Lightbringer

No matter what the reason is, we must not allow such thing to happen. I don't know why u like to see SG in trouble. If u don't like SG, just get out.

"read first few paragraphs and scrolled all the way down liao.. racist + support strike? much as smrt should be punished.... there is no reason to support a strike"

"Got executive summary or not?..."

"But the article fail as most people on internet forum have only the patient to read about maybe 5 paragraph max. I stop reading after all the xenophobic first part, so the fancy stuff never get screen time. When I write something online, I like to keep it as compact as possible. People do

not normally want to read an essay online. Just saying."

"actually writer can cut the crap and get to the point instead of sensationize every turn of any events"

"The writer's posting is a lengthy essay but is definitely not an impressive one. It's just trying to bring the readers on a wild goose chase and in fact can be a bit misleading."

"Yes, their actions did "widen the democratic space for us" but they didn't do it for us. They fought for themselves. Our welfare were none of their concerns. If they succeed, sg as a whole up lorry. Strikes everywhere. If they lose, we can't strike. We "lose" our collective labour bargaining

power."

"The real fact is we're a vulnerable small country and we must maintain law & order for the prosperity of SG. we must not allow strike in SG in the first place. That's a fact. U must put the horse in front of the cart, not behind the cart. This is NOT suppression, this is our survival."

"What I dun understand is why the author has to drag politics into the incident? The thing about supporting a strike is keyboard warrior at its best. Why do I not see the joker amongst the bus drivers? So much for talking c0ck and no action on his so called support. Wrote a wall of crap to go one big round just to fart. What a waste of time."

Really, what a big waste of everybody's time. Was the author nuts or what, trying to have an intelligent discourse in this country? Anything beyond the tip of our nose, we can't see it. Let's just stick to the mundane. That's much better. And keep that short too. Let us just rant like dumb hooligans. That's fine with us because that doesn't require serious reading or thinking, which are scary s--t, man. We have all become comfortably numb and dumb. And don't the powers-that-be love that. What not to like about a nation of dumb, unthinking voters?

What a waste of time, morons.

Oh great! Just heard the news....Minister Lui just said that our transport costs would be going up and the bus drivers' salary increment would be factored into the fare hike....Thanks to those strike supporters!

For now, whenever there is any dispute between the company and foreign workers, the foreign workers will strike first before considering other alternatives. I guess that's what the strike supporters want.

Supporters of that strike in principle does not mean supporting strikes in general.

You sound worried. You employer of PRCs and mismanaging them? [laugh]

Oh great! Just heard the news....Minister Lui just said that our transport costs would be going up and the bus drivers' salary increment would be factored into the fare hike....Thanks to those strike supporters!

For now, whenever there is any dispute between the company and foreign workers, the foreign workers will strike first before considering other alternatives. I guess that's what the strike supporters want.

You seem to have contracted 60.1 syndrome.... [laugh]

"read first few paragraphs and scrolled all the way down liao.. racist + support strike? much as smrt should be punished.... there is no reason to support a strike"

"Got executive summary or not?..."

"But the article fail as most people on internet forum have only the patient to read about maybe 5 paragraph max. I stop reading after all the xenophobic first part, so the fancy stuff never get screen time. When I write something online, I like to keep it as compact as possible. People do

not normally want to read an essay online. Just saying."

"actually writer can cut the crap and get to the point instead of sensationize every turn of any events"

"The writer's posting is a lengthy essay but is definitely not an impressive one. It's just trying to bring the readers on a wild goose chase and in fact can be a bit misleading."

"Yes, their actions did "widen the democratic space for us" but they didn't do it for us. They fought for themselves. Our welfare were none of their concerns. If they succeed, sg as a whole up lorry. Strikes everywhere. If they lose, we can't strike. We "lose" our collective labour bargaining

power."

"The real fact is we're a vulnerable small country and we must maintain law & order for the prosperity of SG. we must not allow strike in SG in the first place. That's a fact. U must put the horse in front of the cart, not behind the cart. This is NOT suppression, this is our survival."

