We Love HDB

Jman888

HDB officer now more powerful than police

can enter your flat without warrant sia :D

Mar 13, 2015
The Ministry of National Development (MND) announced it had submitted proposed amendments to the Housing and Development y.

The bill contains four key provisions that aims to help HDB enforce its rules and regulations.

First, it will empower HDB officers to enter a flat in cases of investigation and urgent repair works with or without a court warrant.

The housing board may obtain a court warrant to enter a flat if owners continue to bar HDB officers from entering the premises following a 24-hour notice period.

For a warrantless entry, HDB will only exercise this right if there is an imminent danger to public safety or public health in the area, such as flat owners demolishing the structural beams.

The second key provision in the bill raises the penalty for unauthorised renovation. Under the existing rules, homeowners can only engage a Registered Renovation Contractor (RRC) to refurbish their flats. Both parties must also follow the terms and conditions set by HDB for any approved renovation work.

Under the new changes, the fines against RRCs, lessees and non-registered contractors will be raised from $5,000 to $20,000, and they can be imprisoned for up to one year. The agency can also impose a maximum penalty of $10,000 on the lessee and RRC.

Given there have been cases whereby HDB’s investigation on lease infringement was hampered by non-cooperative owners, the revised rules will also give officers enhanced powers of investigation.

These include the ability to enter premises with a warrant, take written statements, obtain evidence such as photographs, audio or video recordings of the flat, and require individuals to provide information or documents relevant to the investigation.

Finally, the new changes allow HDB to adjust its fines against lease infringement so that the amount will commensurate the severity of the violation, up to a maximum of $50,000.

Currently, the quantum of penalty is fixed for each type of lease infringement such as unauthorised subletting and misuse of flats for non-residential purposes. Aside from the fine, HDB may also compulsorily acquire a flat.

You alraedy do not own your palce, now you do not even have the right to stop government authority from entering & making a video of your place. Sad.

For someone that's not even in singapore , you freaking whine and complain alot

maybe most missed this sentence . . . heck, HDB or Town Council not that free to go round breaking into HDB homes.

For a warrantless entry, HDB will only exercise this right if there is an imminent danger to public safety or public health in the area, such as flat owners demolishing the structural beams.

For someone that's not even in singapore , you freaking whine and complain alot

I guess the Singaporean in me still very much alive even when overseas! :)

But serously, I hardly post in MCF anymore except in the song & excerise threads, & occasionally in the football threads, & I do not remember making much complains in any one of them. I do not honestly remember my last complain or whine, but oh well, maybe am getting old :(.

Anyway, it has nothing to do with living in Singapore or not. Happen in other countries, I would say the same. No one should have the right to just enter your home without valid warrant, anywhere in the world.

maybe most missed this sentence . . . heck, HDB or Town Council not that free to go round breaking into HDB homes.

I see, Then I guess its reasonable, & HDB personal do it when needed.

I guess the Singaporean in me still very much alive even when overseas! :)

But serously, I hardly post in MCF anymore except in the song & excerise threads, & occasionally in the football threads, & I do not remember making much complains in any one of them. I do not honestly remember my last complain or whine, but oh well, maybe am getting old :(.

Anyway, it has nothing to do with living in Singapore or not. Happen in other countries, I would say the same. No one should have the right to just enter your home without valid warrant, anywhere in the world.

I see, Then I guess its reasonable, & HDB personal do it when needed.

Glad you haven't given up citizenship, stay connected to fellow Singaporeans like us

& hope you will consider coming home one day ;)

Edited by Pinobii

16 sq m is about 180 sq ft . . .. so abt 2 car park lots

1 car lot is 2.4 m by 4.8 m = 11.5 sq m, hence 16 sq m is even less than 1.5 car lots.

haha, I prefer space.

CDX3wCTWgAEIE-r.png

If only they can forced demolish some of those old flats and build skyscraper to get bigger floor space flat. Why after so long they never come here to pick up some tips. But we ourselves are getting smaller flat also.

those outskirt ones are very very high and still cramp lor [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

HK buildings tend to be built very close to each other with very narrow alleys. Can be claustrophobic.

URA planners in SG have tried to create undulating effects with some taller and some shorter buildings to make the landscape more pleasant looking, and lots of greenery in between.

Some of the new buildings in SG are indeed more compact, taller and built closer to each other. Inevitable if the intent is for the infrastructure to house the intended population I guess.

those outskirt ones are very very high and still cramp lor [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

HK buildings tend to be built very close to each other with very narrow alleys. Can be claustrophobic.

URA planners in SG have tried to create undulating effects with some taller and some shorter buildings to make the landscape more pleasant looking, and lots of greenery in between.

Some of the new buildings in SG are indeed more compact, taller and built closer to each other. Inevitable if the intent is for the infrastructure to house the intended population I guess.

I sat in the McDonalds in TaiKoo Shing and I can look into kitchen of the apartment next block.

Glad you haven't given up citizenship, stay connected to fellow Singaporeans like us

& hope you will consider coming home one day ;)

SG is one of the few places on earth where home is low income taxes..

Lets be very real..

The only time when FT wants to be a singaporean is when there is no financial impact for them ..

Edited by Sdf4786k

Some prices in Hong Kong for reference:

https://www.squarefoot.com.hk/transactions/

$ in HKD, divided by 5.88 to convert to SGD.

But must be careful about direct comparisons. SG still much more family friendly I think.

here got some Lippun

http://japanpropertycentral.com/tokyo-real-estate-for-sale/

1.5mirrion sgd can buy u 3bdroom house with 2-car garage to keep all your JAV, in Setagaya Tokyo designed by famoos architeck

http://japanpropertycentral.com/tokyo-real-estate-for-sale/sakuragaoka-1-house/

Or if you not Elite, can stay in Kyoto: https://www.realestate.co.jp/en/forsale/kyoto

Edited by Mockngbrd