We Love HDB

Jman888

BTOs are really too expensive. My block's cleaner only can afford a 2-room, flat cuz his wife is sick and unable to find a job. They have to squeeze in a 2-room flat with their 3 kids. And this is after all the subsidies or grants they can get.

No bad liao.

Only in this country the cleaner can own his own home.

Try HK or Taiwan (in Taipei). They work their axrses off and cannot even afford the downpayment...

No bad liao.

Only in this country the cleaner can own his own home.

Try HK or Taiwan (in Taipei). They work their axrses off and cannot even afford the downpayment...

the old time cleaner maybe can ... now , i dont think so ...

20 years ago can do it on $800 single income

Can this feat be repeated today?

Last time land of miracles. Today leh?

😂

Last time land of miracles. Today land of miserable kekeke

$800 abit hard la. $1000 possible for sure though. The cleaner at my block lo. Earning about $1000 a month. Heard that actually it was $800 a month last year. His 3 children all in uni now. Single income cuz his wife is sick and has to keep going for dialysis and cannot work. Whole family got to squeeze into a 2-room flat.

stomp him la ... he on news people will help. quick put up at stomp ... mai tu liao

3 kids to uni you know .... waaaaaa 1 kid to uni also can die liao , talk about 3 .

$800 abit hard la. $1000 possible for sure though. The cleaner at my block lo. Earning about $1000 a month. Heard that actually it was $800 a month last year. His 3 children all in uni now. Single income cuz his wife is sick and has to keep going for dialysis and cannot work. Whole family got to squeeze into a 2-room flat.

You give me hope,

I think with 2k income i can put my 3 kids through Harvard

😂

With the amount of grant given by the government still can.

Don't be blinded by hate. Go and look around. U will see how much had been done. Yet at the same time they don't declare out to the whole world to see even if they control social media.

You give me hope,

I think with 2k income i can put my 3 kids through Harvard

😂

Possible. With student loans and some planning. I know of some of my classmates who are like this. Come from poor background and always on financial aid. But it motivates them to work harder.

Yeah. That cleaner bought his house about 3-4 years ago. He was living at those toa payoh rental flats for a long time. Not so recent. I think now with the prices like that abit hard already. With all the grants, he told me he paid less than 20k for his flat.

Edited by Nzy

Thanks for the motivating story and proof of concept for what the ministers have reiterated.

The main takeaway is most of us can't afford to own a flat with a low income based on our current spending patterns. But desperate times call for desperate measures and I think most / all of us will do what we need to do when the time comes if our incomes are indeed at those levels.

A lot of our current so-called needs will be downgraded to wants just to meet the survival needs of the family.

Possible. With student loans and some planning. I know of some of my classmates who are like this. Come from poor background and always on financial aid. But it motivates them to work harder.

Yeah. That cleaner bought his house about 3-4 years ago. He was living at those toa payoh rental flats for a long time. Not so recent. I think now with the prices like that abit hard already. With all the grants, he told me he paid less than 20k for his flat.

With the amount of grant given by the government still can.

Don't be blinded by hate. Go and look around. U will see how much had been done. Yet at the same time they don't declare out to the whole world to see even if they control social media.

I really hate you ... now you revealed my secret .... yes I am one of cleaner. :TT_TT:

Neither does the pappy declared all the negative stuff ...... so there is no meaning in looking at that direction ma ... I know its hazy kekeke :that-dood-is-up-to-something:

Is giving grant the solution ? hmmmmmm so played the role of Robinhood and declared their generosity ? hur hur hur .... :wacko:

Edited by Angcheek

Why MCF got such an incredibly high proportion of cleaners and table wipers???

[confused]

I really hate you ... now you revealed my secret .... yes I am one of cleaner. :TT_TT:

Neither does the pappy declared all the negative stuff ...... so there is no meaning in looking at that direction ma ... I know its hazy kekeke :that-dood-is-up-to-something:

Is giving grant the solution ? hmmmmmm so played the role of Robinhood and declared their generosity ? hur hur hur .... :wacko:

Why MCF got such an incredibly high proportion of cleaners and table wipers???

[confused]

dont know lel ... somehow J22 knew people around me are cleaners ...

PS hor : cleaner and table wiper are totally different category .

Cleaner very cham one ... $1k / mth salary

table wiper very cham too ... $1k / hr salary

I also don't agree with giving grant. Make me feel my effort is wasted.

But this is not what everyone here who oppose is saying. They say should help more. Then how? Don't help their fault. Help their fault. Don't show say never do. Show say wayang.

dont know lel ... somehow J22 knew people around me are cleaners ...

PS hor : cleaner and table wiper are totally different category .

Cleaner very cham one ... $1k / mth salary

table wiper very cham too ... $1k / hr salary

You Miss understood Liao. What I mean is you go volunteer at RC or grass root and see how they help people.

You guys made me jealous.

I never had a chance to buy a new HDB in my life because I went for private as my first home.

Now impossible to U-turn back :TT_TT:

You guys made me jealous.

I never had a chance to buy a new HDB in my life because I went for private as my first home.

Now impossible to U-turn back :TT_TT:

Personally, I find this rule of Private Property Owners having to wait 30mths before they can by a new HDB flat unfair. IMO, as each Singaporean is entitled to buy a new HDB flat twice, they should stick to this rule and not make it difficult for Private Property owners to get back into the system as long as they have not used up their entitlement.

Eg. If a citizen has bought a HDB flat directly once and then decide to move to Private, he still has 1 more chance and should be entitled to buy a second HDB flat directly but of course he must sell his Private Property upon HDB TOP. Now u hv to wait 30 mths to apply and with the building time, where this guy going to stay for approx. 5 years?

The inverse is allowed ie HDB flat owners buying Private Property and they don't have to sell their HDB!! Not asking for the same but at least allow the Private guys a chance to buy another direct HDB as circumstances may have changed for them. My 2 cents.....

Personally, I find this rule of Private Property Owners having to wait 30mths before they can by a new HDB flat unfair. IMO, as each Singaporean is entitled to buy a new HDB flat twice, they should stick to this rule and not make it difficult for Private Property owners to get back into the system as long as they have not used up their entitlement.

Eg. If a citizen has bought a HDB flat directly once and then decide to move to Private, he still has 1 more chance and should be entitled to buy a second HDB flat directly but of course he must sell his Private Property upon HDB TOP. Now u hv to wait 30 mths to apply and with the building time, where this guy going to stay for approx. 5 years?

The inverse is allowed ie HDB flat owners buying Private Property and they don't have to sell their HDB!! Not asking for the same but at least allow the Private guys a chance to buy another direct HDB as circumstances may have changed for them. My 2 cents.....

As to why they allow HDB upgraders to retain their HDB flats, I think it's because our rental market need a certain volumn of rental HDB flat. As to why private property owners cannot buy new bto, think it is because they are rich enough to get resales unit instead of bto.

I think what you want is equality, everybody get the same things. But that not necessary mean fair.