inlinesix Hypersonic August 20, 2015 Share August 20, 2015 Yep, there's an operation going on to catch those illegal electric bicycles. Last friday there was a massive operation at Geylang. Saw at least 10 TP and LTA bikes stopping electric bicycles. Yesterday also saw 1 ah pek with electric bicycle kenna stopped by LTA and TP bike along Upper Changi Road. Hope they catch more of those ah bengs with illegal electric bicycles lighted with LED lights riding damn fast. At night, can see many when I am driving Uber. They should just raid a particular shop at Geylang selling it. How to raid those shops? They already clearly stated that it is for export only. That's what the shop gonna tell the authority. The bicycle and e-bike shop below my place is running a thriving business. Can see lots of an boys and ah peks at the shop doing mods to their bikes. Got those super high Harley handles type one, so happening siol. Feedback to TP where you see a lot of illegal e-bike lor. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic August 23, 2015 Share August 23, 2015 Cyclists risk lives by riding in middle of the road and behind lorry at Yishun- http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/this-urban-jungle/cyclists-risk-lives-by-riding-in-middle-of-the-road-and-behind-lorry-at-yishun 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Taipan49 3rd Gear August 24, 2015 Share August 24, 2015 Cyclists risk lives by riding in middle of the road and behind lorry at Yishun- http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/this-urban-jungle/cyclists-risk-lives-by-riding-in-middle-of-the-road-and-behind-lorry-at-yishun Really? The left lane is for left-turning only at that intersection. The middle and right lane are for going straight. So if you are going straight, then as a cyclist they are in the correct place. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lzmmcken 1st Gear August 24, 2015 Share August 24, 2015 Following closely behind a vehicle can be called drafting also. It saves effort in cycling and so you can achieve higher speeds with lesser effort. You see in Pro cycling why in the peloton, everyone cycles closely together at high speeds which is also why when crash, it is like domino. A little unknown secret is that if a cyclist is dropped by the main peloton for whatever reason, one tactic used is to use team cars and draft behind them so you can cycle back to the main peloton with lesser effort. Is it dangerous ?? Hell YES super dangerous Is it fun ?? Hell YES it is damm fun. I have always admitted that I am no saint on the road, driving or cycling, so I have done it before. More than once in fact. My 2 cents personal opinion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged August 24, 2015 Share August 24, 2015 (edited) To my knowledge, such cyclists are not properly trained cyclists. They are learn-through-mistakes or copy-cat cyclists. These cyclists are tail-gating motorised vehicles ignorant that their bikes can not brake and stop like those motorised vehicles they are tail-gating. Tail-gating behind such vehicles mean the cyclists can not see any danger ahead of the motorised vehicles (follow blindly with a big blind zone right in front of the cyclists). The cycling helmet can not save them from tail-gating accident/injuries. They are eager to do tail-gating as it took a little effort to change gears before each stopping, and for accelerating. In summary we can consider them to be temporarily mentally retarded at that point in time (saving a little energy/time by putting their lives at stake). It may be a good precaution to save thier lives, by report them to the Authority (they usually use the same route and time). If you notice, the cyclists seem to have just started moving off. Their legs are still not on the pedals yet. Looks like the light just turned green and they were stopped behind the truck. People just hate cyclists right? If they squeeze all the way to the front at the traffic lights, they are called inconsiderate/reckless/queue cutter/hold up traffic. They stop behind and people take photo say they are tailgating other vehicles. Looks like either way cyclists are always wrong. No wonder some cyclists prefer to just break the rules. Either way, people still hate them. Edited August 24, 2015 by Nzy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic August 25, 2015 Share August 25, 2015 Cyclists risk lives by riding in middle of the road and behind lorry at Yishun- http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/this-urban-jungle/cyclists-risk-lives-by-riding-in-middle-of-the-road-and-behind-lorry-at-yishun even if they want to turn right, I remember I was taught to keep to the left lane, wait for the green man to come on, and PUSH your bike across, and carry on cycling on the LEFT side of the lane. not sure if the rules have change over the years, maybe I am outdated?? 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Taipan49 3rd Gear August 25, 2015 Share August 25, 2015 Not exactly with two abreast cycling. Once in a while they would crash among themselves, and with the use of clipless pedals/shoes, fall the shoulder, breaking the collar bone. Did you look at the picture? It is just after the lights went green. They have their feet unclipped. They bunch at close together when stopped and then should move to 2 abreast once moving. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic August 25, 2015 Share August 25, 2015 haiz. i see some of these clips, the farking cyclists really asking for it. do we really need a few jialat jialat accidents involving cyclists before the govt take action?? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged August 25, 2015 Share August 25, 2015 You got the point. You are right. Many cyclists got no idea when they should be in front or behind the motorised vehicles for safety reason. We paid too little attention to teaching children how to cycle safely. Even running around to keep fit. We pay too little attention to teaching them how to run more safely. Example: I had seen 'coach' trying to train grossly overweight to do 100M sprinting. Some drivers also no idea about the rules. The cyclists here are formed up correctly. haiz. i see some of these clips, the farking cyclists really asking for it. do we really need a few jialat jialat accidents involving cyclists before the govt take action?? Must have those high-profile people involved then got use la. Then maybe they'll finally have a lane for bicycles or something. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jellandross Supersonic August 25, 2015 Share August 25, 2015 (edited) Cyclists risk lives by riding in middle of the road and behind lorry at Yishun- http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/this-urban-jungle/cyclists-risk-lives-by-riding-in-middle-of-the-road-and-behind-lorry-at-yishun Aiyo... This is the kind of pathetic ranting of some road users with really toxic mindset. Began with fake grandiose concern about road safety for everyone to justify his noble intention of posting the article. But the last sentence gave away the author's character. "Furthermore, did they pay road tax? If no, then please keep to the side of the road." So the real motivation for posting the article is because he's feeling butt hurt that these free loader cyclists dare to occupy these precious roads that are built using his bigger-than-buffalo-wheel tax money. Some of these Stompers seriously need professional treatment for their disturbed minds. Edited August 25, 2015 by Jellandross 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged August 25, 2015 Share August 25, 2015 Following closely behind a vehicle can be called drafting also. It saves effort in cycling and so you can achieve higher speeds with lesser effort. You see in Pro cycling why in the peloton, everyone cycles closely together at high speeds which is also why when crash, it is like domino. A little unknown secret is that if a cyclist is dropped by the main peloton for whatever reason, one tactic used is to use team cars and draft behind them so you can cycle back to the main peloton with lesser effort. Is it dangerous ?? Hell YES super dangerous Is it fun ?? Hell YES it is damm fun. I have always admitted that I am no saint on the road, driving or cycling, so I have done it before. More than once in fact. My 2 cents personal opinion. Eh... I thought drafting a team vehicle was against the rules? there are specific guidelines for that right? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lzmmcken 1st Gear August 25, 2015 Share August 25, 2015 Eh... I thought drafting a team vehicle was against the rules? there are specific guidelines for that right? Rule book says illegal. But seen it done so many times. Not outright draft behind your team car but keep accelerating and leap frogging one car at a time until you reach the back of the main peloton. It also helps if you are a STAR rider. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leinad8919 Turbocharged August 25, 2015 Share August 25, 2015 (edited) To my knowledge, such cyclists are not properly trained cyclists. They are learn-through-mistakes or copy-cat cyclists. These cyclists are tail-gating motorised vehicles ignorant that their bikes can not brake and stop like those motorised vehicles they are tail-gating. Tail-gating behind such vehicles mean the cyclists can not see any danger ahead of the motorised vehicles (follow blindly with a big blind zone right in front of the cyclists). The cycling helmet can not save them from tail-gating accident/injuries. They are eager to do tail-gating as it took a little effort to change gears before each stopping, and for accelerating. In summary we can consider them to be temporarily mentally retarded at that point in time (saving a little energy/time by putting their lives at stake). It may be a good precaution to save thier lives, by report them to the Authority (they usually use the same route and time). The cyclists are either just moving off or stopping behind the lorry (their shoes were not clip in). They are not tail-gating. Seems like your knowledge is limited and are the one who followed blindly with a big blind zone with the haters Edited August 25, 2015 by Leinad8919 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
nizmo89 3rd Gear September 4, 2015 Share September 4, 2015 Just now when i was turning at a T junction it was red on the main straight and i was about to make a left turn. My car was at a 45 degree angle already, this cyclist ring his bell behind me(he was going straight). When i straighten the car he was making gestures at me. To whoever that was let me tell you, if you want to be a road users you jolly well obey the traffic rules like other road users. If its red you better stop, if you have a deathwish then please dont get me involved. If you want to continue cycling while its red then please get on the pavement theres such thing as being a hybrid(using the road while thinking you're on the pavement). In addition considering i was the 3rd or 4th car to make a turn means that it has been green on my side for a little while already, which also means it was red for you for the same amount of time. Why would you run a red light? