Reckless Cyclist

Brock

Does anyone knows if is it an offense for bicycles to use bus lane during peak hours ?? Or they will have to ride outside the bus lane during peak hours huh ??

Since people are saying that bicycles are considered or stated to be considered as a vehicle like cars , do we have different rules for bicycles on bus lane rules ??

Are bicycles defined as vehicles? [laugh] No.

Classification of motor vehicles
—(1)  For the purposes of this Act, motor vehicles shall be divided into the following classes:
(a)
heavy locomotives; that is to say, motor vehicles which are not constructed themselves to carry any load (other than water, fuel, accumulators and other equipment and materials used for the purpose of propulsion, loose tools and loose equipment) and the weight of which unladen exceeds 11,500 kilograms;
(b)
light locomotives; that is to say, motor vehicles which are not constructed themselves to carry any load (other than any of the articles specified in paragraph (a)) and the weight of which unladen does not exceed 11,500 kilograms but exceeds 7,250 kilograms;
(c)
motor tractors; that is to say, motor vehicles which are not constructed themselves to carry any load (other than any of the articles specified in paragraph (a)) and the weight of which unladen does not exceed 7,250 kilograms;
(d)
heavy motor cars; that is to say, motor vehicles (not being vehicles classified under this section as motor cars) which are constructed themselves to carry a load or passengers and the weight of which unladen exceeds 2,500 kilograms;
(e)
motor cars; that is to say, motor vehicles (not being vehicles classified under this section as motor cycles) which are constructed themselves to carry a load or passengers and the weight of which unladen —
(i)
does not exceed 3,000 kilograms in the case of motor vehicles which are —
(A)
constructed solely for the carriage of passengers and their effects;
(B)
adapted to carry not more than 7 passengers exclusive of the driver; and
©
fitted with tyres of the prescribed type; and
(ii)
in any other case does not exceed 2,500 kilograms;
(f)
motor cycles; that is to say, motor vehicles with less than 4 wheels and the weight of which unladen does not exceed 400 kilograms;
(g)
invalid carriages; that is to say, motor vehicles which are specially designed and constructed and not merely adapted for the use of persons suffering from some physical defect or disability and are used solely by such persons and the weight of which unladen does not exceed 250 kilograms.

Meaning paying higher road taxes demand more road presence ?

LTA already clarified that road were built & maintain using public funds collected from General taxes. So there is a chance that the cyclist on an old rusty bicycle is paying more tax than one driving a brand new shiny motorcar.

Here for the last time....riding two abreast is legal in SG.

post-116534-0-92221400-1457572096_thumb.jpeg

LTA already clarified that road were built & maintain using public funds collected from General taxes. So there is a chance that the cyclist on an old rusty bicycle is paying more tax than one driving a brand new shiny motorcar.

We are a law abiding people that passive aggressively flout the areas where the law doesn't cover. [laugh]

Not only endangering himself, he endangered the whole road users there. If there is an accident happened, he also had created a massive jam and making everyone suffer. If there is an ambulance rushing to rescue someone to hospital, another life is endangered.

We must respect other real road users. The road is invented and built for motor vehicles not bicycles. The one who paid for the road tax for road building and maintenance are the motor vehicles owners, not bicycles owners.

You also can push these shopping carts along the road. Its legal, lol.

You can even ask your friend to push another shopping cart beside you to occupy the whole lane and it is also still legal. LOL.

It's absolutely lawful for cyclists to go on the roads. And i think that's also right. This issue to me is about being considerate and being mindful. Let's use the roads with care. It's just only a couple of days back that a Hyundai Accent driven by an auntie Cheong a zebra crossing while kids were halfway through. And it was obvious she saw the ppl crossing but just decided to Chiong. I even raised up my hands to signal to her. And I assume she pay road tax hoh... Hmmm another Hyundai.. What is it with you Hyundai Drivers? Edited by BenTong

Does anyone knows if is it an offense for bicycles to use bus lane during peak hours ?? Or they will have to ride outside the bus lane during peak hours huh ??

Since people are saying that bicycles are considered or stated to be considered as a vehicle like cars , do we have different rules for bicycles on bus lane rules ??

I have a bigger issue with cyclists riding on the right hand side of the road.

Today I was trying to overtake a lorry on the 2nd lane on a 60kmh road. I was not able to see a lone cyclist on the 1st lane due to my visual being blocked by lorry, and I almost crashed onto him because he was at park connector pace. I was 70kmh max at that time.  

There was at least 3km to the next right turn (I assume he was going to turn right), and this road has 5 lanes. The cyclist must have crossed 5 lanes at park connector pace to reach the 1st lane.

