Reckless Cyclist

Brock

On 3/27/2024 at 8:47 PM, Stratovarius said:

This is pmd leh. But regardless:

satisfaction-uhh.gif.396147c2b49deda98510846610efe69e.gif

I fking hate E-Bikes cos they ride recklessly on roads and too fast on PCNs and they pollute the peace with their techno techno techno techno 

Edited by Theoldjaffa

YTD evening was walking through a landed enclave along pedestrian footpath when a female grabfood delivery person road pass me on a bicycle without pedaling.

I thought only PAB is legal now and it means you no pedal  the bike don't move?

This sort of ebike is illegal now right?

On 3/28/2024 at 9:11 AM, Vratenza said:

YTD evening was walking through a landed enclave along pedestrian footpath when a female grabfood delivery person road pass me on a bicycle without pedaling.

What to do? Zero enforcement 

On 3/28/2024 at 9:11 AM, Vratenza said:

I also got curious and therefore went to ask my favourite stat board :grin:

https://www.lta.gov.sg/content/dam/ltagov/getting_around/active_mobility/rules_public_education/rules_code_of_conduct/pdf/where_devices_are_allowed_motorised_pmd_ban.pdf

IMG_8722.jpeg

On 3/28/2024 at 10:48 AM, Theoldjaffa said:

your fav stat board also not clear on definition of PAB/Ebike...😁

Yes. Ebikes are also known as Power Assisted Bicycles (PABs) in Singapore. Ebike has similar construction as conventional bicycles, except ebike is equipped with a motor to provide assistance when the rider pedals.

Therefore, the motor will not be activated if the rider stops pedaling.

And in Singapore, it is illegal to ride an ebike with throttle or equipped with a motor that continuously provides assistance even when the rider is not pedaling.

On 3/28/2024 at 12:40 PM, Vratenza said:

your fav stat board also not clear on definition of PAB/Ebike...😁

I thought the definition already very clear.

It should be Pedal-Assist Bicycle rather than e-bike

On 3/28/2024 at 1:30 PM, inlinesix said:

I thought the definition already very clear.

It should be Pedal-Assist Bicycle rather than e-bike

So ebike illegal be it on road or pathway? 

On 3/28/2024 at 9:53 PM, Vratenza said:

Ebike = dun need pedal and has throttle? 

That's electric motorcycle liao! 

Ebike throttle not allowed. 

On 3/28/2024 at 10:10 PM, Fcw75 said:

No one give a damn if there’s no enforcement, simply put.

They do... a lot of effort on "monitoring"

On 3/28/2024 at 9:53 PM, Vratenza said:

Ebike = dun need pedal and has throttle? 

That’s not PAB.

It could be classified as illegal PMD