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 18, 2015 Share September 18, 2015 http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/courts-crime/rash-cyclist-dpp-to-ask-for-shorter-jail-term It is a rare move for the prosecution to appeal for a criminal's sentence to be reduced. But that is what the deputy public prosecutor will do in the High Court today after a cyclist who rode into and injured an elderly pedestrian was jailed for eight weeks. The prosecution had originally called for 35-year-old Lim Choon Teck to be imprisoned for at least two weeks for the rash act, which knocked over Madam Chng Kian and left her with a fractured elbow and wrist injury. Madam Chng, 69, and her husband Ng Seok Choon, 74, were walking towards a bus stop in Ang Mo Kio Avenue 8, on the evening of May 17, when Lim rode on the pavement at an unsafe speed and collided into her. Lim at first gave Mr Ng his identity card, but then snatched it away and fled before his details could be recorded. Last week, Lim pleaded guilty to the rash-act charge and Deputy Public Prosecutor Tan Ee Kuan highlighted aggravating factors such as Lim cycling on the pavement, causing grievous hurt, and bolting off instead of waiting for the ambulance. But District Judge Lee-Khoo Poh Choo meted out a jail term four times as long as the DPP's minimum demand, making clear that there is a need for deterrence and comparing the sentence to norms for "killer litter" cases which also involved rash acts. In judgment grounds released yesterday, she said Lim lacked remorse in not remaining with the elderly couple, adding that he acted "in a selfish, cowardly and irresponsible manner". "I would have viewed it differently if the accused had remained with the victim and Ng until the police or the ambulance arrived." Pointing out that the incident occurred at night, and involved a vulnerable and elderly couple, she added it would have afforded them some measure of comfort and security if Lim had remained with them instead of "callously" speeding off. The district judge likened the case to a hit-and-run road traffic accident, pointing out that precedent cases had jail terms ranging from two weeks to three months. She noted that a bicycle, unlike a car, did not have a registration number to trace the rider and there is no insurance under which the injured victim could recover damages. She added: "Cyclists know the risks against them are very low. It can be said that, generally, they suffer no consequences when they cycle on pavements in an unsafe manner. "Hence I felt that the punishment ought to be more severe to deter cyclists from such irresponsible conduct, especially when they had injured innocent, rightful users of the pavement or pathway." The prosecution is arguing that the eight-week sentence is "manifestly excessive" in what may well turn into a benchmark case on how errant cyclists who ride on pavements are dealt with. Lim, who said nothing in mitigation, has been remanded in custody since he was charged on Sept 1. In 2012, he was jailed for a year and given six strokes of the cane under the Moneylenders Act for harassing alleged debtors and occupants at their homes. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Samlimlp 2nd Gear September 27, 2015 Share September 27, 2015 https://youtu.be/B2tuiHoI54s Just captured this on my incar-cam, uncle on electric bike beating red-lights, but hit by car....luckily he is not injured...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jellandross Supersonic September 27, 2015 Share September 27, 2015 (edited) Just captured this on my incar-cam, uncle on electric bike beating red-lights, but hit by car....luckily he is not injured...... Riders like this are like 瘟神 aka pestilence, bringing unnecessary misfortune to their own lives and to anyone unlucky enough to come into contact with them. Just look at his first reaction after the accident, pointing his finger indignantly in the air. He must truly believed that he had the right of way no matter the situation. Believe it or not, they will not stop their self-defeating behavior until they're seriously injured or killed one day. I constantly look out and avoid plagues like this whenever I'm on the road. No matter who had the right of way, you as the driver is already at the losing end as soon as you make contact. Edited September 27, 2015 by Jellandross 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic September 27, 2015 Share September 27, 2015 https://youtu.be/B2tuiHoI54s Just captured this on my incar-cam, uncle on electric bike beating red-lights, but hit by car....luckily he is not injured...... The driver (who broke no laws that I can discern) needs to have absolutely no legal consequences inflicted upon him. That is the only way to give a clear signal to cyclists that if you break the rules and come to grief because of it, it's your own funeral. No more legal molly-coddling of "vulnerable" road users - if they're vulnerable, they should play their part and at least use the roads legally and sensibly to protect themselves. The courts sometimes have a woolly way of interpreting the law - e.g. arguing that a driver must make sure his surroundings are clear before moving off on a green light etc. Two major problems with that: 1) sometimes the view is obstructed by other vehicles (likely in this case); and 2) sumsabitches on electric bikes or even normal bikes are too damn fast to react to reasonably (which is why they're forbidden from crossings in the first place). ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...