Pasir Ris DBSS kena hooted

Mockngbrd

Bro, i thought you knew.

All this while, i am trying to tell the folks here that i am not considered rich.

And i never thought i was rich, but people insisted i was and suan me about it.

You go ask the real rich anywhere, if they think i am rich?

Problem is many of those here think that having a few gold watches and some private property is rich.

Well , its time to wake up to reality. The rich are at least three standard deviation away to the right.

While the most of us are within the normal distribution.

Those who think i am rich are themselves, in denial. Why ?becos they are in actual fact consoling themselves for if at my stinking level i can be considered rich then they can be deemed as not too bad

Jokes aside,. I have seen, met, talked to, worked with so many of these true blue haolians to tell you i am not one.

In a forum, we all just talk more than we do in real life, thats all.

If i have it, i have it and i find no need to hide it.

If folks want to eat the sour grape and feel sore with jealousy when they see my gold watches, i cant help it. I am not a politician, i dont have to care.

But enough of explaining already, i have done it too often.

Anyway, when the aunties were selling stuff at their doorstep, i was a 7 yr old kid who was happy just having a sngbao to suck on as i raced through the narrow corridors with my friends. Those were carefree days.

Hope you understand

Thank you for sharing. I know you don't consider yourself rich, and in the big picture, yes, you're right (or maybe not, we don't know how much you have).

It's just that the car you have, as well as the watches and cigars that your pictures sometimes show, are not exactly within the means of the majority of the population.

In a way, it's all relative. To the beggar on the street, he might look at a passerby with an iPhone and think that the passerby is richer than him, being able to afford some luxuries. But that passerby takes the bus, and looks out the window, and see a M5 go by, and think that the M5 driver is rich, being able to afford a superb car.

Then the M5 driver drives past the airfield at Seletar, and sees some young technology company CEO stepping out of his personal Gulfstream and thinks that the CEO is rich. The CEO just had a meeting with the oil sheik of a small oil rich nation in the gulf, and the CEO is feeling sad that he's not as rich as the sheik.

Anyway, I really do get what you mean, I'm just sharing the my view, the one as a passerby in the story above.

=P Happy weekends!

Bro, i thought you knew.

All this while, i am trying to tell the folks here that i am not considered rich.

And i never thought i was rich, but people insisted i was and suan me about it.

You go ask the real rich anywhere, if they think i am rich?

Problem is many of those here think that having a few gold watches and some private property is rich.

Well , its time to wake up to reality. The rich are at least three standard deviation away to the right.

While the most of us are within the normal distribution.

Those who think i am rich are themselves, in denial. Why ?becos they are in actual fact consoling themselves for if at my stinking level i can be considered rich then they can be deemed as not too bad

Jokes aside,. I have seen, met, talked to, worked with so many of these true blue haolians to tell you i am not one.

In a forum, we all just talk more than we do in real life, thats all.

If i have it, i have it and i find no need to hide it.

If folks want to eat the sour grape and feel sore with jealousy when they see my gold watches, i cant help it. I am not a politician, i dont have to care.

But enough of explaining already, i have done it too often.

Anyway, when the aunties were selling stuff at their doorstep, i was a 7 yr old kid who was happy just having a sngbao to suck on as i raced through the narrow corridors with my friends. Those were carefree days.

Hope you understand

It is my believe that it takes two hands to clap. Blatantly truthfully you too have a part to play to create the impression others have of you. There is nothing wrong with that.

Look at Bill Gates, nobody goes around teasing him about being hao lian (by the way he is the riches guy in the world as of today.

Hence, I don't see the need to explain but just accept that the "impression is imprinted". It will go away if with time we all die and new members come in or you re-incarnate into T3 but please not BT (budget terminal).

Have a good weekend.

Thank you for sharing. I know you don't consider yourself rich, and in the big picture, yes, you're right (or maybe not, we don't know how much you have).

It's just that the car you have, as well as the watches and cigars that your pictures sometimes show, are not exactly within the means of the majority of the population.

In a way, it's all relative. To the beggar on the street, he might look at a passerby with an iPhone and think that the passerby is richer than him, being able to afford some luxuries. But that passerby takes the bus, and looks out the window, and see a M5 go by, and think that the M5 driver is rich, being able to afford a superb car.

Then the M5 driver drives past the airfield at Seletar, and sees some young technology company CEO stepping out of his personal Gulfstream and thinks that the CEO is rich. The CEO just had a meeting with the oil sheik of a small oil rich nation in the gulf, and the CEO is feeling sad that he's not as rich as the sheik.

Anyway, I really do get what you mean, I'm just sharing the my view, the one as a passerby in the story above.

=P Happy weekends!

Sure. But since we are at that subject, let me share a bit more

As per your example:

Begger and passerby, yes passerby richer.

Passerby and M5 owner, yes M5 owner richer

M5 and jetplane , yes jetplane richer.

The above is however pure mathematical comparison of who is richer.

However, i am not talking about who is mathematically richer, i am talking about a state of "richness" using the Singaporean of today as a base. Correct, I am probably mathematically richer than many of you here (even if it is by a few dollars), but to be classified in a state of being rich in Singapore, no way lah. I am a salaried employee.

Thats why i was sharing with you guys regarding the bell curve.

In here, i beleive, we all can afford food on our table, cars, entertainment, holidays, etc etc etc....