"What I dun understand is why the author has to drag politics into the incident? The thing about supporting a strike is keyboard warrior at its best. Why do I not see the joker amongst the bus drivers? So much for talking c0ck and no action on his so called support. Wrote a wall of crap to go one big round just to fart. What a waste of time."

Really, what a big waste of everybody's time. Was the author nuts or what, trying to have an intelligent discourse in this country? Anything beyond the tip of our nose, we can't see it. Let's just stick to the mundane. That's much better. And keep that short too. Let us just rant like dumb hooligans. That's fine with us because that doesn't require serious reading or thinking, which are scary s--t, man. We have all become comfortably numb and dumb. And don't the powers-that-be love that. What not to like about a nation of dumb, unthinking voters?

What a waste of time, morons.

The analysis of the strike was wrong in the first place and the author supported strike in SG. Strike must not be allowed in SG!

There was no mention at all about the different categories of the employees. The author just criticized the differential & unfair treatments of the china drivers compared to malaysia drivers. In any corporation, there is always a clear distinction between perm staff & contractual worker. The author seemed to imply that china drivers were treated badly due to nationality as some people got this impression from the article. The china drivers were treated differently as they're contractual workers, not because they're china men. The principle reason for the strike was pay differential compared to other foreign drivers as stated by the people involved in the strike but these people didn't stand on the same ground in the latter part of the strike.

When those people doing the strike knew that their reason was not valid, they started to shift & pick on nitty gritty things like lousy accomodation, etc. These people only returned to work after the china embassy talked to them. If the strike reason was really valid, these workers would stay firm. I'm sure the china embassy would offer assistance if the workers had valid & genuine problems. Don't forget that the china embassy assisted in the repatriation of the 29 workers. I don't know why some people like to stir troubles for SG by trying to encourage or legalize strikes. This will affect our survival in the long term......These people really don't have the foresight and just prance on the chance to whipsaw SG. Really dumb & daft voters!

actually I don't want post here liao since TS say never read finish cannot comment but since you quoted my post......

so what has that chiong hei essay told you?

because TS say dumb people don't get it but he never really explained what he meant....... only keep say people dumb nia

you got read hor?

Slavery is a such a terrible thing

but if it was allowed I am sure many

people here will secretly like it!

Maybe outwardly we will condemn it

but secretly we would love paying

someone to clean our cars and houses

really cheap and make them call us

Sir and Maam. ...

Not really true, cos those "someone" calling you Sir and Maam give mediocre service, not properly trained, run away with boyfren, give you endless trouble... it's better to just do your own chores yourself [laugh]

That's why I don't support strike. Once a precedent is set, we're asking for troubles.

Then how do you propose that those who are exploited gets heard? Are we not asking for trouble running our place in a manner where the less articulated gets exploited?

I see you are quoting countries like Greece and Spain on strikes... How about Hong Kong, Korea, Taiwan and Germany. They have strikes and they are economic superpowers. For Hong Kong, Korea and Taiwan, they too lack natural resources and 2 are under the threat of war all the time.

Not really true, cos those "someone" calling you Sir and Maam give mediocre service, not properly trained, run away with boyfren, give you endless trouble... it's better to just do your own chores yourself [laugh]

I am like that! I am a lousy employee, never do any work, always surf MCF,

rude to my bosses, always make my staff do all my work,

steal all their credit so I really cannot complain.

Dun worry, singapore won't die if got strikes. After all, we have the most sibeh satki highest paid ministers in the world. Abit of strike here and there only whole country die? You have no faith in our most sibeh satki highest paid ministers in the world.

So what time is the military curfew tonight huh? Such iron-fisted suppression is not to be condoned anywhere in the world.

Laws, instead of protecting, is killing basic human rights here.

On another note, we are so lucky sitting behind the keyboards judging a minor strike. Elsewhere, people are worried when will the next typhoon strike, or will the missiles be raining in tonight.....

