Sim Lim Square

Forte3737

Minister say something liao. But don't know what he'll do.

https://www.facebook.com/TanChuanJin1/posts/804860662890044

KNN, say like don't say. Might as well don't say.

Basically he's asking us to suck it up.

When Singaporeans are doing what the government should be doing (and they are keeping quiet), you know that is ruling party is a goner. Stop making it like the fishball saga, agencies pushing here and there.

But soon to review and improve on this aspect.

This is good news as it will weep out unethical business selling. ( don't know how long it will take to implement th

Siao liao, reputation as shopping destination down the drain.

Kena blanket blacklist by China as a untrustworthy shopping destination is bad news.

It takes many years to build a reputation of honest businessmen.

This type of signs is will backfire.

post-114176-0-16562400-1415310563.jpg

Siao liao, reputation as shopping destination down the drain.

Kena blanket blacklist by China as a untrustworthy shopping destination is bad news.

It takes many years to build a reputation of honest businessmen.

This type of signs is will backfire.

Its been happening for many years right?

Plus not only one shop do that.

Many people had complained and what authorities do ?

Based on law, they did not breech any criminal case, so unable to summon them for coffee or sue them, and they target those tourist or even singaporeans they target are not they well off (financially) per say or quite naive.

Report to CASE ??

Quite useless except to set up signage to warn tourist and singaporeas about the shop that they received complaint from. However it's all in english, some tourist have limited understanding of english, when they look at the signage, they might thought, its actually promoting excellent service that the said shop provide. So does it work? Yes and No. For tourist that have limited understanding of english is 100% will not work.

I also believe that there maybe people who feedback to higher authorities to flag the concern ( I maybe wrong), but the authorities sees it as nothing too serious and within control, so just keep it as orange flag and continue to monitor and see how approach .

I still don't understand why.

Does the government/authorities learnt their lesson?

If they approach things based on post measures, this will lead to pile up of issues before it become too big or too difficult to handle and it explodes like a balloon. Then want to do something about it, it's a bit too late. The Sim Lim shop scam case is one example. I believe there are many other issues that they are also on post measures, wait till problem too big and red flag then do something about it.

If authorities would to go on the approach of preventive measures, I don't see how the Sim Lim shop scam can get bolder and bolder as time goes by as they would have already been weep out by authorities, be it change law to charge them to court, or change laws and rules and regulations of such unethical practices. No ??

* Based on the ah beng interview with the reporter about the overcharging, he still can give scenario about the chicken rice story, and felt he had done nothing wrong . So what does this shows? It shows that maybe he feel that not only me do what, others also do the same, so why only come after me? or he may think that it's normal what. This kinda of wrong thinking/mindset or practices maybe partly due to something is not right, but no one put to stop and it continues for many years, so much so it become normal and thus they get bolder and bolder, thinking that it's wthin law la, no one can catch me one la. So he even willing to meet up with reporter when things started to escalate to reporter that time ( No afraid kind ) .

So conclusion??

Edited by Yewheng

If authorities have people like Steve jobs, when engineer says it cannot be done, he get fed up and sack the engineer and hire a new one that say it can be done, I believe that, many things will not be at the post measure stage.

Example.

Case, received too many complaint, but is powerless, so they have the mindset, it's not within my control and it cannot be done. The most they can do is to set up signage to warn people. They thought the situation has improved from complaint of 100plus drop to 80 plus and give themselves a pat. But then if steve jobs would to handle this situation, I believe that he sees 100 complaint drop to 80 only? He sure will jump up and down and find means and ways to make sure it drop to ZERO complaint immediately and not little by little bit.

LoL...the way I see it it's almost impossible to stop this. One thing some ppl are bound to be greedy, once there's an opportunity to strike, they won't wait. Only way to stop them is to finish them.

Other factors like iphone launch not in all the countries at the same time. Ppl in the region will come here to look for the best deal. This is where opportunity presents itself for scammers to strike. Ppl here can easily make a profit reselling new iphone. How to stop all these from happening? You wanna stop, can lah, the authorities ban the sale of iphone in Sgp. Problem solved. Want anot?

Ppl here often don't think of the consequences. Be careful what you wish for. Our leaders can be unforgiving. You all kao peh Case incompetent. Sure, once ah gong steps in and ban all sales of iphone...KNS for you and me. Only choice left are Android phones. LoL...

LoL...the way I see it it's almost impossible to stop this. One thing some ppl are bound to be greedy, once there's an opportunity to strike, they won't wait. Only way to stop them is to finish them.

