Reckless Cyclist

Brock

The whole operation only caught 2. I guess most are law abiding well-behaved e-scooterist. 

Each day I can easily spot a few errant one..

https://www.facebook.com/WeKeepYourWorldMoving/posts/1208633245873576

The news here,

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/e-scooters-seized-after-users-caught-speeding-riding-recklessly/3217924.html

whole operation only caught 2? That's inefficient leh !

ok lah, for publicity.. and to warn other illegal e-scooters ...

Maybe they are trying to tell us, e-scooters issue not as bad as what public think. Lol.

The rest were too fast for the polis to catch and got away mah....

It's the users of electric bikes and scooters.

There should be a viable system of regulating who uses these vehicles.

I have footage of a LTA certified electric bicycle used by a most unfit person, this man was riding down the road from middle of left lane up to the pedestrian crossing, using pedestrian green light, cutting across the junction under the viaduct, clear across all three lanes to the right and turning right in front of a major police station. It's yesterday.

I believe this man might not do such a thing if he did not have an electric assisted bike, he does not seem to be the energetic type of person or that of good sense for about late forties to fifties. LTA certified also break the law, because the user believe he can do it 'safely' with the device.

Then while doing neighborhood doggy patrol a little bit later, came across this young courting couple. So the guy was teaching the girl how to ride an electric scooter, at night in landed area.. I think also the guy knew that it is illegal to use the escooter on the road. Dude did not want to make eye contact. I think sometimes there are people who just go a little bit faster in the roads around landed environments. So, I could imagine a car coming out of the carport and running straight into the escooter.

I believe that if the users cannot be regulated at all by the police reasonably, we should ban or severely restrict the use of these personal mobility devices. It is the users that make such dangerous use intolerable.

How dangerous is a Huracan? It's the press that need something eye catching, in lieu of showing the driver face, they have to show something. Don't go down the wrong road.

It's the users, suggest adding 'users' to the end of the thread title.

It's the users of electric bikes and scooters.

There should be a viable system of regulating who uses these vehicles.

I have footage of a LTA certified electric bicycle used by a most unfit person, this man was riding down the road from middle of left lane up to the pedestrian crossing, using pedestrian green light, cutting across the junction under the viaduct, clear across all three lanes to the right and turning right in front of a major police station. It's yesterday.

I believe this man might not do such a thing if he did not have an electric assisted bike, he does not seem to be the energetic type of person or that of good sense for about late forties to fifties. LTA certified also break the law, because the user believe he can do it 'safely' with the device.

Then while doing neighborhood doggy patrol a little bit later, came across this young courting couple. So the guy was teaching the girl how to ride an electric scooter, at night in landed area.. I think also the guy knew that it is illegal to use the escooter on the road. Dude did not want to make eye contact. I think sometimes there are people who just go a little bit faster in the roads around landed environments. So, I could imagine a car coming out of the carport and running straight into the escooter.

I believe that if the users cannot be regulated at all by the police reasonably, we should ban or severely restrict the use of these personal mobility devices. It is the users that make such dangerous use intolerable.

How dangerous is a Huracan? It's the press that need something eye catching, in lieu of showing the driver face, they have to show something. Don't go down the wrong road.

It's the users, suggest adding 'users' to the end of the thread title.

How do you know that electric bicycle is LTA certified?

Maybe got license plate and road tax disc? [laugh]  [laugh]   [laugh]

Edited by Ender

What are they trying to prove?

Occupying 2 lanes somemore ...

u see the amdk both hand off the handle.

this is wat i mean by having fun on the road. 

cycle.jpg?itok=h1wKOsHN

the common occurrence on a daily basis in the city. go nicol highway, they can even ride on the extreme right lane during heavy traffic hours which adds on to the already bad traffic. 

the govt will just happily increase ERP

the common occurrence on a daily basis in the city. go nicol highway, they can even ride on the extreme right lane during heavy traffic hours which adds on to the already bad traffic. 

the govt will just happily increase ERP

my workers also cycle to work, i got totally no problem sharing road with cyclist who really need to use the road

but no need to say , our road is damn congested. every 1 using must do their parts.

i super buay ta han when i see this,

u want to cycle for fun, enjoy, etc etc, the road is the last place in singapore to do it.

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/ntu-puts-speed-limits-for-cyclists-to-the-test?utm_campaign=Echobox&utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Facebook&xtor=CS1-10#link_time=1476938719

NTU puts speed limits for cyclists to the test

Researchers from Nanyang Technological University are studying if proposed speed limits for bicycles and personal mobility devices (PMDs) are sufficient, even before these rules kick in next year.

The team from the university's Transport Research Centre is looking at whether the proposed limits give pedestrians enough time to react when a cyclist or PMD user comes their way.

They are also studying whether cyclists and PMD users have enough time to avoid a collision under these limits, which will be set at 15kmh on footpaths and 25kmh on cycling and shared paths.

The two-year, $370,000 study began in July and is supported by the Land Transport Authority (LTA).

An expert panel had presented the proposed rules to the Ministry of Transport earlier this year. They are expected to be passed into law next year.

The NTU study is on display at the three-day Singapore International Transport Congress and Exhibition at Suntec Singapore Convention and Exhibition Centre, which started yesterday.

Assistant Professor Xu Hong, one of the researchers, said the team will use a virtual reality (VR) walking simulator where a person wearing a VR headset can react to cyclists or PMD users coming their way at different speeds.

"We can increase the permitted speeds and check what minimum reaction times are needed to avoid a collision," said Prof Xu.

The team is also studying how different speeds affect how far a pedestrian would be "thrown" in the event of a collision, said Prof Xu.

"The throw distance is very important to decide what kind of injury or how severe the injury will be," she said, adding that serious injuries were usually caused by "secondary impacts", for example, when a pedestrian hits the pavement.

The team has just started running simulations, said Prof Xu, adding that the findings would be presented to the LTA. She said the team will also study speed limits for these devices in other cities.

The proposed limits here appear "reasonable", she added. "Some cities have more space so, in that case, they can increase the speed limit because there are not so many people around. But for us, we have to take the density into account."

The study comes at a time when e-scooters are in the spotlight. Videos have surfaced of e-scooter riders travelling at reckless speeds along roads and footpaths.

Last month, a 53-year-old housewife underwent brain surgery after she was knocked down by an e-scooter in Pasir Ris.

Mr Francis Chu, co-founder of cycling group Love Cycling SG and a member of the panel that came up with the proposed rules, welcomed the study.

But he added that the first principle for any cyclist or PMD user should be to always give way to pedestrians. "It does not mean that you can ride at the speed limit even if the pavement is narrow or crowded," he said.

Some are on the right hand side of the road too. So on a 4 lane road, we have only 1 road left for cars to drive.

I'm thinking of stocking on those Samsung Note 7....

post-100773-0-27263600-1476950824.gif

Edited by Weez911