, lane markings, etc. Plus all our leotard riding friends spend actually hundreds if not thousands on their biking hobby, Grabpandas earn actual living from their bikes... not saying something like $50/year really going to kill them

Agreed on identification... we already did it for PMDs so why bikes exempted?

$50 a year is actually quite expensive, nearing the yearly road tax of about $60+ for a 2B motorcycle. You get an engine with a motorcycle, but you dont get one in a bicycle. Moreover, bicycle cannot propel itself (lets not bring in trailers) , so it cannot pay road tax under LTAs definition.

Registration and license tax is ok though, at probably $5 per year.

Edited by Brass

2 hours ago, inlinesix said:

Similarly, a lot of drivers don't cycle on the road.

Should they be cycling on the road to understand cyclist POV?

No need lah. Just squeeze into leotards can understand them 100%!

And what's there to understand about being an a$$? 

2 hours ago, Beregond said:

Actually a lot do drive. 

My riding groups 100% drivers. 

I do agree cycling on road should understand basic theory. 

Then will have lot of delivery electric cyclist will complain they cannot take basic theory etc.... 

55 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

No need lah. Just squeeze into leotards can understand them 100%!

And what's there to understand about being an a$$? 

Are you able to squeeze into cycling bibs?

My invitation to you to cycle together on the road still valid hor.

Edited by inlinesix

13 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

Are you able to squeeze into cycling bibs?

My invitation to you to cycle together on the road still valid hor.

Thanks but no thanks. I don't trust other drivers (in Singapore) with my life. I have nothing to prove.

There are other forms of exercises I can do, like stationary rowing (which ican be pretty intense - no cruising throughout), swimming etc.

1 hour ago, Atonchia said:

Actually a lot do drive. 

My riding groups 100% drivers. 

I do agree cycling on road should understand basic theory. 

Then will have lot of delivery electric cyclist will complain they cannot take basic theory etc.... 

Regularly, video of reckless cyclist are shot during Daytime.

These riders might not understand Basic Theory.

On the other hand, regular riders who understand Basic Theory will try to avoid fighting for the same space with Drivers during Daytime.