Reckless Cyclist

Brock

On 6/30/2023 at 10:01 AM, RH1667 said:

Do you let other cyclist or maybe even yourself anyhow cycle in shared path? 

This theory is like if cyclist break the law on the road and i buang them

I tell them dun break the law. Dun blame me . 😂😂😂😂

On 6/30/2023 at 10:11 AM, inlinesix said:

Isn't the responsibility lie on both parties?

Pedestrians on shared paths should walk in an orderly manner and to look out for traffic when there is a change in traffic.

Cyclist on shared paths should slow down whenever there is a lot of pedestrians.

now we are talking!

so keep this mindset and not just push the responsibility to parents or pedestrian.

Both parties needs to be responsible.  

On 6/30/2023 at 10:16 AM, RH1667 said:

now we are talking!

so keep this mindset and not just push the responsibility to parents or pedestrian.

Both parties needs to be responsible.  

I am not pushing responsibility on parents.

On the other hand, I did not see any reply on parents' responsibility.

So eh sai, buy one of this and ship your bike to Grand Canyon and cycle all you want la. No one will say you are a pest. 

3025d171-4a4d-42b6-948f-dc445babd3e8.jpeg

7a367de3-0f81-495e-9c99-80247efe48b7.jpeg

On 6/30/2023 at 10:19 AM, Fcw75 said:

So eh sai, buy one of this and ship your bike to Grand Canyon and cycle all you want la. No one will say you are a pest. 

3025d171-4a4d-42b6-948f-dc445babd3e8.jpeg

7a367de3-0f81-495e-9c99-80247efe48b7.jpeg

How can you suggest that to the lord of the road!!

They are so great that they should be able to cycle across the ocean and not by flight 🤣

On 6/30/2023 at 10:27 AM, Abracadabra said:

Was it a hit and run on the young child?

If yes, cyclist is definitely an aR$ehole and karma will get to him sooner or later.

Parents have to be extra alert and not boh chup when it concerns safety of their kids.

Footpaths sometimes have got cyclists and likewise for cycling path, got pedestrians/joggers.

Just be careful ..... 

Pls go read what happened exactly. 

If yes, cyclist is definitely an aR$ehole and karma will get to him sooner or later.

Parents have to be extra alert and not boh chup when it concerns safety of their kids.

Footpaths sometimes have got cyclists and likewise for cycling path, got pedestrians/joggers.

Just be careful ..... 

Or carry an opened super large pointy umbrella. The cyclists and Fast runners will have to slow down! 

Just be careful ..... 

More like Hit, Stop (gave fake info) and Run. 

Must call police there and then, reminder to self. 

人善被人欺。That’s how is it like in SG now.

FYI for those who arent a parent or is a distant parent who leaves parenting to someone else. Every toddler will go thru a phase. There is this running phase. Imagine it is the very first time you discover how to run. And so they run whenever there's an opportunity. It is out of the blue wan. It is not a fair statement to say parents anyhow let their young children run. It is out of the blue and suddenly the parent have to start sprinting and go after them as well. It is definitely smth they could not possibly control. They are not soldiers or a pet dog that you could instill discipline at that phase.

Your comments actually reflect what you have or have not been thru.

On 6/30/2023 at 12:08 PM, Abracadabra said:

Got hit from behind then it's definitely cyclist's fault. You don't go round banging people from the back. You can see them but they cannot it see you. Always slow down and "DING" on the bicycle bell to warn people if you cycle behind them. 

well i had my few encounter i nearly bang to them.. some are jogger who drifted for whatever reason.. worse is those who suddenly u-turn.. I ding auntie i got scolded few times.. no matter how slow we cycle still got chance to bang de.. just the injuries may not be that bad..

and i hate those on earbuds.. u ding u shout oso cannot help much.

For me during peak hours/weekends i try not to go PCN.. unless till the time i buy this 😁

image.png.d20a483a9add1c96825eed22eda55004.png

On 6/30/2023 at 12:08 PM, Abracadabra said:

You don't go round banging people from the back. ....

I am sure you mean colliding into others....

On 6/30/2023 at 1:24 PM, Volvobrick said:

I am sure you mean colliding into others....

This is a cycling thread. 

On 6/30/2023 at 12:21 PM, Ody_2004 said:

well i had my few encounter i nearly bang to them.. some are jogger who drifted for whatever reason.. worse is those who suddenly u-turn.. I ding auntie i got scolded few times.. no matter how slow we cycle still got chance to bang de.. just the injuries may not be that bad..

and i hate those on earbuds.. u ding u shout oso cannot help much.

yeah. i encounter a few times those aunties just suddenly stop or u turn wo looking back while jogging in pcn. knn.

i jog with buds all the time. but if i want to slow down, swerve, stop or u turn, i will turn my head back and check if it is safe to do so. 

On 6/30/2023 at 9:45 AM, Volvobrick said:

Cyclists are not kings. They are god! 

everytime i see bicyclist in spandex, i go "oh my god, notch again?" guess they are really god to me.

On 6/30/2023 at 1:35 PM, Kopites said:

This is a cycling thread. 

Riding is the best!

On 6/30/2023 at 10:02 AM, inlinesix said:

I usually don't cycle on shared path knowing that pedestrians expect cyclist to look out for them.

pls correct me if i'm wrong, but i was under impression that when on pavement/PCN/shared path, cyclists are expected to give way to pedestrians. 

which is sometimes unfair as there's no rules governing how pedestrians are expected to behave when using such paths e.g. keep left, overtake from right etc. And it becomes more risky for all parties when the path is narrow. 

on an aside, motorcyclists often ride like they expect all other road users to look out for them. Same problem, except there are actually road rules for road users. But they bo hiew

On 6/30/2023 at 10:11 AM, inlinesix said:

Isn't the responsibility lie on both parties?

Pedestrians on shared paths should walk in an orderly manner and to look out for traffic when there is a change in traffic.

Cyclist on shared paths should slow down whenever there is a lot of pedestrians.

pedestrian don't have side/rear mirror 🤣

on a serious note, many of them don't have licence to operate motor vehicles thus can't appreciate the risks and dangers involved when using shared paths. 

cyclists should slow down and pass with a reasonable gap if the path width allows, not ngam ngam squeeze through. Just like how cars are supposed to leave a gap of 1.5m when overtaking cyclists on the road. 

On 6/30/2023 at 4:39 PM, Shibadog said:

pedestrian don't have side/rear mirror 🤣

on a serious note, many of them don't have licence to operate motor vehicles thus can't appreciate the risks and dangers involved when using shared paths. 

cyclists should slow down and pass with a reasonable gap if the path width allows, not ngam ngam squeeze through. Just like how cars are supposed to leave a gap of 1.5m when overtaking cyclists on the road. 

See this

and