And therefore we all basically fall into the same category. The difference in mathematical wealth is not what i am discussing becos nobody will be equally rich, some will be poorer and some will be richer.

Anyway, i am cool with all this banter and dont take offence with the suaning.

Its all in the fun of a forum. Just want to clarify my perspective, thats all.

Okay fellas back to topic, dont ot liao

Edited by Throttle2

As per your example:

However, i am not talking about who is mathematically richer, i am talking about a state of "richness" using the Singaporean of today as a base. Correct, I am probably mathematically richer than many of you here (even if it is by a few dollars), but to be classified in a state of being rich in Singapore, no way lah. I am a salaried employee.

In here, i beleive, we all can afford food on our table, cars, entertainment, holidays, etc etc etc....

And therefore we all basically fall into the same category. The difference in mathematical wealth is not what i am discussing becos nobody will be equally rich, some will be poorer and some will be richer.

So then it is all a matter of what you consider rich. 2 men could have the same networth and a different idea of the rich cutoff point.

Also, you've mentioned a couple of times that you are just a salaried employee. What does that matter? There are some salaried employees out there making millions a year and in fact, our ministers could also be considered salary men.

Mod, pls remove if this has already been posted:

Ok, cute... but hope the author don't ganna lim kopi ...

and seriously, not ALL buildings are with cracks.. ... just a few, which are magnified...

As per your example:

Good post, so I can continue to suan you? [laugh]

yes, only a few projects including public (hdb/dbss/bto) and private condo and commercial buildings

however, it's evident that building development standard and quality has dropped tremendously

if relevant authority is not looking into the matter, it may get worse and out of control

any deficiency that is not look into will get worse over time

from A-team perspective .... a grade B is not acceptable not even A- ... lol

spore motto is to hold everything and anything to its highest standard ...

otherwise, spore will lose its competitiveness and "high quality high standard" hallmark chop ... hehe

if we start to accept crack is acceptable ...

soon water dripping/leaking is normal = msia standard liao ... lol

Ok, cute... but hope the author don't ganna lim kopi ...

and seriously, not ALL buildings are with cracks.. ... just a few, which are magnified...

Josephine Teo: 'Everything can't be perfect from Day One'

The $4.3 billion Marina Coastal Expressway (MCE), which Senior Minister of State for Transport Josephine Teo, 45, opened, made the news for getting motorists stuck in jams on Day One. She tells Goh Chin Lian about this and other 'learning' experiences. The Straits Times, 11 Jan 2014 .

Yes - Sub-standard is acceptable nowadays, no need to be perfect.....and we used to laugh at KL/BKK Airport opening woes....

Who will buy? It will be difficult to sell now that people has seen the actual thing. Especially in 5 years when it starts to look more like a slum.

True. My heart goes out to the residents. It will be tough to sell given the price and layout. I had sold mine since mop and recently I went back my old plc to take a look...the playground's not maintained, garden kns, flies all around...

Josephine Teo: 'Everything can't be perfect from Day One'

The $4.3 billion Marina Coastal Expressway (MCE), which Senior Minister of State for Transport Josephine Teo, 45, opened, made the news for getting motorists stuck in jams on Day One. She tells Goh Chin Lian about this and other 'learning' experiences. The Straits Times, 11 Jan 2014 .

Yes - Sub-standard is acceptable nowadays, no need to be perfect.....and we used to laugh at KL/BKK Airport opening woes....

I disagree. If i am not the one paying wholly, i do not expect first class standard.

I am not acting acting poor, its a big bunch here acting rich.

On the topic, the narrow corridor really reminds me of those days in the late seventies early eighties playing along the corridors of one room hdb flats in those older estates.

The malay aunty would sell curry puffs at her door, the chinese auntie would sell sng pao at her door and the indian auntie would sell sugared drinks at her door. Those were truly times when neighbors knew each other well.

Maybe they trying to bring back that spirit?

Spirit? Wooooo.....

Just spoken to someone who lives in Trevelis.

The furniture sux big time. Bedroom wadrobe are nothing but shells made of inferior quality planks, open the wadrobe and you see the wall inside and the tiled floor below. No drawers, you have to buy them yourself.

Bathroom and bedrooms are so damn cramp.

Ha!

From photo, the corridor looks quite dark n narrow n looks unwelcoming for a home

If i m buying resale, I will give this a miss even if it's cheap which of coz won't be, people almost always profit (more or less) after 5 years

Prefer bright n sunny corridor, those that can grow plants are the best

I can grow my sunflowers, onions, curry leaves etc...

As per your example:

Either way, I don't hold any ill will towards you (any suan a bit is just for fun), if anything, I enjoy such sharing sessions (learning about those richer than me, as well as the UHNWI).

Let me take this chance to share a book I read previously, "Richistan" by Robert Frank.

http://www.amazon.com/Richistan-Journey-Through-American-Wealth/dp/0307341453

He talks about the same rich you talk about, private jets, yachts, multiple mansions and 7-9 digit art pieces.

Ok, sorry, I OT too.. Haha..

750K for a house with such a corridor. Really depressing. Especially if we're going to spend so much time in that place. I would be more depressed by the corridor than the defective interior (maybe). Monday blues will take on a whole new meaning.

I can grow my sunflowers, onions, curry leaves etc...

Lives next door to you HorSeh liao...can bake sunflower seed bread & cook curry 😋😋

Hee hee....can bake pandan cake too coz grow pandan too

😋😋😋