ins1dious Turbocharged March 9, 2016 Share March 9, 2016 so what did the hyundai do wrong? he kena langgar in the back by dumb cyclist also his fault meh? if it's hit by another vehicle, would the hyundai be at fault or would the vehicle at the back be at fault? Not defending those dumb cyclists... but seeing how the Hyundai scooted off to the distance after the accident... it's reasonable to assume that he jam braked on a road without any obstacle in front of him.... just to teach the cuckoo cyclists a lesson. Good thing the blue truck behind was alert to the drama from the very beginning and had kept a safe distance ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2BDriver Hypersonic March 9, 2016 Share March 9, 2016 Got a bicycle recently. Ride around alone. I got no problem with cars, cars got no problem with me. I got no problem with pedestrians, pedestrians got no problem with me. What's the problem? In Arctic Pure White Country is car-lite and human-lite, you can anyhow ride your bicycle and turns left to right to left and 360 degrees about turn also no problems, nothing there will stomp you 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic March 9, 2016 Share March 9, 2016 this is a good example , dun tail gate if u cannot stop in time, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ins1dious Turbocharged March 9, 2016 Share March 9, 2016 The cyclists were not doing anything illegal by cycling 2 abreast. They might have provoked the car when they cycle 2 abreast. But it is not illegal of them to do so. This video very old already. IIRC, the driver lost his license? So this is an old video? And he's lost his license already? Awww... tough... one moment of folly. Any links we can read up on? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic March 9, 2016 Share March 9, 2016 The cyclists were not doing anything illegal by cycling 2 abreast. They might have provoked the car when they cycle 2 abreast. But it is not illegal of them to do so. This video very old already. IIRC, the driver lost his license? Road Traffic Act All cyclists must abide by the same traffic rules as other motorists. Under the Road Traffic (Bicycles) Rules and other road-related rules, cyclists are: 1 Prohibited from riding on the right side of another vehicle that is not a bicycle, unless they are attempting to overtake the vehicle. 2 Allowed to ride two abreast in the same direction on a public road. A third cyclist (abreast) is only allowed when when overtaking. If three or more cyclists are riding in a group, they must ride in pairs or a single file. 3 Required to keep to the left-hand edge of the roadway and not in a way so as to obstruct other vehicles moving at a faster speed. 4 Required to ride in an orderly manner, with due regard for safety of others. 5 Required to turn on the white light at the front and red light at the rear of the bicycle during hours of darkness 6 Required to use available bicycle crossing when within 50 metres of either side of a bicycle crossing as indicated by traffic signs. Keep to your left and cross only when the green bicycle sign in the traffic signal is lighted. 7 Prohibited from riding on footways except in Tampines Town. 8 Allowed to ride within bus lane but prohibited from riding abreast. 9 Allowed to use a LTA-approved power-assisted bicycle on a public road if they are above 16 years of age. Suitable protective bicycle helmets must be worn by both cyclist and pillion passenger You are right. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 9, 2016 Share March 9, 2016 Just for the record, I do not condone what the hyundai did. The hyundai's action is totally uncalled for. On the other hand, the cyclists should also keep to the left in single file especially in a road that is already 2 lane narrow. If the excuse is that the female cyclist has no skill and the group is cycling this way to protect her on the inner part of the lane, then I say please do it at a park cycling lane if you want to train up your bike handling skill. Whenever I encounter such cyclist group, I will just change signal and change lane. and curse under my breath..and continue with my life. You must understand that cycling is the new "golf". But there are a lot of incompetent new cyclist pounding the road. This is evidence in OCBC Cycle (if you ever take part). A lot of these cyclist may know or take a effort to find out what is the do & don't on the road. A lot of time is monkey see monkey do. In future, if you see a pack of cyclist, just siam lor. Don't waste your breath to curse. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2BDriver Hypersonic March 9, 2016 Share March 9, 2016 Just for the record, I do not condone what the hyundai did. The hyundai's action is totally uncalled for. On the other hand, the cyclists should also keep to the left in single file especially in a road that is already 2 lane narrow. If the excuse is that the female cyclist has no skill and the group is cycling this way to protect her on the inner part of the lane, then I say please do it at a park cycling lane if you want to train up your bike handling skill. Whenever I encounter such cyclist group, I will just change signal and change lane. and curse under my breath..and continue with my life. Just for a simple advise, I reckon everyone to be gracious on the public roads, it's not worth getting into any trouble while travelling to your desire destination Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic March 9, 2016 Share March 9, 2016 Cycling abreast may be legal but I do question the rationale behind that. 2 cyclists cycling abreast on our narrow Singapore roads and both of them keeping a safe distance from each other will mean taking up minimum 2/3 of the lane already as evidenced in the video. It is as good as saying it is ok to take up one whole lane of a 2 lane road despite the fact that the cyclist can prob only cycle up to 30-40kmh if they are professional racers. That is road hogging even using 50kph as a standard? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged March 9, 2016 Share March 9, 2016 any problem with spandex? Ever tried stuffing a polar bear into spandex? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 9, 2016 Share March 9, 2016 Cycling abreast may be legal but I do question the rationale behind that. 2 cyclists cycling abreast on our narrow Singapore roads and both of them keeping a safe distance from each other will mean taking up minimum 2/3 of the lane already as evidenced in the video. It is as good as saying it is ok to take up one whole lane of a 2 lane road despite the fact that the cyclist can prob only cycle up to 30-40kmh if they are professional racers. That is road hogging even using 50kph as a standard? That's why we must buy ///M3 & not 318. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2BDriver Hypersonic March 9, 2016 Share March 9, 2016 That's why we must buy ///M3 & not 318. M3 or M5 are extremely "Over Killed" on all Singapore roads, fuel combustion carbons is as thick as the old oak tree bark Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic March 9, 2016 Share March 9, 2016 That's why we must buy ///M3 & not 318. don't get you? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic March 9, 2016 Share March 9, 2016 2 abreast is proly fine if it's a bug group. But only 2 riders? Keep to one lah and don't hog the road. 法律是死的, 人的思维是活的。 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged March 9, 2016 Share March 9, 2016 Cycling abreast may be legal but I do question the rationale behind that. 2 cyclists cycling abreast on our narrow Singapore roads and both of them keeping a safe distance from each other will mean taking up minimum 2/3 of the lane already as evidenced in the video. It is as good as saying it is ok to take up one whole lane of a 2 lane road despite the fact that the cyclist can prob only cycle up to 30-40kmh if they are professional racers. That is road hogging even using 50kph as a standard? If they are on the left lane, how is that hogging? Its not like they were cycling 2 abreast on the right lane. Slow moving vehicles keeping to the left lane is not hogging. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
lausai88 Hypersonic March 9, 2016 Share March 9, 2016 Got a bicycle recently. Ride around alone. I got no problem with cars, cars got no problem with me. I got no problem with pedestrians, pedestrians got no problem with me. What's the problem? your bicycle made in Germany is it ,,,, no wonder u dont have problem lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AnimalLover 1st Gear March 9, 2016 Share March 9, 2016 (edited) if it involves locals where the family killed are locals, it may end up the family will have to compensate the driver for the repair charges. there are SO many cases of foreigners molesting, beating up and bullying locals and almost always gets away scotfree! Road accidents only required insurance companies to pay. If you do not believe, check with your lawyer. This case, the driver gets nothing but either he pays himself or he claim from his own insurance. If he wants, he can sue the dead and everyone laughs at him. He cannot sue the family at all. If you borrow money from bank, can the bank forces from your grandchildren to your grandfather to pay? Absolutely NO and not relevant. Now road accidents became molesting? These are totally different cases and issues. If they are on the left lane, how is that hogging? Its not like they were cycling 2 abreast on the right lane. Slow moving vehicles keeping to the left lane is not hogging. Sorry, these bicycles are not road tax payers and obstructing others. Bicycles are not vehicles. this is road hogging. this case from the video is simple. These bikers should not block others. When you hit behind another vehicles, you are wrong. All insurance companies and their lawyers will not fight a case if you had banged others rear behind. 100% lost case. In Malaysia law since 15-20 years ago, the police had the right to fine you first before you report the case, so becareful when in Malaysia. The lady cyclist did not care to brake in advance and chose to bang into a stopped car on her right although there is a path to cycle in front. The man cyclist on her right did stopped on time a few inches away and another cyclist just took the straight cycing path. This accident can be avoided but she insisted to bang to the car and insisted to show others that she is injured and stay low. She did not die so no case. This just another dissatified mumbling cyclist who posted online. Edited March 9, 2016 by AnimalLover 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged March 9, 2016 Share March 9, 2016 Sorry, these bicycles are not road tax payers and obstructing others. Bicycles are not vehicles. this is road hogging. this case from the video is simple. These bikers should not block others. When you hit behind another vehicles, you are wrong. All insurance companies and their lawyers will not fight a case if you had banged others rear behind. 100% lost case. In Malaysia law since 15-20 years ago, the police had the right to fine you first before you report the case, so becareful when in Malaysia. The lady cyclist did not care to brake in advance and chose to bang into a stopped car on her right although there is a path to cycle in front. The man cyclist on her right did stopped on time a few inches away and another cyclist just took the straight cycing path. This accident can be avoided but she insisted to bang to the car and insisted to show others that she is injured and stay low. She did not die so no case. This just another dissatified mumbling cyclist who posted online. You are the new law minister? RTA states that bicycles are vehicles. They never block anyone. There is another lane to overtake. They might be inconsiderate taking up the whole lane. But it is legal. The driver, driving recklessly and ebraking infront of the cyclists is not legal. IIRC, the driver already lost his license. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic March 9, 2016 Share March 9, 2016 You are the new law minister? RTA states that bicycles are vehicles. They never block anyone. There is another lane to overtake. They might be inconsiderate taking up the whole lane. But it is legal. The driver, driving recklessly and ebraking infront of the cyclists is not legal. IIRC, the driver already lost his license. I have to disagree with you here. It's a busy road and the two jokers are taking up almost one lane with many vehicles struggling to filter right to overtake them. If this is not hogging, I don't know what to say liao. If they stick to single file, many motorists can overtake them with much ease. There is simply lack a common sense in them and I don't blame them at all. They are amdk after all. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...