Jman888 Moderator March 31, 2017 Share March 31, 2017 I think this should be the way too. If driver disputes a miscalculated fare then Uber should be the one to make amends, not the passenger.but when driver doesn't know the way or take unnecessary longer route and passengers dispute. agree to be fair to driver, if unforeseeable jam where driver cannot avoid, then passengers should accept. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic March 31, 2017 Share March 31, 2017 (edited) lets look at the charter party T&C, fixture note, booking note and bill of lading, statement of facts, loading/discharging report, ... Take "taxi" niah, why so complicated? Maciam do vessel chartering. 9.20 was the fixed freight, 15.80 was for detention/demurrage. If time saved, Uber got give dispatch (rebates) anot? Next time, take Uber, ask for laytime and laycan hor. Edited March 31, 2017 by Kangadrool 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic March 31, 2017 Share March 31, 2017 Uber is also supposed to be like this. Then put yourself in the passenger's shoes also. Agreed on 9.20 but charged 25 bucks. Then whats the point of showing the fare upfront? If uber estimated the fare wrongly then uber should be the one to bear the difference. Not the passenger and not the driver. I believe when fare is calculated wrongly, uber always ask passenger to bear the difference. Cause i remember once when i took uber and think there did not calculate correctly on the ERP charges, and i was charged the difference after the fare already fixed upfront. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 31, 2017 Share March 31, 2017 Since I drive Uber a bit, let me tell you all now, Uber does have a rate like taxi. The rate is $3.00 base fare + $0.20 per min + $0.45 per km. Most of the time the fixed rate they tell you is more or less accurate, maybe plus minus a few cents. But yes if there is jam or delay (or if you halfway change destination) then the fare will be adjusted. I think this should be common sense but of course Uber could do better to communicate this rather than keep quiet about it. The whole point IMO of Uber is giving a fixed fee (whether surge) +- some small amount. i'd rather take taxi lor. No difference what. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic March 31, 2017 Share March 31, 2017 lets look at the charter party T&C, fixture note, booking note and bill of lading, statement of facts, loading/discharging report, ... Take "taxi" niah, why so complicated? Maciam do vessel chartering. 9.20 was the fixed freight, 15.80 was for detention/demurrage. If time saved, Uber got give dispatch (rebates) anot? Next time, take Uber, ask for laytime and laycan hor. demurrage also must wait for other party to reply and accept the claim right? then can dispute all the other stuff like deduction for shifting etc... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronleech 2nd Gear March 31, 2017 Share March 31, 2017 (edited) bulls**t CLAIM LOR. UBER operated in agreed upfront as well lah. The driver disputed the fare not uber system. Passenger can also dispute may. One sided story and ppl start to jump gun. ==================================== UBER CUSTOMER CHARGED $25 FOR $9 RIDE AFTER DRIVER DISPUTES FARE Submitted by farhan on Wed, 29/03/2017 - 2:38pm Uber is a hypocrite, booked uberX from Choa Chu Kang MRT to Choa Chu Kang Cemetery last Saturday, before booking it was indicated that the fare will be $9.20, fixed rate. An expected 10 minute journey became 50 minutes because of the jam, so after alighting from the car, uber sent me an email saying that I am charged $9.20 for the ride. Few hours later, they sent me another email saying that my fare have been adjusted to $25 as the driver disputed the fare! I have been contacting and quarreling with uber regarding this and has since written to the LTA. You know what uber can tell me with an obnoxious attitude? They told me that the fixed rate indicated on the app is subjected to their expected time taken and expected route, so if the time or route taken is longer than expected, fares will be adjusted accordingly. I disputed it but uber refused to adjust back to its original fare! They keep telling me the driver wrote in to dispute, the driver, I believe is an undergraduate, but that doesn't matter, now my question is, why is uber so manipulative? Why they allow their drivers or themselves dispute fares at their discretion? Then for what they come up with fixed fares? If it's so manipulative, then I should say uber and their drivers are very money minded! Is this right? Cammy Edited March 31, 2017 by Ronleech Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged March 31, 2017 Share March 31, 2017 Uber should give some kind of notice to the passenger if the route taken is jammed, before the journey starts. Its like paying $9 for an item then few minutes later the seller tells you to pay $25 due to some reason, and you can't return the item and he won't refund you the $9. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic March 31, 2017 Share March 31, 2017 Yep agreed. Uber is the one at fault. The driver doesn't know where the rider is going till he start trip. If he know going to a place sure jam, he won't accept liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 31, 2017 Share March 31, 2017 i am now in a uber and jam along AYE, interesting to see if they will charge according to the stated fare. update 2.47pm : arrived according to the scheduled time and he took a different route which shorten a bit of distant. No change in rate. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged March 31, 2017 Share March 31, 2017 Yep agreed. Uber is the one at fault. The driver doesn't know where the rider is going till he start trip. If he know going to a place sure jam, he won't accept liao. Exactly. So both sides lose lose. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic March 31, 2017 Share March 31, 2017 Yep agreed. Uber is the one at fault. The driver doesn't know where the rider is going till he start trip. If he know going to a place sure jam, he won't accept liao. Exactly. If I know the rider's destination is sure jammed, I won"t pick him up. But since I can't, I just go offline safely, until I passed certain places. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RH1667 Hypersonic April 1, 2017 Share April 1, 2017 Imagine if airline also practices this! Charge more when they have to circle round before landing , or stuck at gate area while waiting for take off ! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic April 7, 2017 Share April 7, 2017 用假资料开5账号召车 少年搭131次霸王车判改造 18岁少年使用假资料,通过电召德士服务Grab开设至少五个账号,短短三个月内乘搭至少131次的霸王车,拖欠2700多元车资,前天被判进入青年改造所。 被告蔡关泉(18岁)共面对131项欺骗控状,控方以18项加以提控,涉案日期是2015年6月30日至7月15日。 被告认罪后,前天被判进入青年改造所。 http://www.zaobao.com.sg/znews/singapore/story20170407-745919 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic April 7, 2017 Share April 7, 2017 Smart kid, pity he used it on the wrong path though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 9, 2017 Share April 9, 2017 Anyone aware that those promotion code that uber always have, their practice is the last promotion code added is the first to apply? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator April 9, 2017 Share April 9, 2017 Anyone aware that those promotion code that uber always have, their practice is the last promotion code added is the first to apply? I seldom see they have overlap promo, usually weekday and weekend. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 9, 2017 Share April 9, 2017 I seldom see they have overlap promo, usually weekday and weekend. What i mean is, you have already key in the weekday promotion code for the week, but maybe on fri morning you have received the weekend promotion code, and so you key in the weekend promotion code. And then you took a ride on fri afternoon, but the ride that you took is charged by the weekend promotion code instead of the weekday promotion code, cause uber say their practice is the last promotion code added is the first to apply. Anyone aware of such thing? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator April 10, 2017 Share April 10, 2017 What i mean is, you have already key in the weekday promotion code for the week, but maybe on fri morning you have received the weekend promotion code, and so you key in the weekend promotion code. And then you took a ride on fri afternoon, but the ride that you took is charged by the weekend promotion code instead of the weekday promotion code, cause uber say their practice is the last promotion code added is the first to apply. Anyone aware of such thing?weekday promo always end on Thursday night. The promo usually auto apply, if not just write in and they will revert within minutes. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...