Gizmore Supercharged May 10, 2021 Share May 10, 2021 On 5/6/2021 at 5:52 PM, Beregond said: saw this accident sometime back. so this is how it happen I was stunted several times by cyclists in such situations as well. Fortunate for me I didn't run them down. Rule of thumb when ruling into such lanes is to go slow and prepare to stop. It could be a cyclist, pedestrian crossing or even drivers unloading their goods from vehicle. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic May 10, 2021 Share May 10, 2021 7 minutes ago, Gizmore said: I was stunted several times by cyclists in such situations as well. Fortunate for me I didn't run them down. Rule of thumb when ruling into such lanes is to go slow and prepare to stop. It could be a cyclist, pedestrian crossing or even drivers unloading their goods from vehicle. From Sims Way (Nicoll Highway), turn right into Geylang Road. After that, turn right into Lor 3 Geylang Road. That's the best place to test situational awareness. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic May 10, 2021 Share May 10, 2021 (edited) 29 minutes ago, Gizmore said: I was stunted several times by cyclists in such situations as well. Fortunate for me I didn't run them down. Rule of thumb when ruling into such lanes is to go slow and prepare to stop. It could be a cyclist, pedestrian crossing or even drivers unloading their goods from vehicle. actually he can see the way is clear. but he never imagine the cyclist speed out from the white car bind spot, i dun think this cyclist spot the van also, cos his view is block. but he still cycle out full speed despite in the wrong direction. dun know how is he going to pay the van for the damages Edited May 10, 2021 by Beregond Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gizmore Supercharged May 10, 2021 Share May 10, 2021 5 hours ago, Beregond said: actually he can see the way is clear. but he never imagine the cyclist speed out from the white car bind spot, i dun think this cyclist spot the van also, cos his view is block. but he still cycle out full speed despite in the wrong direction. dun know how is he going to pay the van for the damages Don't think the van driver saw the cyclist until very late. Me thinks likely the van driver is chioning or was trying to figure out which lane to turn before that. probably spotted the lane to turn late and just turn in at last minute. Hence miss the cyclist. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic May 10, 2021 Share May 10, 2021 22 minutes ago, Gizmore said: Don't think the van driver saw the cyclist until very late. Me thinks likely the van driver is chioning or was trying to figure out which lane to turn before that. probably spotted the lane to turn late and just turn in at last minute. Hence miss the cyclist. if the cyclist is a under insured motorcycle instead of a bicycle. it will be 100% claim on the motorcycle. including inj suffer by the van driver and 100% full claim on lost of use. but now it become opposite, because the bicycle is not insured. 100% claim become 0 claim and still need to pay money . a few months pay could be lost from the van driver pocket, and there would be less food on the table for the van family. haiz.......... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jellandross Supersonic May 10, 2021 Share May 10, 2021 (edited) Eeeer... Why he like to smell other men backside? Edited May 10, 2021 by Jellandross 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged May 10, 2021 Share May 10, 2021 6 hours ago, Jellandross said: Eeeer... Why he like to smell other men backside? This fella, Calvin Sim is a national athlete who won the gold medal for track cycling during the 2017 SEA games. They are doing motor pacing training as there isn't a velodrome here. So this guy, for once, isn't a Tour De France wannabe. SG Road Vagina, should clarify in this Facebook post then just leave it as it is just for sensationalism. Got the cheek to tag SG Cycling Federation in the same post, so obviously the admin knows he's a national cyclist doing training loops along Seletar North but choose to leave it out of context. Hey, SG Road Vagina admin, if you're reading this, go F yourself okay? 7 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic May 11, 2021 Share May 11, 2021 we going to need all the help to push this through, may the force be with us https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/rule-road-cyclists-ride-single-file-all-times-being-studied-chee-hong-tat?fbclid=IwAR0Owk1NpzyrnII6gs4urftDgXohTVNm9s6I6eAS9-VllBGDqHgI3k57aJI SINGAPORE — A government panel is studying whether cyclists should be required to ride in a single file at all times while on the roads, rather than two abreast, Senior Minister of State for Transport Chee Hong Tat said on Tuesday 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic May 11, 2021 Share May 11, 2021 14 hours ago, Lethalstrike said: This fella, Calvin Sim is a national athlete who won the gold medal for track cycling during the 2017 SEA games. They are doing motor pacing training as there isn't a velodrome here. So this guy, for once, isn't a Tour De France wannabe. SG Road Vagina, should clarify in this Facebook post then just leave it as it is just for sensationalism. Got the cheek to tag SG Cycling Federation in the same post, so obviously the admin knows he's a national cyclist doing training loops along Seletar North but choose to leave it out of context. Hey, SG Road Vagina admin, if you're reading this, go F yourself okay? I am fine with some of these national level cyclists as long as they don't inconvenient others or even some degree of inconvenient as long as it is safe , after all they need extensive training. But cannot be the case of all the cyclists are national competition level , see the way they ride on the road , all sorts of paterns.😀😀 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged May 11, 2021 Share May 11, 2021 16 minutes ago, Ct3833 said: I am fine with some of these national level cyclists as long as they don't inconvenient others or even some degree of inconvenient as long as it is safe , after all they need extensive training. But cannot be the case of all the cyclists are national competition level , see the way they ride on the road , all sorts of paterns.😀😀 SG road vaginates can feel free to bash all those wannabes who are reckless, road hogging or dash thru the lights. Go ahead and shame those. Roads.sg Facebook page is more neutral in their postings, when it comes to cyclists videos. That should be the way if the purpose is to educate all road users online. If just want to sensationalise and be biased against cyclists all the time just to gain views, then it's just a despicable Facebook page aimed at driving the divide between different groups of road users. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AR159 2nd Gear May 11, 2021 Share May 11, 2021 3 hours ago, Beregond said: we going to need all the help to push this through, may the force be with us https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/rule-road-cyclists-ride-single-file-all-times-being-studied-chee-hong-tat?fbclid=IwAR0Owk1NpzyrnII6gs4urftDgXohTVNm9s6I6eAS9-VllBGDqHgI3k57aJI SINGAPORE — A government panel is studying whether cyclists should be required to ride in a single file at all times while on the roads, rather than two abreast, Senior Minister of State for Transport Chee Hong Tat said on Tuesday suddenly I feel like the road is much more safer to drive. at least our dear cyclist will be more safe. thank you inadvance mr minister. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic May 11, 2021 Share May 11, 2021 https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/mandatory-online-theory-test-for-e-scooter-and-e-bike-riders-to-cost-5-for-two-attempts-up I cannot find another hot thread to share this. I suspect there will be another round of hooha that the initial stage should be free instead of $5.00. I alway thought nominal charge is $1.00? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic May 11, 2021 Share May 11, 2021 On 5/10/2021 at 6:47 PM, Jellandross said: Eeeer... Why he like to smell other men backside? 8 hours ago, Lethalstrike said: SG road vaginates can feel free to bash all those wannabes who are reckless, road hogging or dash thru the lights. Go ahead and shame those. Roads.sg Facebook page is more neutral in their postings, when it comes to cyclists videos. That should be the way if the purpose is to educate all road users online. If just want to sensationalise and be biased against cyclists all the time just to gain views, then it's just a despicable Facebook page aimed at driving the divide between different groups of road users. We don't call vigilante for nothing right? Usually vigilantes are a bunch that drank too much cannot get to sleep.....(quotes required😅😅😅).... Need some avenue to vent out their energy...... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged May 11, 2021 Share May 11, 2021 27 minutes ago, Atonchia said: https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/mandatory-online-theory-test-for-e-scooter-and-e-bike-riders-to-cost-5-for-two-attempts-up I cannot find another hot thread to share this. I suspect there will be another round of hooha that the initial stage should be free instead of $5.00. I alway thought nominal charge is $1.00? $5.00 is the discounted rate to promote take up rate for this test online. So after which, a normal rate will apply. It seems that the authorities are still unwilling to go towards a licensing regime for all things ebikes and bicycles, and I see this as a sensible thing to do at this stage for obvious reasons. If you want to push for car lite, you need to explore and do more via other avenues first before slapping a licensing framework. That needs proper enforcement and resources to regulate. I also find it laughable that the AMAP think making cyclists ride in a single file can actually be a good thing for motorists. Just imagine the whole single line of cyclists blocking the filter lane for cars to turn left during the lights at junctions, or the whole line of cyclists filtering to turn right in a single file. It's harder for goondu drivers to gauge and overtake safely. In fact, the whole long line of them is even more of a nuisance. Why nothing was mentioned that cyclists shouldn't be allowed up on viaduct? If this was proposed, I would support 100%. Because of the higher speed differences and the dangers to filter in/out of a viaduct will simply make it dangerous for any cyclist. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic May 11, 2021 Share May 11, 2021 I just completed a school run. Along Clementi Road towards Bukit Timah encounter a small group (about 5) of leotards. Cycling leisurely, taking 3/4 of the left lane during morning rush traffic. One of them even looked like the lorry uncle case biker with the smug look on his face! Maybe it was him! Too bad I didn't have a rear cam. At their speed, kids would have overtaken them on the PCN. I wonder why they bothered to dress up and wake up so early to block traffic. 1 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic May 12, 2021 Share May 12, 2021 24 minutes ago, Volvobrick said: I just completed a school run. Along Clementi Road towards Bukit Timah encounter a small group (about 5) of leotards. Cycling leisurely, taking 3/4 of the left lane during morning rush traffic. One of them even looked like the lorry uncle case biker with the smug look on his face! Maybe it was him! Too bad I didn't have a rear cam. At their speed, kids would have overtaken them on the PCN. I wonder why they bothered to dress up and wake up so early to block traffic. Get a rear cam too bro. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged May 12, 2021 Share May 12, 2021 7 hours ago, Lethalstrike said: Why nothing was mentioned that cyclists shouldn't be allowed up on viaduct? If this was proposed, I would support 100%. Because of the higher speed differences and the dangers to filter in/out of a viaduct will simply make it dangerous for any cyclist. In my Cyclist opinion i think to have time restriction be better.. Say 10pm till 6am can ride viaduct.. outright ban will led to insufficient use of resources.. I do agreed with u on the safety aspect that's why I only ride viaduct before 6am. As for riding single file I got mix reaction.. they need to limit the group size to allow this to work as u pointed out a big group with single file is worse than they riding 2 abreast. I only drive expressway on weekday so din encounter such issues. When I ride weekend there's a lot of BIG groups on those favorite route like Seletar/Mandai/Changi etc.. So i guess need to use time and group size control to better utilize resources and minimize disruption to traffic flow. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged May 12, 2021 Share May 12, 2021 43 minutes ago, Volvobrick said: I just completed a school run. Along Clementi Road towards Bukit Timah encounter a small group (about 5) of leotards. Cycling leisurely, taking 3/4 of the left lane during morning rush traffic. One of them even looked like the lorry uncle case biker with the smug look on his face! Maybe it was him! Too bad I didn't have a rear cam. At their speed, kids would have overtaken them on the PCN. I wonder why they bothered to dress up and wake up so early to block traffic. So law abiding, zhun zhun keep to 5 🤭 ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...