Please, a little chaos do no harm, unless turned violent.

We need to have a heart sometimes, it's not a strike for fun, these people are clueless and desperate.

TS should understand Anti-PAP and non-supoortive of PAP is two different things. Since he cant even get this fact right, no point reading his long post....

you believed the reasons?

its just a convenient and lame excuse to increase fares. smrt is so profitable that a mere increase like this won't hurt their pockets. they can even afford to pay its CEO a staggering 1.85mil a year. you think the hike is justified?? public tpt is for the people. maximising profits to the best they can shouldn't be the agenda. its actually people who support a dominant one party pap rule that is causing all these nonsense.

Then how do you propose that those who are exploited gets heard? Are we not asking for trouble running our place in a manner where the less articulated gets exploited?

I see you are quoting countries like Greece and Spain on strikes... How about Hong Kong, Korea, Taiwan and Germany. They have strikes and they are economic superpowers. For Hong Kong, Korea and Taiwan, they too lack natural resources and 2 are under the threat of war all the time.

Precisely. Spain is conveniently used an example. he forgot that Spain economy is already in decline with strike or no strike. Strikes have nothing to do with a country's economic. Its mind boggling how some brainwashed people think it is. My goodness.. :blink:

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/tp/

64% on channel news asia's talking point live poll supported the strike, flies in the face of print-reported news.

trouble has been brewing for a while now, perhaps at some point, it will boil over.

Hee...

I saw this posted on facebook yesterday.

Besides Yes Prime Minister being really funny,

It seems pretty apt to repost it here now

Precisely. Spain is conveniently used an example. he forgot that Spain economy is already in decline with strike or no strike. Strikes have nothing to do with a country's economic. Its mind boggling how some brainwashed people think it is. My goodness.. :blink:

Singapore is not really a democracy so strikes are illegal. Btw, read in papers got new China strike again.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/tp/

64% on channel news asia's talking point live poll supported the strike, flies in the face of print-reported news.

trouble has been brewing for a while now, perhaps at some point, it will boil over.

i can understand why many support the strike this time around. But i would venture a guess to say that people support it only because their daily lives are not being affected now. If the strike had caused the public transport system to come to a stand still, will people still support? if the strike happened in the healthcare sector, will people still support? If the strike happened in the waste sector, and no one clears all your trash everywhere, will people still support?

Yes, the drivers have their reasons for the strike. But 2 wrongs do not make a right.

Who got exploited?

It was wrong for SMRT to unilaterally increase the china driver's pay. This would be breach of contract for contractual workers as the pay was already stated in the contract and nobody should revise the pay.

It was wrong for SMRT to unilaterally change the working days from 5 to 6 day. Another breach of contract.

Actually, SMRT would have done better by giving better communication but someone at the top thought that the pay increment would be a trade off for the change in working days and there was no need for any discussion with the drivers.

The author of the article omitted some vital info. He could describe the sentiment and atmosphere that transpired during the dialogue session as if he was there but he failed to state that the china drivers were just contractual workers which was an important factor in the analysis. Why did he leave that out? I don't know.

Another factor which the author didn't state clearly was the changing of the working days from 5 to 6. Was this change specifically targeted at the contractual drivers or was the change applied across the board to other drivers as well?

Strikes would definitely affect business sentiment in SG if nothing was done to curb it. By encouraging strikes would destroy SG. Do you know that richer european nations didn't dare to tour Greece as they were afraid of being stranded in Greece or being mobbed. We should not encourage things that are detrimental to SG's survival and strike is one of them.

Just look at Apple, Apple is shifting 1 production line back to US. Why? There are 2 main reasons for this move. Minimum wage in China & strikes at foxconn. Foxconn will lose 1 production line in china and is also planning to set up more production lines in US. This will definitely cause more job losses in china as foxconn will hire less china workers. When investors start to view SG as an unstable economy, businesses will start to shift out. Is that what you want for SG?

Edited by Manmaster