COE Bidding – April 2022

Carbon82

G

3 minutes ago, darviathan said:

Yeah many are converting their car so can get fuel discount and also fetch people when they are free. 

by right if wanna control vehicle growth, should only let people rent car if they wanna do business.

Wanna own a car for leisure and personnel usage, jolly well pay like the rest of the people.

GRAB is partially owned by govt (via GIC).

So won't do anything to disadvantage them... haha

Yah lah last time people buy those little Kangoo van for personal use.

Then they tightened this loop hole and must register with a company.

PHV they also need to tighten and separate COE Cat and as its for commercial use higher COE price and contribute to nation building

What is wrong with collecting more money?

6 minutes ago, darviathan said:

Yeah many are converting their car so can get fuel discount and also fetch people when they are free. 

by right if wanna control vehicle growth, should only let people rent car if they wanna do business.

Wanna own a car for leisure and personnel usage, jolly well pay like the rest of the people.

18 hours ago, yishunite said:

Its damn stupid lor. Not only does Cat A private user have to compete with commercial user but those commercial users will have their cars on the road at least 8-12hrs of the day vs private user at most to office and home plus maybe lunch and errands... 2-3 trips/day max

One generate all the traffic jam while pushing up COE price for those who dont generate most of the traffic. If theyre truly serious about "carlite" society taxi and PHV fare should cost way more. Our taxi fares are v cheap compare to other develop countries yet ironically our car cost is so much higher. Their own COE cat will be a good way to force these fares up so we get more car lite

Not that i am supporting them in any way but PHV driver will say you not happy then you go and be a PHV and "enjoy" the benefits lor.....  I know it seems unfair but the fact is nobody is stopping non-PHV driver from becoming one. And my guess is, for many PHV drivers, if they could, they rather not be. And if it becomes costly to become a PHV driver then people won't be PHV driver in the first place and the whole initiative will fail. Don't forget that this PHV concept was NOT initiated by our govt. It was the wonderful digital disrupters called Uber & Grab that started the whole thing and the PHV scheme came in only to regulate them. In some countries all this ride hailing is totally banned. As for levying additional charge on the PHVs, this will just become part of business cost that is passed to the consumer in the end.

If the PHV fares were to go up a lot then they will no longer be a viable alternative to private vehicle ownership which will then translate to higher demand for private cars and ultimately higher demand for COE. PHVs (and of course taxis) are supposed to serve as a viable alternative to privately owned vehicles. I have colleagues that take PHV daily daily and overall they spend around $600-$800 per month on PHV rides which they justify as "cheaper than buying car". But if that $600-$800 becomes $1000++ then it will no longer be. The availability of viable alternatives is crucial to becoming car-lite. So whilst we think that PHVs are pushing up COEs but on the flip side it's possible that they might actually be staving off some other would-be private car buyers by providing them with an alternative thus keeping COE "down".  

If there was no PHVs then people will just take taxis

Need to protect PHVs by putting with private cars in Cat A for what?

Edited by Jamesc

18 hours ago, darviathan said:

I think Govt should only restrict priv car bidding to those priv hire company and limit a quota of fleet they can own like what the taxi company are doing. Those drivers can only rent phv and not converting own car to phv.

this way can limit the number of cars on road and also have those cars in service line to have lesser modified car for passenger safety.

this may not work .. there are only a handful of phv companies, so it is not as difficult to control the bid prices .. 

as opposed to car dealerships who fight to get market share and will not "co-operate" with other dealerships to bid a certain price ..

also this phv category will fluctuate too much, phv companies do not (and do not need to) bid every month to replenish their car fleets, whereas in the normal private car categories, different people in almost the entire population with all their different needs and wants seek to buy cars all the time ..

4 hours ago, Kar_lover said:

Not that i am supporting them in any way but PHV driver will say you not happy then you go and be a PHV and "enjoy" the benefits lor.....  I know it seems unfair but the fact is nobody is stopping non-PHV driver from becoming one. And my guess is, for many PHV drivers, if they could, they rather not be. And if it becomes costly to become a PHV driver then people won't be PHV driver in the first place and the whole initiative will fail. Don't forget that this PHV concept was NOT initiated by our govt. It was the wonderful digital disrupters called Uber & Grab that started the whole thing and the PHV scheme came in only to regulate them. In some countries all this ride hailing is totally banned. As for levying additional charge on the PHVs, this will just become part of business cost that is passed to the consumer in the end.

If the PHV fares were to go up a lot then they will no longer be a viable alternative to private vehicle ownership which will then translate to higher demand for private cars and ultimately higher demand for COE. PHVs (and of course taxis) are supposed to serve as a viable alternative to privately owned vehicles. I have colleagues that take PHV daily daily and overall they spend around $600-$800 per month on PHV rides which they justify as "cheaper than buying car". But if that $600-$800 becomes $1000++ then it will no longer be. The availability of viable alternatives is crucial to becoming car-lite. So whilst we think that PHVs are pushing up COEs but on the flip side it's possible that they might actually be staving off some other would-be private car buyers by providing them with an alternative thus keeping COE "down".  

U are also raising another issue which is that theres 2 contradictory goals gahmen trying to do at same time:

1) Car lite

2) Gig economy as safety net

You can see (1) has driven up COE prices even of motorcycle at time when (2) is vital for ppl. Meanwhile ppl who use vehicle for social purpose totally squeeze out. Maybe vehicle should only be for economic purpose. Maybe we shouldnt have car for social purpose. Or maybe we should try to not do all these things with one single COE mechanism. As @mikk123 nicely put it the other factor is the PHV companies are not individuals struggling to survive but actually tech unicorn who own GCB and they are in the market also which make it even harder for any small player 

Anyway we pay the ministers millions of dollars they should be able to find out how to solve this problem

Edited by yishunite

20 minutes ago, SGMCF328 said:

Slight increase in quota from May to July. Hopefully that would help to keep cat B and E price within 5 digit range.

coe_quota.jpg

ok leave aside those paying for cars like bentleys etc where you want the car it doesnt matter whether it is $900,000 or $930,000 ..

but for those buying runaround b&b cars, how much higher will people tolerate? or they just think its just few dollars more per month so doesnt matter? 

33 minutes ago, SGMCF328 said:

Slight increase in quota from May to July. Hopefully that would help to keep cat B and E price within 5 digit range.

coe_quota.jpg

Er…CAT B decrease you know? 1,099 -> 1,053

3 hours ago, F10_Blackhawk said:

Er…CAT B decrease you know? 1,099 -> 1,053

Cat B okay la... those formerly in Cat B can go under Cat A now for e.g. some EV plus slight increase for Open Cat.  So end of day, Cat B like no change lor... lol

next week got coe bidding?

who going to tok ah? 

come on man, break the MF ceiling, break it, break it break it! [laugh][laugh][laugh]

1 hour ago, awhtc said:

Cat A may hover around its current level with the increased quota.

COE may hover around the current level till people realise that the increase in quota is not significant in May, then COE will start to rise again.😅

On 4/7/2022 at 3:10 PM, iamwey said:

its not too complicated, its already in the works with the new ERP system, but that guy just wanna kpkb coe price too high because of PHVs.

I say even satellite ERP is too complex. If you increase fuel taxes and remove COE AND ERP, you target both usage and emissions. The only remaining problem is quota. How do you allocate ownership to a fixed vehicle growth rate? At this moment it is tiger eat mouse - violence by money.