How low will COE go?

Darryn

If COE drops then time to buy new car already. Before people start saving up then COE goes up again.

if those people who needed 100% loans previously

what makes u think they can

suddenly save the dp after a few years

with inflation running close to 5% for the past few years

hee

Not to pour cold water, but I think people expecting a big drop will be disappointed. There will maybe be one or 2 freak COE results due to new measurements, & some cancellation, or approval failure of new cars in the 1st few COE bids, but it will stabilise again, when people think of ways to finance their car purchase again, & the new measurements sink in as norm.

Anything more than 20K drop is optimistic in my view. People also have to remember that if COE price drop, those that are now borderline to finince their car now will be able to finance their car again.

In the long term, it will still go up.

Edited by Kiadaw

Suddenly, many people thnink $42k COE is CHEAP....

i neber say $42k COE is cheap wat. juz observing that it seems to be heading towards a $30k correction.

even COE at $30k still ex to me. too used to COE being around $13k-$15k liao.

COE will not drop too much else the gahment policy defeats the purpose.

I suspect the COE will only drop significantly in 2016

Today's paper (1/3/13) reported Toyota Wish (Borneo Motors) price increase by 1K.

In the same report, it says used car dealers have cut prices so as to clear stocks.

Now I read here Kah Motor has dropped price of Civic.

Hard to figure out what BM is trying to do.

Another fool wanting to buy brand new BMW when still wet behind the ears from his housemanship.

kNN $6k per mth want to buy $200k car? I pwui!

How come doctor only 6k ??? wat kinda cheapo doc is tat??

Oh ok thanks.

Lets say if I renew at my 7yrs, I only can claim back the unused 3yrs coe rite?

Parf is still lost rite?

no u forfeit ur 3 yrs + parf

How come doctor only 6k ??? wat kinda cheapo doc is tat??

Mongol doctor......蒙古大夫...... [laugh]

Came across this ad by KM. The civic OMV is a tad over $20k, so i presume d/p is 50%. KM website lists the 1.6 civic at $122k.

So if d/p is $45k, does it mean the selling price is $90k? COE expected to drop by $30k? [gossip]

Civic 1.6 omv shld be below 20k? If so can get 60% finance means abt 112.5K sale price, not 90? Means Coe drop 10k only niah

I agree. The few people I spoke to regarding the new ruling saw this as a good outcome and as a reason to enter the market. There will be correction for sure but pent-up demand exists as well. The relative strength would negate a very big fall.

From the forum, I also read that people are "taking full loans" but is this speculative thinking or are you aware of such? Most owners that I know are hardly into full loans; for me I don't even cross the 50% threshold. And I like to think I am the average given forumers here are mostly low-quantum takers.

Not to pour cold water, but I think people expecting a big drop will be disappointed. There will maybe be one or 2 freak COE results due to new measurements, & some cancellation, or approval failure of new cars in the 1st few COE bids, but it will stabilise again, when people think of ways to finance their car purchase again, & the new measurements sink in as norm.

Anything more than 20K drop is optimistic in my view. People also have to remember that if COE price drop, those that are now borderline to finince their car now will be able to finance their car again.

In the long term, it will still go up.

Edited by Canarywharfgooner

put my gut feelig here ( heehee, check few months later whether chun or not )

a car like ALTIS 1.6 class: 90-95K selling price.

a car like Camry 2.0 class: 125 - 130K selling price.

above for guaranteed COE and additional ARF, new rule downpapyment, limited COE factors all in already.

Ppl got numbed by high car price, now suddenly dropped few 10k become affordable to them.

But since lotsa ppl here think they can afford, don't think Coe will drop much.

put my gut feelig here ( heehee, check few months later whether chun or not )

a car like ALTIS 1.6 class: 90-95K selling price.

a car like Camry 2.0 class: 125 - 130K selling price.

above for guaranteed COE and additional ARF, new rule downpapyment, limited COE factors all in already.

Any chance of 1.6l 50k, 2l 80k? [laugh]

This price still double other country leh [:(]

Latest : Honda slash their prices across the board base on 42K COE for next bidding.

Honda Civic drop from 148K to 122.9k!!!

last time COE 42k, civic got so expensive at 123k meh??

Mongol doctor......蒙古大夫...... [laugh]

See working w dead got its privileges

even if coe drops to 30K,you think every 2 weeks there will be many people out there who can afford 50% downpayment?

or do you think the same group of cash rich people every 2 weeks going to buy 1 new car?

I agree. The few people I spoke to regarding the new ruling saw this as a good outcome and as a reason to enter the market. There will be correction for sure but pent-up demand exists as well. The relative strength would negate a very big fall.

From the forum, I also read that people are "taking full loans" but is this speculative thinking or are you aware of such? Most owners that I know are hardly into full loans; for me I don't even cross the 50% threshold. And I like to think I am the average given forumers here are mostly low-quantum takers.

I know many who take full loan already. Some of them havent even start working. Still in NS take full loan just because their NS allowance can cover the loan.