Over the last week, I have encountered at least 2-3 cyclists on the right-most side. This situation is really not ideal.

Are bicycles defined as vehicles? [laugh] No.

Got people posting that RTA states that bicycles are considered as vehicles , that's why I am asking lor

So that guy again post wrong info ?.

Cos I am thinking , if a 2 lane road with bus lane , during peak hours heavy traffic , 2 cyclists riding abreast , taking up the bus lane , bus struggles to overtake , the whole bus load of passerengers will LL have to be delayed due to those cyclists .

Classification of motor vehicles
—(1)  For the purposes of this Act, motor vehicles shall be divided into the following classes:
(a)
heavy locomotives; that is to say, motor vehicles which are not constructed themselves to carry any load (other than water, fuel, accumulators and other equipment and materials used for the purpose of propulsion, loose tools and loose equipment) and the weight of which unladen exceeds 11,500 kilograms;
(b)
light locomotives; that is to say, motor vehicles which are not constructed themselves to carry any load (other than any of the articles specified in paragraph (a)) and the weight of which unladen does not exceed 11,500 kilograms but exceeds 7,250 kilograms;
(c)
motor tractors; that is to say, motor vehicles which are not constructed themselves to carry any load (other than any of the articles specified in paragraph (a)) and the weight of which unladen does not exceed 7,250 kilograms;
(d)
heavy motor cars; that is to say, motor vehicles (not being vehicles classified under this section as motor cars) which are constructed themselves to carry a load or passengers and the weight of which unladen exceeds 2,500 kilograms;
(e)
motor cars; that is to say, motor vehicles (not being vehicles classified under this section as motor cycles) which are constructed themselves to carry a load or passengers and the weight of which unladen —
(i)
does not exceed 3,000 kilograms in the case of motor vehicles which are —
(A)
constructed solely for the carriage of passengers and their effects;
(B)
adapted to carry not more than 7 passengers exclusive of the driver; and
©
fitted with tyres of the prescribed type; and
(ii)
in any other case does not exceed 2,500 kilograms;
(f)
motor cycles; that is to say, motor vehicles with less than 4 wheels and the weight of which unladen does not exceed 400 kilograms;
(g)
invalid carriages; that is to say, motor vehicles which are specially designed and constructed and not merely adapted for the use of persons suffering from some physical defect or disability and are used solely by such persons and the weight of which unladen does not exceed 250 kilograms.

Bicycle is a vehicle, not motor vehicle. You just quote the part for motor vehicles only.

“motor vehicle” means a mechanically propelled vehicle intended or adapted for use on roads;
“owner”, in relation to a vehicle which is the subject of a hiring agreement or hire purchase agreement, means the person in possession of the vehicle under that agreement;
“paid driver” means a person who drives a motor vehicle in return for a salary or other remuneration;
“park” means to bring a motor vehicle or a trailer to a stationary position and cause it to wait for any purpose other than that of immediately taking up or setting down persons, goods or luggage;
“parking place” has the same meaning as in the Parking Places Act (Cap. 214);
“police officer” includes all persons whomsoever employed for police duties in the Singapore Police Force constituted under the Police Force Act 2004 (Act 24 of 2004);
“public place” means any place or premises, whether privately owned or not, to which the general public or any section of the general public is permitted to have access, whether on payment or otherwise;
“public service vehicle” means a vehicle used or kept for use for the carriage, for hire or reward, of —
(a)
in the case of a motor car which does not ply for hire on any road but is hired under a contract, express or implied, for the use of the car as a whole, the driver of the car or any passenger; or
(b)
in any other case, any passenger,
but excludes any vehicle constructed for use on fixed rails or specially prepared ways;

“registered medical practitioner” has the same meaning as in the Medical Registration Act (Cap. 174);

“Registrar” means the Registrar of Vehicles or the Deputy Registrar or an assistant registrar appointed under section 9;
“replacement vehicle” means a vehicle to which a permit issued under section 10A for another vehicle has been transferred pursuant to rules made under section 10A(4)(ha);

“road” means any public road and any other road to which the public has access, and includes —
(a)
any road within Pulau Bukom;
(b)
any road within the limits of any installation of the Singapore Armed Forces declared by the Minister by notification in the Gazette to be an installation to which this Act applies;

(c)
any bridge over which a road passes; and

(d)
any road, to which the public does not have access, which the Minister charged with the responsibility for transport prescribes, by notification in the Gazette, to be a road to which this Act applies;

“rules” means rules made under this Act;
“security officer” means a licensed security officer within the meaning of the Private Security Industry Act (Cap. 250A) who is authorised by the Deputy Commissioner of Police or the Authority (as appropriate) under section 142B to regulate traffic under any provision of this Act;

“trailer” means a vehicle drawn by a motor vehicle;
“tricycle” means a three-wheeled pedal cycle constructed or adapted for the carriage of goods;
“use” means use on a road;
“vehicle” means any vehicle whether mechanically propelled or otherwise;
“weight unladen” means the weight of a vehicle inclusive of the body and all parts (the heavier being taken where alternative bodies or parts are used) which are necessary to or ordinarily used with the vehicle when working on a road but exclusive of any driver or attendant.