Other factors like iphone launch not in all the countries at the same time. Ppl in the region will come here to look for the best deal. This is where opportunity presents itself for scammers to strike. Ppl here can easily make a profit reselling new iphone. How to stop all these from happening? You wanna stop, can lah, the authorities ban the sale of iphone in Sgp. Problem solved. Want anot?

Ppl here often don't think of the consequences. Be careful what you wish for. Our leaders can be unforgiving. You all kao peh Case incompetent. Sure, once ah gong steps in and ban all sales of iphone...KNS for you and me. Only choice left are Android phones. LoL...

They problem has been happening for many years already leh. Don't tell me they don't have ample time to solve this issue??

oh yeah.. i would like to see them ban sales of condom then..

boost RE-productivity ... [grin] [grin] [sunny]

If authorities have people like Steve jobs, when engineer says it cannot be done, he get fed up and sack the engineer and hire a new one that say it can be done, I believe that, many things will not be at the post measure stage.

Example.

Case, received too many complaint, but is powerless, so they have the mindset, it's not within my control and it cannot be done. The most they can do is to set up signage to warn people. They thought the situation has improved from complaint of 100plus drop to 80 plus and give themselves a pat. But then if steve jobs would to handle this situation, I believe that he sees 100 complaint drop to 80 only? He sure will jump up and down and find means and ways to make sure it drop to ZERO complaint immediately and not little by little bit.

This issue was discussed during this morning's 93.8 Talkback show.

CASE's rep was there to answer queries and was asked what are they doing about this.

They basically juz regurgitated (and stammering) all the INEFFECTIVE measures that they have been doing so far with no new ideas on how to deal with recalcitrant scammers or unethical shops. I was appalled. [mad]

That explains why those bengs have been getting away wif it so easily and probably laughing at this toothless tiger....... [:|]

I don't support vigilante justice but this case has shown how useless the authorities have been that the public had to deal wif injustice wif their own hands. [shakehead]

This issue was discussed during this morning's 93.8 Talkback show.

CASE's rep was there to answer queries and was asked what are they doing about this.

They basically juz regurgitated (and stammering) all the INEFFECTIVE measures that they have been doing so far with no new ideas on how to deal with recalcitrant scammers or unethical shops. I was appalled. [mad]

That explains why those bengs have been getting away wif it so easily and probably laughing at this toothless tiger....... [:|]

I don't support vigilante justice but this case has shown how useless the authorities have been that the public had to deal wif injustice wif their own hands. [shakehead]

The interviewer chun boh ..... :huh:

"with their own hands" - if only police said that and anything happen after that, they boh chap ... [sly]

who do you think will win the As.shole of the Year award? [laugh]

Hot Favourite:

1. Jover Chew

2. Yang Yin

Dark Horse:

3. Nasi Lemak Prince

who else can we nominate? [laugh]

Edited by Scion

who do you think will win the As.shole of the Year award? [laugh]

Hot Favourite:

1. Jover Chew

2. Yang Yin

Dark Horse:

3. Nasi Lemak Prince

who else can we nominate? [laugh]

My vote will be jover chew.. yang yin although also quite hot topic but cannot win the ah beng. The ah beng already become international hot topic.

I don't like how problems seem to be pushed around frequently these days. But the CASE president (who is also an MP who has been empowered by citizens to push for law changes in Parliament) made a valid point that he hope to see SPF make an effort to pursue the case of "criminal breach of trust".

Based on witness accounts posted on various forums, seem when the victims called the police, they are often referred to CASE without much investigation. Perhaps these cases got too frequent, like daily affair and they could do nothing about the scum bags. If the victim reported use of threat or unlawful withholding of personal property ($$$ in this case), they shouldn't be let go easily.

Thats in layman term, game of "Tai Chi" .... -_-

One must master the game well to become a good "Tai Chi Master" ... [sly]

Years back, had my PC configured by an honest shop there. The honest shop closed down due to unexpected numerous warranty claims. Other shops in the vicinity said it was the norm with the competition. Looks like only those who cheat can survive there?

IMO, those shops closed and only to reopen with another clean name.

any warranty and claims will auto became history. SLS is for snake and rat

I don't like how problems seem to be pushed around frequently these days. But the CASE president (who is also an MP who has been empowered by citizens to push for law changes in Parliament) made a valid point that he hope to see SPF make an effort to pursue the case of "criminal breach of trust".

Based on witness accounts posted on various forums, seem when the victims called the police, they are often referred to CASE without much investigation. Perhaps these cases got too frequent, like daily affair and they could do nothing about the scum bags. If the victim reported use of threat or unlawful withholding of personal property ($$$ in this case), they shouldn't be let go easily.

in other words, polis n case aspiring to be this:

post-1105-0-77616400-1415325257.jpg