Exemption from tax on certain descriptions of vehicles
14.  No tax shall be chargeable under this Act in respect of vehicles of the following descriptions:
(a)
fire engines;
(b)
vehicles used solely for the purpose of a fire-fighting service;
(c)
ambulances;
(d)
road rollers;
(e)
vehicles used exclusively on roads which are not repairable at the public expense;
(f)
vehicles used solely for industry, mining and agriculture and not intended to be used on any road repairable at the public expense;
(g)
invalid carriages; and
(h)
bicycles.

Edited by Nzy

Interpretation

2.—(1)  In this Act, unless the context otherwise requires —

“motor vehicle” means a mechanically propelled vehicle intended or adapted for use on roads;

“vehicle” means any vehicle whether mechanically propelled or otherwise;

If you say its legal, then why government starts to build bicycle path away from roads and pdestrians?

That driver will always lost the license because its always police will have to defend pedestrians.

You still dont get it?

Its the RTA that says it is legal. Not me. Why they build cycling paths? For recreation? For people to use if they want? To make Singapore more cycling friendly? Just because they built a shared path doesn't mean it is illegal to cycle on the road.

That driver lost his license because he is reckless. Which normal driver will overtake a slow moving vehicle and then ebrake for no reason?

You still don't get it?

http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onemotoring/en/on_the_roads/traffic_management/full_day_bus_lanes.html

post-16870-0-23009600-1457575178.jpg

Well , to each his own.

Your action by moving further out imo, would only serve to provoke Hyundai type driver more and thus endangering yourself.

You drive too and I believe you do comprehend things from driver's prospective.

From my own experience, those drivers who honk like this hyundai driver, will purposely overtake very closely even if I move further to the left to make space for him to overtake. Cuz, he is already provoked by the fact that I am on the road as a slow moving vehicle and impeding his path. Safer to make sure there is more buffer for me when he overtakes. For drivers that patiently wait behind to find a suitable time to overtake are the ones who are more likely to leave a safe gap, so I feel safer to move further in and help them overtake me easily.

there is a Chinese saying, life is your own.

some ppl want to play with it on the road,

I only hope I am not the 1 who take It

( althought I must admit got a few close call in recent years )

Agree. but that does not mean one should be reckless. the 2 guys were busy showing off their appendages.  but the lady got hurt.. haiz..

I am a driver, a biker and a pedestrian. lets keep the roads, the zebra crossings, the pavements and the park connectors safe

there is a Chinese saying, life is your own.

some ppl want to play with it on the road,

I only hope I am not the 1 who take It

( althought I must admit got a few close call in recent years )

Agree. the only problem I have the ang moh played with his "wife" (I think) life.

Just wondering, did anyone already answered to what is COE income used for? Also those car import duties, ARF etc?

Agree. but that does not mean one should be reckless. the 2 guys were busy showing off their appendages.  but the lady got hurt.. haiz..

I am a driver, a biker and a pedestrian. lets keep the roads, the zebra crossings, the pavements and the park connectors safe

Agree. the only problem I have the ang moh played with his "wife" (I think) life.

ya its the mentality only.

if I say I dun cycle on road, I lying, I use to be reckless also, in the 70s when I was young my ah gong was killed by lorry when cycling.

when I see any report of cyclist kenna buang, first thing came to mind is, knn which fuk up driver,

but now every thing change, I see any cyclist kenna buang, my thought was, the driver suay .

last time cyclist on road, they know the danger and acknowledge it, avoid it.

nowsaday cyclist, their ego and their right is bigger then their life (AND OTHER PPL LIFE)

maybe because they thought they are green

but frankly speaking the pollution they cause is worst then lorry, look at the whole stretch of vehicle behind them crawing in low gear.

Got a bicycle recently. Ride around alone.

I got no problem with cars, cars got no problem with me. I got no problem with pedestrians, pedestrians got no problem with me. What's the problem?

You buy exercise bike huh?

It seems "technically" you can even walk two abreast on the leftmost lane? 

I think cyclists these days really big fark lor ... Can use bus lane delaying buses with passerengers also can ...

Think can write in to LTA and TP and MOT and see what kind of replies they will give .